We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than a bunkhouse”

Chestnut Farm Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Badminton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chestnut Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Badminton B&B and Inns
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better than a bunkhouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stopped here on our first night of walking the Cotswold Way. Nice friendly welcome, we where in the annex just outside the main house. Although the upstairs room was "compact" we found it perfectly acceptable,clean and comfortable, plenty of tea and coffee.
The pub Majors Retreat is about 400mt away, good food, good beer, good price, the landlord is a character just have a laugh with him.

The breakfast next morning was really good, for the price and location I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    4
    5
    0
See reviews for
4
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a one night stay at the Chestnut Farm on our last night before completing the Cotswold Way walk. We were all very disappointed the rooms were very dated and the bathroom was filthy. the soap dish and shower head didn't look as if it had been cleaned for years. The floor in the bedroom and bathroom was sticky and towels were ready to use as cleaning cloths. The owner was very friendly and did cook you a decent breakfast. We would not stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scatslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calne
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We were walking the Cotswold Way so in terms of location this B&B was perfect. We were greeted on arrival with a very warm welcome and given the cottage accommodation and shown round comprehensively. However, the rooms were very dusty, the downstairs bathroom was dirty with hairs in the sink and a filthy soap holder in the shower and the upstairs bathroom was incredibly tiny, dated and there was a very large gap between the top of the door and the ceiling.
The cooked breakfast was adequate but being vegetarian, I was not well catered for.
At £55 for the accommodation, you get what you pay for and as we werewalking, choice in the area was limited.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troll70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York North yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

My partner and I stayed at Chestnut Farm on our final leg of walking the Cotswold Way. Wonderful friendly hospitality by Robert, substantial breakfast. Accommodation geared around walkers, very comfortable beds. Excellect pub in village, Major's Retreat, food outstanding, best on whole trip, and very reasonably priced, huge portions. Wonderful selection of real Ale, walkers delight !!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, East Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

Last weekend, my family, all 5 of us, enjoyed a most friendly Bed & Breakfast at Chestnut Farm Tormarton. The detached accomodation was just great. We were all together,just us in this clean and comfortable cottage just a stone throw from where we enjoyed a full excellently presented english breakfast at a very modest price. Well done Roberto and Heather, we will definitely be visiting you again.

Martin,Christine & family.

Helpful?
2 Thank Pumatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

as a regular visitor to hotels and b&b across england for the past 10 years there is absolutly no doubt that this has to be my no 1.
The nicest and most interesting people and generous to a tee, spotlessly clean and comfortable night stay. If only home could be like this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerryWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

My family and i had a great stay, nice clean cozy rooms, the owners were charming, the breakfast was generous and tasty, and there is a nice country pub three minutes walk down the road.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beandare17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badminton
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Compass Inn
4.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
8.7 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
9.7 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
8.9 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chestnut Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: Chestnut Farm Acton Turville Road | Tormarton, Badminton GL9 1HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Badminton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Badminton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Chestnut Farm Bed & Breakfast Badminton, Gloucestershire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing