We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in the countryside but still very close to Bath”
Review of Bodkin House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bodkin House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Badminton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay in a good sized, clean upstairs room, food was great, the owner was very friendly, didn't hear a peep or even realise there were other guests unless you saw them in the dining room. Very appealing on the outside and lovely gardens you can sit in for a drink or a meal. Set in lovely countryside. Great value for money aswell - it's everything you need for a short break.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrentRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Bodkin House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 223 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2009

Having read some earlier reviews of the hotel we arrived with some trepidation. However our stay proved to be most enjoyable. Proprietors and staff were extremely sociable and very helpful. The room was warm, very clean and extremely comfortable.
There was a roaring log fire in the bar and evening meals were of a good standard with a very interesting choice of starters and mains. Breakfasts were excellent.
In addition we attended a family function (for about 40) at the hotel in the afternoon, the buffet was superb and plentiful and all the guests felt that the venue, staff and service made a very positive contribution to their enjoyment of the day.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffMit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Well I was not expecting too much but at least you would hope the room would be warm. We stayed for one night - the rooms are all named after authors- hence Elizabeth BB. The room was on the ground floor with one window overlooking the car park so you needed to keep the blind down and window closed. Not sure when the window was last opened since there was a rose growing in between the secondary glazing and the window!!
The room was pretty small but I imagine recently decorated in a very bland style. Small double bed and one chair, old fashioned TV hanging from the ceiling - no teletext or satellite- saw no sign of interent connection - there was no info in the room - nothing about the hotel - just some year old freebie magazines and an empty crisp packet! The room was damp, musty and very cold. I had to put on a T Shirt over my nighty!! The small shower room had been redone recently but was very cold and the towels were the size of postage stamps!
The carpet was newish but did not seem to have been hoovered recently and I had to remove the cushion on the chair before I could sit down - not very sure what the marks on it were.
Breakfast - well the croissants did not exist - this is the third time this has happened to me recenty - why put them on the menu if they dont exist ( put up with early this year at another hotel because they had some delicious artisan bread)- but toast was hot. Husband says cooked brekkie only OK.
Dont recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank pilgrim51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

Despite the booking being confirmed 3 times by both telephone and email, we were told on the morning of our stay that there was a problem- there were not enough rooms for the amount of guests booked in. Overall about a dozen disgruntled guests were affected.

The situation was never coherently explained to us, and we were treated in a very aggressive manner. In addition to this, we were told, merely as an afterthought, that the hotel computer containing our credit card details had been stolen.

What was supposed to be an enjoyable day spent at a wedding turned into a farcical hunt for alternative accommodation. Quite frankly it completely ruined our day. Sheer incompetence.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
14  Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2007

This is a very pleasant small hotel which has recently been renovated. It is situated in a very convenient location for touring Bath Bristol and the Cotswolds. Those that want local amentities need to be aware it is well away from any town being situated on the main A46 approx half way between Stroud and Bath.

The rooms are very comfortable, the bar excellent as is the food. The staff are friendly and helpful. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Glaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Marco W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kira20147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badminton
5.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
4.4 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
373 reviews
7.3 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
10.2 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,038 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fox Inn
The Fox Inn
#1 of 1 in Hawkesbury Upton
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodkin House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodkin House Hotel

Address: Petty France Farm, Badminton GL9 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Badminton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Badminton
Price Range: $110 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bodkin House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Bodkin House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodkin House Hotel Badminton, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing