We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for a country pub!”
Review of The Hollow Bottom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night - had booked the standard room but got upgraded! Fantastic room with comfy bed and lovely bathroom. This pub/hotel is certainly the hub of the local community.
Ate in the pub in the evening - fantastic pub food (the thickest gammon we've ever seen!) and a fantastic variety of specials available. Breakfast the next morning was freshly cooked with good thick bacon & sausages!
Would definitely stay here again when visiting the Cotswolds!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WelshMallin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you! What a lovely review. It's nice to see our hard work does pay off and that your stay was an enjoyable one. The Gammon is one of my favourites too! We look forward to welcoming you back! Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for The Hollow Bottom
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 228 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

The atmosphere is terrific as this is a very old Inn The food is terrific as they have a very good chef. Try the Sunday Cavery , very British and very good.. The downside is that the bar stays open until 12:30. if you get the room above the bar you get to listen to every conversation shouted over the Shena Easton tunes until they shut it down. We spoke to another couple who had stayed at the HB and they had the same room , same problem.
Have lunch there but sleep elsewhere.

Room Tip: even if they tell you 'it won t be a problem" which they told me. don't stay in the roo...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sid473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for your review. We're sorry you seemed to have issues with noise. We have recently added more sound proofing to the floors and ceilings to try to eliminate this rare problem. We do also offer a room outside of the pub, Bindaree, a superking ensuite. We are however very pleased you enjoyed the food and the atmosphere we provide and hope that we can welcome you back in the future. Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stopped one Saturday night on the way home from Cheltenham. The Hollow Bottom is a very nice Cotswold pub/inn, and the rooms are well maintained and decorated. Even having the one room that has a separate bathroom across the hallway was no real inconvenience - all the other rooms that have ensuites were booked that night.

The pub itself has a great selection of real ales to try - always a bonus when so many places just serve the Green King IPA/etc.

The restaurant is also well run and appears to be well used by locals and passing visitor alike. The food on offer in the evening and at breakfast is really good quality and value for money.

As another reviewer has highlighted, the only real downside is that certain regulars feel the need to punctuate their discussions with "select" obscenities in very loud voices (maybe we were in the bar on the wrong night). I'm a regular in different pubs in the West Midlands, but the language was certainly "choice" in the Hollow Bottom.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Round_t_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and that your room and your choice of food was a good standard. We're glad you found us to be value for money and feel that the restaurant is run well. We apologise for some of the language used on this particular night, unfortunately in a pub atmosphere this does happen occasionally, but we are trying to knuckle down on this. We hope we will welcome you back in the near future. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

As an American expat to beautiful Britain, I've always been enamored with the Cotswolds. What a beautiful area and beautiful, adventurous drive. The boyfriend and I drove from Leamington Spa on a crisp, but sunny, Sunday mid-morning. We had no plans in mind, but just happened to see road signs for the Hollow Bottom! Curiousity got the best of us, and we decided to venture to the pub for Sunday roast. Best decision ever! The pub is a bit of a ways down, but is wonderfully authentic and absolutely charming. I enjoyed hearing the locals talk about their horses and life in the village!

We sat outside and had a lovely hostess check up on us a few times on our food, and offer desserts. For a pub, I was surprised by this. I had the vegetarian nut roast (delicious!) and the boyfriend had the traditional roast, we had no complaints about anything. Beer was tasty, too. We had a wonderful experience (even just walking around the village afterwards too) and we'll be sure to stop back here when we venture into the Cotswolds again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dallendria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We're glad curiosity got the better of you, after all you'll never find another pub called the Hollow Bottom!! We're glad you enjoyed your Sunday Carvery and the Nut Roast too. Isn't Guiting Power beautiful? We hope to welcome you back very soon. Thank you for your kind words. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night as were going for wedding locally. The staff were so kind, welcoming and helpful from the moment they arrived. They let us check in early and even made sure some of the items we left behind in the room made their way to us. We stayed in the Binderee room outside the pub. We had a lovely large comfortable bed and a massive room. It was all tastefully decorated and well kitted out. The breakfast was very tasty too!

Room Tip: We stay in the Bindaree room. It was large and well furnished and quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coverack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Excellent news that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for such positive comments. We hope to welcome you back soon. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We love Cotswold hotels and the reviews here prompted us to book. One of our party was unable to make it due to illness but the Hollow Bottom didn't blink an eye and amended our booking without any hassle. The welcome was good, the food very nice. Most Cotswold villages lost their "local" as they were turned into residential property but it's nice to see some of these old character places alive and well simply through good customer service. The only downside it the place is used by local regulars who felt it appropriate to punctuate every sentence with an obscenity in very loud voices. It was slightly off putting to try to enjoy a pre dinner drink with the children in the bar to the background of the "f" word every 5 seconds. It was like the place was run by Gordon Ramsey. Not the owners fault and only a slight mark on an otherwise lovely stay.

Room Tip: Front rooms on rural road with single glazing, so choose a room at the back if you are a light sleep...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SphereHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thank you for a fair and honest review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your every need. Customer service is something we believe we are good at and so glad that you agree. Apologies for some of the language you experienced during your stay from one or two of our locals, unfortunately this does still happen in the pub environment but we are working hard to try to reduce this in the future. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

USA's Equestrian Team spent 6 weeks in the Cotswold in preparation for the London Olympics. The staff at the Hollow welcomed us with open arms and provided service with a smile the entire time.

On many occasions, we came with a large dinner party and no reservations, but they always managed to 'sort something out'.

The locals embraced us, and fast friends were made. They are proud of their horses which makes USA's Equestrian team happy too.

Good pub grub and beer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slipperNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

We absolutely loved having the USA Equestrian team here at The Hollow Bottom and wish you all the best of luck for the Olympics. We'd love to welcome you back anytime. Thank you for leaving a lovely review. Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guiting Power
4.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,247 reviews
8.7 mi away
No 38 The Park
No 38 The Park
#5 of 23 in Cheltenham
231 reviews
8.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
636 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
562 reviews
9.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Guiting Power
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guiting Power
Price Range: $75 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollow Bottom is a beautiful, traditional 17th Century Inn. Recently refurbished to blend the rustic with the contemporary. We have 4 letting rooms, 3 above the bar area and 1 outside near the rear garden. The Hollow Bottom is a bustling, busy country pub and restaurant and therefore noise can be heard in all the bedrooms on occasions despite the heavy acoustic underlay. It is a great place to visit for a unique atmosphere in the most beautiful village in the world. Come and see for yourselves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
The Hollow Bottom Guiting Power, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing