We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views and food”
Review of The Churchill Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Churchill Arms
Ranked #2 of 3 Paxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The Churchill Arms is an excellent B&B in the Cotswolds. It is listed as being in Chipping Camden, but Paxford is more or less a rural suburb of the scenic little town (which, by American standards, is like a suburb of Stratford-upon-Avon). Its pastoral setting is to die for. The place is a restored inn that dates back, I believe, to the 16th century; the wooden floors are old and worn and the downstairs part is a quaint and rustic pub still popular with the locals. One good reason to stay here is the breakfast, one of the best I've ever experienced. The breakfast menu includes several great choices; I had kippers and porridge (oatmeal) served with cream which knocked me out. The evening meal, although pricey, was also remarkable. Best of all was the view from the room--it looked out over farmland and sheep grazing as far as the eye could see, with the Cotswolds in the distance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrad0mski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 162 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I have just had a really lovely stay in this little gem of a place. The staff were delightful, the accommodation great (even though our room was small it was more than adequate and we had booked at the last minute) and the food terrific. Really nice breakfasts to set you for a days walking and exploring this lovely area. Thoroughly recommended and will definitely go back if in the area.

Room Tip: We were advised to book Room 3 next time as it is much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJlP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

What a grat buzz in this restaurant. A mix of locals(us) and visitors - makes the place special. I opted for traditional Easter Sunday lunch Lamb, which was delicious, whilst my husband had Cornish sea bass which he said was super. Good friendly service. Well done Richard, Vicky and staff!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

During our week stay in the Cotsworlds we are lucky enough to be right over the road from the Churchill Arms. We ate here on Saturday night and had a great meal.

Booking is essential as the place is very popular. We booked a table at 8, but they struggled to get one cleared for us until about half past. The staff were really apologetic and gave us complimentary olives and bread to keep us going. It's not their fault if people won't leave!

Once seated our food was fantastic. I had the spicy prawns which were delicicous and then breast of duck which was cooked perfectly. The potatoe cake was also good enough to worth mentioning! The curried cod was really good as well. And good fries!

Definitely worth a visit.... But remember to book in advance.

We also went back last night for their pub quiz which was good fun...

Stayed: March 2012
Thank MarkStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

After staying away for several years due to poor food, unwelcoming staff and management who thought that they were doing you a favour. We were passing by on a Sunday and dropped in for lunch.Great welcome and charming staff who managed to fit us in even though we had not booked.
Food excellent and served by helpful and friendly staff.
We understand that it has been taken over and is now a delightful place once more

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We recently stayed overnight at The Churchill Arms and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. One of the best things was being able to enjoy their fabulous food and then roll upstairs to sleep! There are only 4 rooms available and ours was small but adequate for a one night stay. The location is very quiet which allows you to get a great nights sleep and even the pub noise wasn't bad.

The pub is located just out of Chipping Camden and a short drive from Broadway where there are lovely high streets and walks to do so it is really convenient. Our only mention would be the entrance from the rooms to the pub comes directly out into the dining area where there is a table and chairs. We saw a few patrons get annoyed having their dinner disturbed so if you do stay and eat there be sure to choose a table away from the door. Otherwise this is a fantastic stop on a Cotswolds getaway! 5 stars for the food!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejourneysofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Valentines treat! Great meal, good service. Friendly attentive service. Glad to see this place doing so well, trying really hard and it is paying off

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Churchill Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Churchill Arms

Address: Paxford GL55 6XH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Paxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Paxford
Price Range: $156 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Churchill Arms, Paxford is a boutique pub nestled away in the North of The Cotswolds. With its historical local character at our core we pride ourselves on thought about British classics. With two characterful but modern en-suite bedrooms we're located just outside Chipping Camden. Less than a 2 hour journey by train or car from London we're in the perfect spot to explore this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. Our cosy bar, stocked with beers and local ales is just a good a place to while away an afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Churchill Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Churchill Arms Hotel Paxford
The Churchill Arms Paxford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing