We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accommodation needs an upgrade”
Review of The Churchill Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Churchill Arms
Ranked #1 of 3 Paxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Accommodation needs an upgrade”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Lovely location, great for touring around the Cotswolds. Staff very friendly and the food was very good. As charming as the pub area was, our accommodation was quite disappointing. Having booked and paid £95 a night for what was described as a 'superior double room', although clean, was very tired looking and in desperate need of an upgrade. In fact, it felt like staying in the spare room of someone that wasn't expecting visitors! The furniture was mismatched, as was the bedding and soft furnishings. The bathroom was extremely dated with a shower over a very tall bath, that didn't work properly at all during our stay. About time for a separate shower unit I think!
The stair carpet was very grubby and could also do with replacing. This room was certainly not worth the money we paid and with the B and B trade being so highly competitive, attention to detail makes such a massive difference for paying guests, which at the moment is sadly lacking at The Churchill Arms. Management, please take note!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E2761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    34
    18
    11
    5
See reviews for
28
74
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had booked to have dinner at The Churchill Arms during a family holiday to the Cotswolds, as my parents had eaten there during a previous trip and were looking forward to going back. My wife and I had brought our 7 month old along for night, and a highchair was ready waiting for us. But the baby, being as babies are, decided that it would be an ideal opportunity to have a screaming meltdown. We took the little'un outside so as not to ruin the ambience for the other diners (other families please take note) and told the waiting staff that we would be back when he had calmed down. My parents continued their dinner while we went for a walk as we didn't expect to be long. 45 minutes(!) later we returned and we were told that the kitchen had put our order on hold while we were sorting out the offspring. We were expecting to come back to dried out/luke warm main courses, but were delivered an absolutely wonderful main course. For that we are very grateful, they could easily have just plopped our meals under a warming lamp, but from the taste and look of it, they had staggered our order and brought it out fresh. The service was great and the food was brilliant. A nice pub overall with a really nice feel. I would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tourcoing, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent our last night of our holiday at the Churchill Arms and it was perfect.

The rooms are not the best but they are clean and comfortable enough to spent good nights but the best part of this pub is its warm welcome and the food.

We have felt a real friendly atmosphere, especially during the pub quiz (imagine 2 Frenches trying to answer... so thanks for the help)
And the food, during all our trip through England this place is where we ate the best food.

If you add a good selection of beer, we have all we need to be back for another stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great four night stay,excellent food,charming staff, accommadtion good,not 4*, outside,relaxing large, patio/garden, but unfortunately no car park.Sometimes lacked leadership,would be happy to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

As we were very much looking forward to this lunch out, living locally, we were and are very disappointed.

9th June 2013.

Sunday lunch, reserved table of of eight. We had ordered six fish and chips, five portions being children. When the food arrived we asked for tarter sauce and catchup (not unusual request to a fish and chips order, one would think) The restaurant was not full and we had to chase down our waitress and the girl at the bar, asking again for the tarter sauce & catchup, whilst they chatted.
We received a small ramequin of tarter sauce which was enough for one person. Therefor we ask again and was told "oh we thought it was just for you in snide manner" we were served a large portion of tarter sauce but by then everyone had finished their food. Good food, nice charming country pub atmosphere, lovely location, park for children and outdoor seating. Service very disappointing and pique. As we live locally and the food and location is wonderful for families, it is very unfortunate that we no longer want to regular this pub.

Unhelpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My friends and I have just spent five days in the beautiful village of Paxford, staying at 1 Manor Lodge Cottage (highly recommended!). Every day we have been here we have eaten breakfast, lunch, and/or dinner at The Churchill Arms. We have found the food and service to be excellent, and we can't recommend it highly enough.

We have tried almost every item on the menu, from fish, to lamb, pork, and steak, as well as their wonderful Sunday Roast, and we have enjoyed every meal. The vegetables are fresh and prepared superbly. And, the desserts are to-die-for.

The restaurant is managed by a wonderful young lady named Victoria. She runs a tight ship--but it is a friendly and accommodating ship. We will be forever grateful for her help, whether it was explaining what blood pudding is or helping us navigate the public footpaths near Paxford. She was always smiling, helpful, and friendly.

We HIGHLY recommend The Churchill Arms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaludaView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This pub is good– nice food and a lovely old pub atmosphere. Nice to be in a pub that is both a mix of tourists and locals. The sticky toffee pudding was a winner. Only improvement could be in the area of service which was a little slow and blasé at times

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahara12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paxford
2.2 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
3.6 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Churchill Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Arms

Property: The Churchill Arms
Address: Paxford GL55 6XH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Paxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Paxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Churchill Arms, Paxford is a boutique pub nestled away in the North of The Cotswolds. With its historical local character at our core we pride ourselves on thought about British classics. With two characterful but modern en-suite bedrooms we're located just outside Chipping Camden. Less than a 2 hour journey by train or car from London we're in the perfect spot to explore this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Our cosy bar, stocked with beers and local ales is just a good a place to while away an afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Churchill Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Arms Hotel Paxford
The Churchill Arms Paxford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing