We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Find”
Review of Bodkin House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bodkin House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Badminton B&B and Inns
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Find”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed two nights with our South African relatives while touring the Cotswolds. A very old and charming building, and a thoroughly warm welcome from the proprietors. The rooms have great style, and are surprisingly modern and airy - this despite the fact that we had one of the oldest rooms (Charlotte Bronte) at the front of the building. A lovely bathroom - although the water pressure on the shower was rather lacking in force! Very little traffic on the A46 meant we slept very well - despite having to keep the windows open during the heatwave.

The food in the restaurant was fabulous. We ate in both nights, and not one of us had anything that disappointed. Not only did it all taste great, but the presentation was also excellent. As the weather was so hot, we ate outside on one evening, and so could appreciate the extensive garden and grounds. There is also a decking area where drinks and meals can be taken. Breakfast was of similar quality to dinner, and set us up well and truly for our days of sightseeing.

The staff were all friendly and efficient. After two days I felt that we were being treated more like house guests than paying public, and greatly enjoyed spending time talking to Don and his wife - who both have a very dry sense of humour.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wewozthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    75
    26
    19
    11
See reviews for
48
78
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
141 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We had an overnight stay this week and I would highly recommend the place. The gardens & decking are a great place to unwind.
The room, , Although ovrr looking the main road was very quiet and a good size. Well presented and very clean.
The evening meal was well presented and tasty as was breakfast.
Staff were warm and welcoming.
A little gem at a great price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Sheermadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fathers day meal for 5 booked 2 days in advance.

Parking was ample, a fantastic venue with large well kept grounds, a good bar and well laid out dining area. Service not always prompt, but obliging. Comfortable lounge seating was available whilst considering the menu and enjoying drinks. A choice of tables was also available at the time of our visit.

All the 3 courses of the meals we ate were of exceedingly good quality and value for money. The menu selection was reasonable with 5 or 6 starters and the same number of main courses. Each had a vegetarian option, which I am told by the vegetarian in our group were of equally high quality. The dessert menu had around 8 choices.

The wine list would have benefited from a little more choice. There were around 8 bottles of red and 8 bottles of white available, both old and new world. Rose, sparkling, Champagne and dessert wines were also available, but I didn't take note of their number or variety. The wine we chose was of very good quality.

The only negatives: The bar and restaurant seemed somewhat detached, with drinks arriving whilst another member of staff took our menu selection and I had to go in search of someone to ask for a wine list.

A few minor service issues prevent this review from making 5 stars, but the food, setting and grounds really are something special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was an overnighter, but we were made to feel welcome as though we stayed there every week. Lovely modern decor inside an old building, and Mr and Mrs Proprietor were on hand at all times. Bedroom (Bronte) large and airy, and quiet although on front on building (A46).
Breakfast cooked to perfection - all in all a place to return to without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We recently had the great pleasure of Staying at The Bodkin Inn and enjoyed every aspect of our 2 night stay. We were given a warm welcome and shown to our room personally - a nice touch. We were told we could eat in either the bar or the restaurant that evening, whichever we preferred. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. After unpacking we sat out on the lovely terrace and enjoyed a lovely glass of sauvignon helped along with some olives and wonderful bread and dipping oils. Our meal order was taken from us whilst on the terrace and we were called in when it was ready. The food on each evening was excellent, a total triumph! also the owners and staff could not have been more polite, helpful or accommodating to us. We do hope to return to this absolute gem of a place later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cineys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Sunday lunch for my wife and I and my aged mother in law, Easy parking, warm reception, as well as a bar there is a comfortable seating area separate but open to the main dining area, ideal and friendly for pre-dinner drinks. Husband and wife team with one young competent waitress. Service quietly efficient.
Roast beef meal, requested rare and we actually got what was requested. Food well presented and just the right amount. Good value will go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently attended a Mother's Day lunch at the Bodkin House Hotel, which was excellent - considering the numbers that were being catered for!
Therefore, when asked by friends (who live nearby) to choose a venue to meet up for a meal I did not hesitate in booking the Bodkin House.
We arrived , had a pre-dinner drink - warming ourselves in front of the open fire in the bar.
We were shown into the dining room - encouraged to sit in the settees to choose our dinner selection...and have another drink. We were in no hurry.
When the first course was ready we were shown to our table...
The three course dinner was wonderful...
My wife thought it was the best duck she had had in a very long time...
The choice of wine was very wide.
We had the table for the night - with no attempt to move us on to the lounge or bar.
This was my second visit to Bodkin House - it won't be my last!
Recommended
Although - not a cheap night out - I think we had value for money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmer121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badminton
5.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
4.4 mi away
Best Western Compass Inn
Best Western Compass Inn
#1 of 1 in Tormarton
353 reviews
6.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
7.3 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
2,450 reviews
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Chippenham Leigh Delamere Eastbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodkin House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodkin House Hotel

Property: Bodkin House Hotel
Address: Petty France Farm, Badminton GL9 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Badminton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Badminton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bodkin House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Bodkin House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodkin House Hotel Badminton, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing