We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed on a three night package which included the New Years Eve function.
On arrival, a smiling Miss Ernst checked us in and arranged for assistance with our baggage. Our room, 140, was spacious, clean, well furnished and had a huge bed!
The meal on the first evening was good, plenty of it. No complaints. The waiting staff were helpful and cheerful.
The swimming pool and gym were of a good standard, the changing area clean and tidy. In fact the hotel was kept clean and tidy throughout.
Breakfast was excellent, fresh fruit, cereals, toast, pastries, juices and a large choice of hot food and plenty of it. Staff were very efficient in providing tea and coffee.
The New Years Eve faction started with a champagne reception, we enjoyed a couple of glasses of champagne and plenty of delicious canapés.
We were shown to our tables, which were all beautifully decorated. Then proceeded to enjoy a fabulous meal by well organised staff who all wore big smiles! I can't fault the meal, served hot and quickly. We were also provided with a member of staff to take our drinks orders! The music was good and varied. The dance floor was busy for most of the evening. Staff were happy serving us until we retired at 4.30am!
On News Years Day, the evening meal was a buffet carvery. Delicious food again, faultless.
I'd like to mention Halely for the excellent way she looked after us. All the staff deserve a big thank you for making it such an enjoyable occasion. Thank you to you All.

Room Tip: Our party had 11 rooms dotted about the hotel, no complaints about any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pudspiesandpasties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Pudspiesandpasties
The one thing that stands out from your great review is just how well our team here did to ensure that you enjoyed your New Years Eve celebrations - thank you! We do truly have a fabulous team and they will all be so pleased to hear that their hard work does not go unappreciated.
Thank you for taking the time to post such a fabulous review - I'm so pleased that you had such a great time with us and very much hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,249 - 1,255 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

A big thank you to Ash [events manager] and all the staff at the hotel for helping to make our new years eve celebration a great success. From the afternoon tea and scones, the champagne reception with the pipers, the 5 course meal, the band and the D.J. the firework display was fantastic, then we all saw in the new year and danced some more. to finish off the next morning a great breakfast. Best New Years Eve Night Ever.
Well done all the staff at the hotel nothing was too much trouble to sort if you had a problem.
Alan and Isobel W.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Alan and Isobel
Thanks for your feedback regarding our New Year's Eve celebrations and it's fantastic to read that you rate it as your best New Year's Eve night ever!
Your feedback is much appreciated and we hope you might choose to return to The Chase again very soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hi, I would normally write a concise report of where we have been but this place deserves so much more. So here go's
Together with about 20 others we always go away for the new year break, only one rule you can't back to the same place. in about September we sent an advanced party of 4 to a hotel in the Cheltenham area, from there we visited about 6 hotels. Apart from this hotel none of them really came up to are requirements or needs. When we arrived we spoke with Hayley, who with a smile showed us around the hotel including the pool, gym and spa area. We looked at the rooms and whilst having a cup of complimentary coffee worked out a deal with her and the management. Because of Hayleys brilliant attitude of nothing was too much trouble for her we decided to pencil this hotel in on the short list. Within a week Hayley followed up our meeting with both an email and a phone call just to confirm our verbal agreement. We then spoke with a another event lady named Romy, she too was just brilliant, if she said she would call you back then that's exactly what she did. And so preliminaries done and payment made for the 3 day New Year break, we arrived at the hotel. The first thing is that its really easy to get to, from the M4 its a dual carriageway for 99% of the way. The hotel is set back from the main road just enough so that from your room you can't hear any road noise. Then it was a breeze through the booking in process with plenty of helpful smiling reception staff on hand to help out in anyway. From there to the room, we elected a standard double room (number118), although friends booked a split level suite (Montpelier suite) which was quite simply fabulous.
Our room was spotlessly clean, a huge bed with air con that actually worked. The bathroom had a huge bath with a power shower etc. Everything in the bathroom seemed to be either new or in really good nick. Small things like a demisting mirror and independent heating rail just add to the overall experience. Then down to the bar, again really helpful smiley staff. Stayed there too long really but that was because there was sport on the telly and a relaxed atmosphere. In fairness the beer could have been better with an extra ale being required. Then into the restaurant, the staff here seemed to have been schooled in the same way as they too were just brilliant, difficult to single out anyone in particular but both Laura and the team leader Alberto deserve a mention. The evening meal was just brilliant. Large portions of excellent food. Breakfast was just the same ... fantastic, it was a buffet but if you couldn't see it all you had to do was ask and if it was possible they would rustle it up for you.
Okay getting a bit bored now of singing their praises but it really was that good, finally I should just mention that the band playing at the gala dinner were just right, proved by the fact that the dance floor was always full, and so at midnight to a fireworks extravaganza then back to the music and the bar. Although a bit jaded the next day was just fine too. There's a fair bit to do in Cheltenham or even over to Gloucester quays. Would have been at Cheltenham races but that was cancelled because of the rain.
Used the gym, sauna and pool. The gym is well stocked and has two rooms, one designed for a cardiovascular workout and the other with free weights.
So that's it. One of the best new years bashes we have been to in the last 10 years, thanks to all.

Room Tip: if you can afford the upgrade to a suite then its definitely worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SurreyBigcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear SurreyBigcheese
Wow! I don't think we could ask for much better feedback - with the exception of a better selection of Ale (which I will take on board) and the races not being cancelled we seem to have got everything else pretty much right! Thank you so much for going to the trouble of singing our praises so publicly - it is much appreciated and all of our team here get to read both good and bad feedback from our guests.
You mention that you can't go back to the same place, but I hope that you might consider changing that rule for next New Year! Failing that you could always return for a leisure break to see the lovely Cotswold hills in the summer!
Thank you once again.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived at the hotel and were prompted given our rooms before the check in time which was great, as were the rooms (no complaints there)
However afternoon tea and scones were to be served at 2pm, so we made our way back from Cheltenham to enjoy this before going for a swim. However tea and coffee were served at 2pm but nothing else, when I asked when the scones would be available I was told 3pm, when I said that we were told 2pm, I received a curt response of 'well it will be 3pm' before the waiter walked off.
On to the evening event, for what the hotel call a 'champagne reception' this was a disgrace. There was one waiter serving the champagne pouring out one glass at a time to a queue of about 20 people at a time. He only had two bottles with him so every time they ran out he went off to get another two bottles before he annouced 'thats the last of the champagne' and left, so for most of the 'champagne reception' we were either queuing for a drink (and not with our friends) or were ironically without champagne!
We were 15 mins late being allowed into the venue room as we had to wait for the bag pipes, as they were busy in the restaurant.
We sat down at about 8pm to be served our food whilst listening to what can only be described as the worst 80's disco ever. THREE HOURS LATER we were still sat at our table before the band started (they were not much better than the disco I'm afraid) When we asked why it was taking so long we were told that it was taking longer than they thought to serve the food. Everyone in that room had pre-booked for the event, we hadn't just turned up out of the blue, so one would assume that the waiting and kitchen staff would be prepared for the number of people to cater and serve that evening. On a positive note the food was lovely (no complaints there)
Then onto midnight and welcoming in the New Year, I'm not sure if we were in a different time zone in Cheltenham but it was three minutes early according to the band that announced it! Then we were told to make our way outside for the fireworks, however no-one told us where we were going, the host pointed to the right (to the curtained doors) but these were not open, so we made our way back to the bar area (still no sign of anyone telling us where to go) so we followed the crowd, but were told we had to go through another door as the one they were going to open would fall off the hinge if we tried to go through it (health and safety?!)
The fireworks were very good, and surprisingly well organised given the experience of the evening in the run up to it.
We made our way back into the main room to the band again (still no better) so after 2 more songs we went to bed very disspointed with our evening, and having paid £165 each we felt a bit robbed.
We have attended a number of New Years Eve black tie events at other Q hotels and this is the most disapointing and disorganised event we have ever experienced. I'm afraid that if this is the sign of things to come then we will not return to event like this.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Mirpb

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your stay at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel. I am aware that you have contacted our Head Office and we are currently in communication with you via our Head Office Customer Relations Department.

Our New Year's Eve celebrations were generally very well received by the majority of our guests as you can see by the feedback on Trip Advisor, however I am very sorry that your experience of our New Year's Eve Celebrations did not meet with your expectations.

Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a New Years Eve dinner bed and breakfast package. The Evening was a tremendoes night with a champagne reception followed by an excellent five course meal and first class entertainment with a live band and disco that went on in to the early morning hours. There was also a spectacular fire work display just after midnight.

Our room was modern, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The staff in general were also excellent giving us a very warm welcome and being very attentive at all times. We were afforded a late check out (12pm) which allowed us plenty of time for a bit of a lay in before enjoying a first class full English breakfast.

The price for this package was £165 a head which I thought was outstanding value for money, that apart though I would thoroughly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiverSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Diversteve
Thanks for your great comments! I so glad to hear that you enjoyed seeing 2013 in at The Chase and that you felt your break was outstanding value for money.
Your comments have been passed on the team here who will be so pleased to read your praise for them.
Thank your for taking the time to post such a great review and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here with 6 friends on a 'Twixmas' deal, so it was very reasonable priced. The cost included use of the spa (very nice, decent pool with a good steam rooma and sauna. Staff wre very good, friendly and helpful. Rooms were very good with huge beds with crisp linen. All cleaning was of a very high standard.
The only let down was the inclusive meal which really was not up to the rest of the place. Less than clear explanation regarding vegetables meant that some ended up with not enough to eat. Slow cooked pork belly had destinctly soggy crackling. I asked the waiter if that was the way it was usually served and he said that it was normally crisp, so it had to go back for a frazzle.
other food was pretty good though. Overall a really good experience, but make sure you get a meal that matches the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millyardhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Millyardhouse
Thank you for your feedback! I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Chase and found most aspects of your stay to be of a high standard.
I have discussed your feedback regarding your dinner experience with the team here. I am sorry that your meal was not to your expectations and hope that you will accept my sincere apologies.
We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Keith Turnbull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just spent one night at the hotel to escape a teenagers B'day party. Great friendly welcome, with lots of care and attention. When we complained about cold room them we very quick to move us to a new one, although the number of electric heaters could be a sign of poor heating. Good leisure facilities that we made use of. The evening meal was good with good service but perhaps lacked something in range of food available. Good quality breakfast with plenty of fresh fruit which is important for us. The hotel was good quality but perhaps lacked some character that you might expect for this price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikem0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTurnbull, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Mikem0
May I thank you for taking the time and trouble to pass on your kind comments. I am pleased that we were able to offer a home from home and that our hotel, leisure facilities and restaurant allowed you to escape from a house full of teenagers.
I am sorry that your room was cold on arrival, all of our rooms have individual heating and air conditioning however it does need to be left a few minutes to commence after switching on and to then bring the room to the desired temperature. We have found that some guests prefer the immediate response of a good old fashioned heater and have provided those as an alternative.
yours sincerely
Keith Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockworth
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
295 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 23 in Cheltenham
649 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
36 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,345 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall Hotel
Mercure Gloucester, Bowden Hall ...
#1 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel

Address: Shurdington Road, Brockworth GL3 4PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Brockworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brockworth
Price Range: $118 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel is situated conveniently close to both Cheltenham & Gloucester and just minutes away from junction 11a of the M5. The Hotel boasts 122 contemporary, air conditioned bedrooms, all with flat screen TVs, tea & coffee making facilities and fridges. Hardy's Restaurant offers fantastic food in a light contemporary atmosphere overlooking the Cotswold Hills, whilst Hunters Bar and Lounge provides a relaxed area in which to enjoy a great range of food and drink. There is an extensive leisure club with great facilities including a pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, a fully equipped gym and weights area and a Spa offering a full range of treatments. Complimentary WiFi is available throughout the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - a q Brockworth
Cheltenham Chase Hotel
Cheltenham Chase Brockworth
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel Brockworth, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing