We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic English Pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hollow Bottom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic English Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

My wife and I, visiting from America, were hoping to find an authentic English pub for lunch. Nothing touristy. The folks at the Winchcombe visitors museum said The Hollow Bottom would be perfect for us. And it certainly was! The Ploughman's Lunch and jacket potato were quite the authentic experience. Excellent food, great service, and of course, as authentic of an atmosphere as you'll find in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TKOPP1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank You! We are so delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you back again from USA. Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    46
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
28
133
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

The place was 10/10 from the minute we arrived to when we left. All of the staff need to be commended on their efficiency and were really helpful and friendly. The fact that the pub was 'dog friendly' really helped us. Fantastic food!!! Good choice of drinks, and lovely walks..... will be back very soon. thank you!!

Room Tip: we stayed in the bindaree room, dog friendly!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wharton3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you very much for a lovely review. 10 from 10 is what we strive for and we are so glad you had such a good time with us. Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

To start with the bar is fantastic, the staff make you feel welcome and at home immediately. It was a joy to sample all 3 well kept ales that were on offer. My wife opted for Pimms and savored every sip.
We were in the Restaurant on a very busy Saturday night. The staff were incredibly friendly and efficient and the food fantastic and delivered in good time. Although busy we were not rushed and the service was impeccable. For my main I had Venison and it was perfectly cooked and presented, my wife had calves liver that again was cooked to perfection. On the wine list we found an inexpensive Malbec to accompany our main course that was superb for the price.
Our room for the night was Earth Summit. Plain decor lots of space and most importantly a very comfortable bed. The shower in the en suite was big enough for two and had one of those huge shower heads delivering gallons of refreshing water. There were little touches in the room I liked, for instance fresh coffee and a cafetiere as opposed to nestle sachets you tend to find in your hotel room.
The breakfast in the morning did not disappoint and kept me well fueled well past lunch time.
The Hollow Bottom was busy the night we stayed, so for the staff to create the right ambiance and give each individual customer so much attention is a real achievement. Guilting Power is a beautiful village in a stunning area and the Hollow Bottom is truly a very special place to stay. The Hollow Bottom is a delight in every way.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorgeousals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thanks Guys for such a fantastic review. Your experience is exactly what we strive to achieve for all who visit us. We are delighted that you had such a good time and look forward to welcoming you back when you can get away again! Many thanks, Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We are just back from two nights at the Hollow Bottom, chosen following reading reviews here, and we weren't disappointed - having noted one reviewer who thought it was noisy, well, it is a popular pub, but quietens down later in the evening and really not a problem for us.

We were in the Grange Brake room, which has a separate, private bathroom over the corridor and is huge. Privacy isn't a problem given the complementary fluffy robes. The room is spacious, very clean and with a whole host of nice little extras, like fruit in the room. We ate there the first night and the standard of food was very good - and really enjoyed sitting up and having a chat with the staff and watching a bit of Glastonbury coverage in the bar! The breakfasts are enormous and just what you need before a long day's walk or exploring the nearby Cotswold villages. All in all a lovely stay, we'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
A lovely review thank you very much. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves and the Staff also enjoyed watching Glastonbury with you! See you soon we hope, Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

If you like good company, excellent food and luxury characterfull accommodation, super staff and owners who go out of their way to make your stay memorable for all the right reasons you will love the Hollow Bottom.
In a part of England which is all but lost but near to many attractions of the Cotswolds including the Farm Park a couple of miles away. If you love racing so much the better as this is a complete racing enthusiasts dream of a pub. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Earth Summit is a large room beautifully decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angela129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Looking forward to seeing you back here soon, Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

We have had lunch recently on a Monday and the the food and sevice were very good prompting us to book with friends for a Sunday lunch.We all enjoyed the cavery and the service was very good again.It was excellent value for money. If you wanted to find fault it was the price of the wines. There could have been a 'house wine' at a more reasonable price.Never theless we will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMD16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We are delighted that you came back which is always the acid test. On our house wines at £14 we feel that although we could source cheaper it would affect the quality that we strive to maintain. Next time you are in I will give you a wee glass on the house! Thanks again, Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We stay at this marvellous pub 4-5 times a year.
Every time is better than the last. The rooms have had a make over which makes it even more homely.
We recently celebrated our 23rd Wedding Anniversary, and yes we spent it at the Hollow Bottom, a fantastic place to stay what ever the occasion.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart1557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thanks Guys for a great review and we are delighted that you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms. Happy Anniversary and hope to see you celebrate many more in the future, Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guiting Power
4.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
9.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
7.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
8.8 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#4 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
9.1 mi away
No 131
No 131
#6 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Property: The Hollow Bottom
Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Guiting Power
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guiting Power
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollow Bottom is a beautiful, traditional 17th Century Inn. Recently refurbished to blend the rustic with the contemporary. We have 4 letting rooms, 3 above the bar area and 1 outside near the rear garden. The Hollow Bottom is a bustling, busy country pub and restaurant and therefore noise can be heard in all the bedrooms on occasions despite the heavy acoustic underlay. It is a great place to visit for a unique atmosphere in the most beautiful village in the world. Come and see for yourselves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
The Hollow Bottom Guiting Power, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing