We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Q Hotel Success” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester - UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Another Q Hotel Success”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the second Hotel in the Q Hotel chain I have visited recently - and I am pleased to report that the same high standards prevail.

Whilst the Hotel can not be described as luxurious, it is both functional and comfortable. The Staff were helpful and courteous, and the food of an acceptable, if not exceptional standard.

All in all, a good value for money Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wintonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Wintonian,
That's great to hear! Thank you for your comments and it's also brilliant to hear that you have also enjoyed staying one of our other QHotels. There are 21 fabulous and individual QHotels so I do hope that you will try a few more!
We hope to see you again at The Chase very soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    604
    202
    70
    32
See reviews for
225
814
39
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Travelzoo deal - 2 night, B&B with supper on one of the nights, wine in room & cream tea

Pros:
Modern room really good size - all room amenities would expect in 4 star hotel included. Good, comfortable stay. Excellent bathroom and powerful, hot shower.
Pool area clean and pool good temperature
Well-equipped gym and weights area
Breakfast not bad
Food - a la carte menu was very good.
Good location - 10 minutes drive to either Gloucester or Cheltenham with lovely walks from the hotel.

Cons:
Film channel not working in room (due to fault throughout hotel)
Cream tea OK - but no choice of tea, took 20 minutes and included a donut.
Service in restaurant a bit hit & miss - although suspect this was due to restaurant being at capacity on Saturday night - had to chase waiting staff for additional drinks and missing vegetables with main course.
Hotel quite busy - with a rugby team, 30th bday party and hen dos - meant restaurant and bar area and spa noisy.
Children in the pool/spa not that well behaved - no staff in pool area


Overall reasonably good value - would suit those looking for a cheap break away but not necessarily suited to couples looking for a romantic weekend or a more civilized break in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank braays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear braays,
Thank you for your comprehensive review of the Hotel and for taking the time to give us such constructive feedback on your stay with us. I can assure you that we do appreciate all of our guest feedback and we certainly do act on any areas for improvement noted by our guests.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
253 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was our fourth time at this hotel and we enjoyed it every bit as much as previously . The staff in every department- reception, restaurant, bar and spa are all excellent, very friendly and helpful. We had requested the same room that we had on our last stay, but upgraded it to a Q star room which was good. The only reason we dropped the room from excellent to very good is that some parts of the room are looking a bit tired ie the surfaces in the bathroom are extremely marked and scratched ( does not affect anything though ) and the ironing board cover was ripped. That said, these are only very minor issues which did not affect our enjoyment. We will definitely visit again later this year as it is still our favourite Q hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneymanMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear JourneymanMerseyside
It's great to hear from a regular guest and to hear that you have enjoyed all of your stays with us! Thank you for taking the trouble to post such a lovely review. All of the team here get to read the reviews which are posted on Trip Advisor and they will be so pleased to read your feedback.
I hope you will come back for a fifth stay with us very soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked this spa day direct through the hotel. We were greeted warmly on arrival, filled in a quick form to choose lunch and treatments (of which both had a good variety of choices) then were given robes, towels and slippers and shown where everything was. We were told it was ok to go through for lunch in robes which we were very pleased about :)

The pool area was lovely, clean and tidy, nice hot jacuzzi, smallish pool but it wasn't busy. Perfect for chilling out.

Lunch was amazing! A huge board of different foods, soup, bread, fruit etc.

Treatments were fantastic. We had the face and body ritual which was very relaxing. Another friend had a manicure and back massage and she was very pleased with both. Relaxation room was lovely too, very warm and cosy with magazines.

All staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely visit again it is well worth the money!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cmorr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear cmorr86
I am not sure how we can beat the review you have given us here! Thank you so much for posting such a great review!
We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nice room, very good breakfast, good swimming pool and very nice spa treatments. We stayed in a standard double room ad the bed was supersize. The room was not particularly cosy but big, clean and comfy. For the breakfast the hotel has some table in front of a massive window and we could see the countryside. The spa is nice, not the best one but they have good spa treatments, not too expensive to be a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Francesca B
Thanks for such a great review! We hope you will come back for another stay again very soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Really nice hotel, nicely decorated. Large double rooms with a very clean bathroom. Plenty of mirrors in the room, hair dryer, good size TV with a few channels, there's also a good sized mini fridge and good tea and coffee facilities. The spa was excellent, clean facilities and a decent size pool. My spa treatment was really good and relaxing (the revive and revitalising treatment). The food was really good with lots of choice, I had the buffet lunch and breakfast and a three course evening meal. I've dropped a star rating as the hotel staff made a mistake with my desert twice! Also you cannot check in until 3pm which is not really appropriate when you have a 2pm treatment session.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Hayley B
Thank you for posting such a great Trip Advisor review! It's great to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.
Check-in time is officially 3pm however, we are happy to check guests into their room prior to this time if they are ready and will also hold luggage and provide facilities in our Leisure club for use in the meantime.
I am sorry that we made an error on your dessert order and hope that you will accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We hope you will choose to stay again soon so that we can earn back that extra star rating!
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is an extremely well run clean and friendly hotel. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and polite. The Room was perfectly clean, spacious and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant on the first night of our stay as part of the package booked and the food was very good, the staff were most attentive. One member of staff in particular Lucas was outstanding in the service he gave, friendly polite and efficient while not rushing us, a big thank you to him. Breakfast did not disappoint either, the restaurant manager was visible at all times making his way around the tables checking that all guests were happy and the staff were maintaining the highest standard. The breakfast choice was excellent and the food well presented. On check-out the desk staff were very pleasant and helpful, they made you feel that you were a valued customer. All in all we had a very comfortable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear J V
Wow! What fabulous feedback! Thanks so much for posting a review.
We do reward all of our team members who receive a positive mention in guest feedback so thank you for taking the trouble to mention Lucas in your review.
I hope that you will consider returning to The Chase very soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockworth
4.5 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
19.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Property: The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Address: Shurdington Road, Brockworth GL3 4PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Brockworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel is situated conveniently close to both Cheltenham & Gloucester and just minutes away from junction 11a of the M5. The Hotel boasts 122 contemporary, air conditioned bedrooms, all with flat screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities and fridges. Hardy's Restaurant offers fantastic food in a light contemporary atmosphere overlooking the Cotswold Hills, whilst Hunters Bar and Lounge provides a relaxed area in which to enjoy a great range of food and drink. There is an extensive leisure club with great facilities including a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, a fully equipped gym and weights area and a Spa offering a full range of treatments. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - a q Brockworth
Cheltenham Chase Hotel
Cheltenham Chase Brockworth
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel Brockworth, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing