We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Hollow Bottom
Nearby Hotels
Guiting Guest House(Guiting Power)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
164
53
23
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
53
23
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bathroomhollow bottomracing memorabiliadog friendly pubvenisonlovely pubgreat beercotswold villagecompliments to the chefshower heada lovely staystayed for nightsfull englishwarm welcomecomfortable roomhughmuck
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 251 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2011

only popped in today on our way home, followed the signs from the main A road, did wonder at one point if we had missed tha pub as it seemed to go on & on It really is in the middle of nowhere.....but boy was it worth it when we go there. Everyone was so friendly the atmosphere was relaxed and the food was great. Would like to go back and stay for a few days on the future. Great place

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2707jonesy2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Thanks so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope to see you for a few nights sometime soon! Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We were looking for that increasinngly rare animal, a traditional English Inn with good food, beer, accomodation and staff. We found it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMeilack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2011

Many, many thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had such a great experience. Hope to see you again soon, Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

After a period of worry and illness, we needed a quiet couple of days away, and settled on Guiting Power because I knew it to be way off the beaten track. In the Special Requests section of the online booking form, I wrote ‘quiet rooms please’.

It has to be stressed that, in most respects, the Hollow Bottom is excellent. It is an attractive old pub in a beautiful village, the rooms are comfortable and well equipped, and the food is very good. On the night we stayed there, however, it was decidedly not quiet. We arrived at 6 pm, and a noisy celebration was in full swing. We expressed some concern to the receptionist when we saw the rooms, and were told that things would quieten down after 9. After 9, however, it was worse: music was being piped through a speaker screwed to the bar ceiling, immediately beneath the floor of one of our rooms. An enquiry at the bar elicited the assurance that the music would be turned off at about 10. At 10.30, with the music still going strong, I spoke to the owner, and the truth at last appeared, red in tooth and claw. They had a licence until 12.30 am. If I elected to stay in a pub, what else did I expect? Well, I’d said what I expected on the booking form. If the establishment could not meet my needs, I should have been warned, and given the option to cancel. As it was, it was now too late to go anywhere else. We huddled in our rooms and, at 11.45, all was finally peaceful.

Of course, people who go to a pub have a right to be noisy and to listen to music; but, equally, people who pay £95 each for their bedrooms have a right to sleep, at times of their own choosing. Pubs doing expensive bed and breakfast often have rooms out at the back or in an annexe away from the bar, but the rooms we stayed in are directly above the bar, with their windows immediately overlooking the outside tables. Far greater soundproofing is necessary if the rights of both bar customers and room guests are to be served. That said, if you want to go to bed at midnight after a jolly night in the bar (and good meal in the restaurant), then the Hollow Bottom is the place for you. If you want peace and quiet, however, then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DH1Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Many thanks for a fair review of your stay and we do appreciate the positive comments you gave us. On this particular night we had held a party for a local Horse Trainer who was leaving after 18 years, the party was only arranged on the day & I agree tha it was noisy until 10.30pm when the music was turned off. You have highlighted a potential problem with staying above a pub as these nights do occasionaly happen although very rare. We have planning permission to build 3 quiet rooms seperate from the pub next year and we hope then to give a better choice to our guests. Thanks again, Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed at the Hollow Bottom for one night with our young children as a stop over on a weekend walk around the cotswolds.

The room was absolutely perfect. Clean and tidy with an extremely comfortable bed , just what was required after a long walk through the beautiful cotswolds countryside.

The food was absolutely faultless and the hearty breakfast provided in the morning was a great start to the days walk ahead. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The Hollow Bottom is on our list of places to return to sometime soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoonerspec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Many thanks for your review. We are so happy that you really enjoyed your stay with us, Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

First off we managed to get a great deal here for little money including breakfast, hence our stay. The cost of our double room for 2 with breakfast was cheaper than a taxi home. Look out for this locations best deals via their website. The restaurant is a real gem with proper food being served by caring staff who really want to impress you with their ability and knowledge of what people want on a leisure break. The rooms here are above the pub, so be prepared to put up with a bit of noise after hours, or indeed join in that noise and have a few extra beers after your meal. The rooms are nicley thought out, I will say they could do with a spring clean, but they are not dirty, just in need of a sweep round and a good Dyson. The welcome is excellent, the staff very happy to take time out to talk to you and overall this is the type of place most people I am sure would love to stay.

If you are looking for a cheap stay over with a great breakfast and willing to pay for a considrabely clever but well thought put menu ( approx £ 35 a head wit wine ) then get yourself along to the hollow bottom, a real gem in what is otherwise an expensive location in gloucestershire.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OiPunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Many thanks for your review. We are so happy that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We have also upgraded the rooms since you have stayed and hope you will see a huge difference when you return, Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews