We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel
Nearby Hotels
$68
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Gloucester (Little Witcombe) Hotel(Little Witcombe)(Great Value!)
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Gloucester - Cheltenham(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$65
$59
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Gloucester (Barnwood) Hotel(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ibis Gloucester(Gloucester)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hatton Court Hotel(Upton St Leonards)
$89
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,940)
Filter reviews
1,940 results
Traveler rating
871
715
230
82
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
871
715
230
82
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsq hotelsspa breakgood sizeevening mealleisure facilitieslovely hotelnight breakbuffet lunchcream teabreakaway clubreception staffbar arearestaurant managerlight lunchsteam room and saunarelaxation roomhotel restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,407 - 1,412 of 1,940 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had purchased the Travel zoo voucher, and to be honest to expect a lot less. The service was always friendly and helpful, food from lunch to breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal all
Lovely, no complaints.

Room was a great size, very clean, my only complaint would be that the heating should be on in the rooms given how cold it is at the moment. I was very cold and had to ring reception on both days to turn the hearing on, and even woke up cold in the night so it must of been turned off.

Pool also lovely. As I said, excellent deal, had a lovely stay despite the cold.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMG_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_Sibbald-Wall, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts on your stay at The Chase. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite being rather cold! I am sorry, we will adjust the room heating as necessary for any future cold snaps.

It's great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our fabulous Travelzoo offer and I hope that you may consider returning again in the future.

Kind regards

Jennifer Sibbald-Wall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

chose this hotel because it had a very good deal on offer.Check in seamless even though i had booked 4 rooms for the family. The breakfast was very good wide selection on offer,staff attentive all good.Our rooms in good order, pool and spa was clean and of a good size. My only problem was our meal in the evening.I feel the portion sizes were a little small,and i had ordered chicken supreme and had expected a bit more supreme not just apiece of cooked chicken nice as the chicken was,it did lack something.I did bring it to our waiters attention who explained the menu has just been changed and agreed this particular description need changing! The bar staff did seem a little under stress, from what we saw they did need more staff during the day as well as the evening.We had ordered cream teas and as there was just one staff working our pots of tea were served and finished way before any scones and jam arrived.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nemoWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_Sibbald-Wall, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel. We really do appreciate such constructive feedback from our guests.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall, however I am sorry that our service did not appear to be up to our normally high standards. I will discuss this with the team to ensure that we take any action necessary for the future and I do hope that this did not cause you any inconvenience at the time.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind regards

Jennifer Sibbald-Wall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at this excellent hotel. We joined the Breakaway Club after spending a night at the Stratford Q hotel in August and took advantage of the special Autumn offer, incorporating our stay with a visit to relatives in Wiltshire and Dorset. We had a lovely room overlooking the quiet countryside at the rear of the hotel. Our Breakaway offer included dinner, bed and breakfast on both nights. The meals were all very good and the service was excellent - the staff throughout the hotel are without exception friendly, polite and helpful and obviously very well trained. The hotel enjoys an ideal situation, on the bus route to Gloucester and Cheltenham and within easy driving distance of many attractive towns, villages and countryside. We were very impressed with the whole package and will definitely return to this hotel, and will also visit other hotels in the QHotel group in the future.

Room Tip: We had a lovely quiet room on the second floor at the rear of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenrutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_Sibbald-Wall, General Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay with us. I am so pleased that you had such great time at the Hotel and found it to be conveniently placed for exploring the surrounding area.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind regards
Jennifer Sibbald-Wall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed two nights while attending races at Cheltenham , lovely modern rooms tea /coffee complimentary , free wi fi every where in hotel , had breakfast + dinner both evenings food and service excellent , reasonably priced , very well run hotel which can be. Seen by crowds staying , will definitely be back ,

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Seaview1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_Sibbald-Wall, Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your great feedback, we hope you had a good time at the races!

I am so glad that you enjoyed yourself, and hope to see you back at the hotel again in future - Remember Paddy Power weekend is just around the corner, and of course Gold Cup Week is in March!

We look forward to seeing you then.

Kind regards

Jennifer Sibbald-Wall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Superb value for money, worth every penny. 5 girls on a 30th celebratory birthday weekend & we can honestly say we cannot fault the hotel! Where do i even begin? we stayed overnight, the service was outstanding all the staff was very friendly! The room was so clean & big. The spa & specially my treatments was incredible, i was so relaxed i slept i think most of the time. Perfect location. THE FOOD was incredible from buffet breakfast,lunch & 3 course dinner was just unbelieveable, my steak was cook to perfection. Overall our stay was definitely what the doctor ordered!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eggtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J_Sibbald-Wall, Manager at The Cheltenham Chase Hotel - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your feedback!

We're glad you and the girls had a great time, and that everything exceeded your expectation.

We have passed your comments about our food on to Chef and he is delighted that you and your party enjoyed yourself so much!

Make sure you come and see us again soon!

Kind regards

Jennifer Sibbald-Wall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews