We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Certificate of Excellence
oxford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Family Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Best hotel breakfast a really good buffet. Lots of delicious fresh fruit and pastries. All the staff were very helpful and the rooms were very pleasant. Easy drive into Cheltenham. The pool was good but a bit busy on saturday morning but I would definitely recommend this hotel as a comfortable base in Cheltenham.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Alfiejo
Thank you! It's brilliant to hear such great feedback and I really do appreciate you taking the time to post your comments.
Please do come back to The Chase again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    604
    202
    70
    32
See reviews for
225
814
39
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We did not use any of the facilities as we simply stayed the night but our time at the hotel was pleasant. The service was great at breakfast and the food was ok, although there were lots of businessmen around who were fairly noisy. Upon checking out, we found there was a queue but we did not have to wait very long. My only complaints are that it was a little strange/uncomfortable to walk past meeting rooms in order to get to our room and we found that the room was cold and took some time to warm up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawaiitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Kawaiitraveller
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor and for taking the time to give us your feedback. It sounds as though overall you enjoyed your stay at The Chase which is great to hear.
We hope you will consider returning soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

An excellent weekend was spent at this hotel celebrating my wife's 50th birthday. The staff were enthusiastic, cheerful and well trained. The rooms were quiet to the point of silence. We slept almost 12 hours on the Saturday night. The food was well cooked and superbly presented. Only two small blips and both were sorted very quickly. My wife ordered a glass or red wine with her cheese course and this was slow to appear. However the barman was busy and as soon as I reminded the waiter it was dealt with promptly. The same story following the non appearance of the newspaper I had ordered on the Saturday morning. I would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 18 is next to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Robert E
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write an on-line review regarding your stay at The Chase and may I wish your wife a very belated Happy Birthday!
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, but sorry that experienced a couple of 'blips' I am sorry and I do hope that you were not inconvenienced too much as a result.
We hope to welcome you back again very soon!
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked this hotel as a package for a Valentine/Anniversary break and were not disappointed. On arrival we were greeted by friendly and efficient reception staff. Our room wasn't ready as we were early so we asked if we could have our (included)Cream Tea early. This was no problem and very well presented and tasty. We were asked if it was all OK by the bar staff and Manager who then arranged for us to get our room early. He (Ash) couldn't have been more helpful. The room was spacious, comfortable and very well designed and pleasing including, fridge, kettle, iron, wifi and a lovely bathroom. The public rooms were all of a very high standard and look fabulous. The retaurant service was impeccable and although I had a problem with my meal it was all handled perfectly. The leisure centre was lovely as well, clean with everything you could want. The location is great being easy to get to, close to Gloucester and Cheltenham and within easy reach of all of the beautiful Cotswold villages. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are fine, there's nothing noisy and they are all the same standard from wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Jacquibabs

What a great review! Thank you for taking the time out to give us such great feedback, it is much appreciated.

Thank you also for your praise for our team. We do circulate all feedback to all of the staff here and it's a great motivator for the team to read such positive feedback.

I'm sorry to hear that you had an issue with your evening meal, but pleased to hear that we were able to resolve this to your satisfaction.

I hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Chase very soon!

Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel before and enjoyed the relaxed break then too. The leisure club had a weights room and a small gym and the pool facilities were good. Room was fine, quiet and adequate. The restaurant food was good quality but not cheap - but we had £26pp allocated in our package for dinner- we had to pay roughly a further £5pp to get our preferred 3 course meal. Overall I would recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Andrew M
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We really do appreciate the feedback from our guests.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing break with us and were able to make use of our Leisure facilities.
Thank you for your comments regarding the dining allowance. We are currently re-writing our menus and we will therefore bear in mind your comments during this process.
We hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
295 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were pleased with our 2 night break at this hotel, overall it was a lot better than our previous experiences at Q hotels which were the Cambridge and Oxford belfry hotels. Our room was quite large, modern, nicely decorated and clean, and was quiet despite being on the ground floor not far from the bar/restaurant area. The staff were all friendly and helpful from the reception staff through to the breakfast and restaurant staff. Food in the restaurant on the first night was fine without being anything special and the breakfast buffet in the morning was plentiful. The wine list in the restaurant was strange, only 5 bottles of red and 5 bottles of white to choose from, however the wine list in the bar had about twice the amount of choice which is strange. No matter where you eat, whether it be a pub, bistro, hotel, local restaurant or a michelin star restaurant you always get a choice of Spanish rioja, Australian shiraz/cab sav, Italian borola/chianti, and a wide choice of French wines. Here the wine list was very strange, full of Chilean and Argentinian wine, not a great choice for my personal taste and I doubt for many others. We used the leisure center which was good, a decent sized pool with plenty of room to swim, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room, also gym facilities for those who wish to use them. The bar and restaurant actually had a really nice atmosphere, the hotel was quite busy while we were there with lots of couples and groups eating and drinking through the night. The hotel was only about a 10 minute drive from Cheltenham which was good if you wanted to shop or have a look around the city center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flashbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Me and my partner had a two night break here in January. We both enjoyed our stay and thought the hotel was very pleasant. The rooms were modern and had everything you would need, the beds were big and comfortable. Bathroom had shampoo etc. We used the pool and spa facilities well and really enjoyed them, they were fairly well used with around 15 other people on average using the pool/jacuzzi/steam room/sauna when we were there. The breakfasts were also very good with a hot buffet of english breakfast and cold selection of pastries, cereal, fruit and yoghurt etc.

The location was good - easy access into cheltenham and for the Cotswolds. The hotel was on a fairly busy road but there were open views onto hills at the back.

Overall the hotel was nothing particulary special but modern and nice and had everything needed for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Louise K
Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review about The Chase! We really do appreciate it and hope that you will come back again in the near future.

If you enjoyed using our leisure facilities you may want to consider booking one of our great value 'Spa Break' packages for your next stay and treat yourself to some serious pampering!

Thanks again and kind regards

Keith Turnbull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockworth
4.5 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
Hallmark Hotel Gloucester
#11 of 21 in Gloucester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
19.5 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Property: The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Address: Shurdington Road, Brockworth GL3 4PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Brockworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel is situated conveniently close to both Cheltenham & Gloucester and just minutes away from junction 11a of the M5. The Hotel boasts 122 contemporary, air conditioned bedrooms, all with flat screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities and fridges. Hardy's Restaurant offers fantastic food in a light contemporary atmosphere overlooking the Cotswold Hills, whilst Hunters Bar and Lounge provides a relaxed area in which to enjoy a great range of food and drink. There is an extensive leisure club with great facilities including a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, a fully equipped gym and weights area and a Spa offering a full range of treatments. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - a q Brockworth
Cheltenham Chase Hotel
Cheltenham Chase Brockworth
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel Brockworth, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing