We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent two nights here for a choral week-end and the hotel provided an excellent base for us. The rooms were a good size, quiet and comfortable. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast offered a good range, including excellent fresh fruit. We chose not to eat in for dinner as it seemed rather expensive. The only downside was the prices at the bar and the fact that our bill included a dinner and lunch that we had not taken! However, reception staff dealt with this very efficiently and overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear MSop2
Thanks for taking the time to post a review and I'm glad to hear that you found the Hotel to be such an excellent base.
It sounds as though you were booked on a dinner inclusive rate which would have given you a £26 per person allowance towards your dinner with us. Our new menu has plenty of menu choices allowing you to choose a starter, main and dessert. I am sorry that you didn't take the opportunity to dine with us on this occasion.
Thank you for your feedback.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

Went to this hotel last week for my friends hen do, spa was lovely beauticians were good, buffet lunch was nice service was slow...... Hotel rooms were off a good size, beds comfy!... Evening meal was a let down... main meal portion size was more starter size, my friends meal had to be sent back as burnt ... Menu needs looking at as wasn't very appealing...... Pudding was nice & thank god breakfast was fab as I was starving by morning!! Haha!!!.... Overall ok stay but go out for dinner!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda85Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear amanda85
Thanks for your review. I hope that you and your friends had a great hen do at the Hotel.
I'm sorry to read your comments regarding your evening meal. We have recently recruited a new Head Chef and have now implemented a new menu so we are constantly reviewing our guest feedback to make sure we are meeting our guests' expectations.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Whenever I'm on a business trip in Gloucester I stay in this hotel. I've tried several others in that area but so far I've found none that could compete. All rooms are spacious and bright. The gym is big enough, but the pool could be a bit longer (around 15m). In the SPA area they also have 2 saunas and a whirlpool.
The food in the bar is ok, but nothing special. That is why I usually dine out. The breakfast is better, but only served till 9:30 AM. The food served during business conferences for lunch is very nice though.
The internet is free and quite fast, regardless the hour, which is very important for me.
Be aware that there is nothing around the hotel, so you'll need a car to visit Gloucester or Cheltenham.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Filip C
Good to hear from one of our Business users - many thanks for taking the time to post a review.
We have recently introduced a new menu in our Restaurant and I therefore hope that you will try the restaurant again when you next stay. We are getting lots of great feedback already and hopefully it may suit your needs better than our previous menu.
We are placed more or less equally between the centres of both Cheltenham and Gloucester, both being approximately 6 miles away, so some form of transport is required if you want to visit these towns. That being said we do have a very regular bus service to and from both towns from right outside the front entrance of the Hotel.
Thank you for your continued custom and I look forward to you returning to the Hotel again in the near future.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

excellant hotel especially the very clean and spacious room the staff were polite and helpful the food was very high standard the wife and i stayed for 2 nights on fri /sat nights from the moment we arrived to checkout the staff could not do enough for us thanks very much

Room Tip: room 48 quieter corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear anthony w
Thanks for your feedback Anthony and I'm so pleased that you had such an enjoyable time away with your wife.
Hopefully see you again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My daughter and I spent 2 days at the hotel for her birthday treat and what a treat it was.
From the moment we arrived we were treated as special people.The staff everywhere were so polite and helpful and always had smiles on their faces.

I must pay particular mention to the girls in the Spa -Rachael, Emma and Lucy. They were lovely girls and our treatments were amazing. Unfortunately there were workmen on the roof and whilst we were having our facials there was continuous banging. Although we didn't complain to anyone we were both offered an extra treatment the following day for free-much appreciated.

Our room was on the ground floor. It was large, nicely furnished and very comfortable. The bath was huge and the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water.

Food at both dinner and breakfast was very good and the choice at breakfast is huge. It certainly filled us up for our day's shopping in Cheltenham.

The staff on reception were really helpful and knowledgeable about the local area.

My only criticism of our whole stay was that I think they need to go back to providing biscuits with the cheeseboard. It is quite expensive ant to be given 3 stale extra thin slices of ciabatta? bread did not work. I must say though that when we complained we were served a whole plateful of savoury biscuits. Thank you.

We will certainly be returning as we came away relaxed and refreshed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Col Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Col Y
Thanks for your feedback. I'm so pleased that we were able to provide such a treat of a stay for you and your daughter. I hope that you enjoyed your quality time together.
I've passed your comments regarding Rachael, Emma and Lucy in the Spa on to them as I know that they will be so pleased to read your comments. We also reward all of the team members who receive a mention by name in guest feedback so thanks for taking the time to do this.
We take on board your comments regarding serving biscuits with Cheese and hope that you will return with your daughter again some time soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed over for an event Themed Race Night on Friday night and a team building event on Saturday morning.

From check in to the time we left everything was perfect. The food was excellent, the room and public spaces have been refurbished to a very high standard and the staff were very attentive.

The event on the Saturday made use of their 6 acre field at the back (which is a great resource which I'll make sure to tell my corporate clients about as it gives business events at the Chase the potential for a whole different dimension).

Oh and finally the food was very good quality from the dinner on Friday night, great breakfast through to the BBQ to finish on the lawned patio area to the rear. We'll be back :)

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear have great views over open countryside, although they are all finished to a good s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobThomasWSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear RobThomasWSI
We could quite easily use your fabulous review in our marketing literature it is so glowing! Thank you so much for taking the time to give such positive feedback on your stay and your experience of attending an event here. We rarely get Event Delegates posting feedback on Trip Advisor so it is much appreciated.
Our field at the rear of the Hotel has been used for many different types of events over the years... Hot Air Balloon Launches, Classic Club Rallys and out door team building events as just a few examples and has the potential to accommodate many other types of events.
Now... back to the drawing board to see how we can improve on 'Perfect'....
I hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

It comes as a pleasant surprise for a fairly large hotel to have such kind and attentive staff who throughout our short stay demonstrated a genuine and pleasant manner and could not do enough to make sure all our needs were met.
Besides offering a very high level of comfort both in the bedroom and in the lounge areas, our dining experience was first class and the new menu provided a good choice of fresh well presented food with excellent portion sizes.
I certainly look forward to returning to the hotel when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliveh989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Cliveh989
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your recent stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you appreciated our new Restaurant Menu. Our team here really are fabulous and it's great that they get so many positive mentions here on Trip Advisor.... all of which are passed on to them, so thank you for such lovely feedback.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockworth
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
722 reviews
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
379 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
144 reviews
2 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
892 reviews
5.3 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#7 of 23 in Cheltenham
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Address: Shurdington Road, Brockworth GL3 4PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Brockworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Price Range: $100 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel is situated conveniently close to both Cheltenham & Gloucester and just minutes away from junction 11a of the M5. The Hotel boasts 122 contemporary, air conditioned bedrooms, all with flat screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities and fridges. Hardy's Restaurant offers fantastic food in a light contemporary atmosphere overlooking the Cotswold Hills, whilst Hunters Bar and Lounge provides a relaxed area in which to enjoy a great range of food and drink. There is an extensive leisure club with great facilities including a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, a fully equipped gym and weights area and a Spa offering a full range of treatments. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - a q Brockworth
Cheltenham Chase Hotel
Cheltenham Chase Brockworth
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel Brockworth, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing