We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional English hospitality”
Review of The Hollow Bottom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We were looking for that increasinngly rare animal, a traditional English Inn with good food, beer, accomodation and staff. We found it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMeilack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2011

Many, many thanks for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you had such a great experience. Hope to see you again soon, Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 235 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2011

After a period of worry and illness, we needed a quiet couple of days away, and settled on Guiting Power because I knew it to be way off the beaten track. In the Special Requests section of the online booking form, I wrote ‘quiet rooms please’.

It has to be stressed that, in most respects, the Hollow Bottom is excellent. It is an attractive old pub in a beautiful village, the rooms are comfortable and well equipped, and the food is very good. On the night we stayed there, however, it was decidedly not quiet. We arrived at 6 pm, and a noisy celebration was in full swing. We expressed some concern to the receptionist when we saw the rooms, and were told that things would quieten down after 9. After 9, however, it was worse: music was being piped through a speaker screwed to the bar ceiling, immediately beneath the floor of one of our rooms. An enquiry at the bar elicited the assurance that the music would be turned off at about 10. At 10.30, with the music still going strong, I spoke to the owner, and the truth at last appeared, red in tooth and claw. They had a licence until 12.30 am. If I elected to stay in a pub, what else did I expect? Well, I’d said what I expected on the booking form. If the establishment could not meet my needs, I should have been warned, and given the option to cancel. As it was, it was now too late to go anywhere else. We huddled in our rooms and, at 11.45, all was finally peaceful.

Of course, people who go to a pub have a right to be noisy and to listen to music; but, equally, people who pay £95 each for their bedrooms have a right to sleep, at times of their own choosing. Pubs doing expensive bed and breakfast often have rooms out at the back or in an annexe away from the bar, but the rooms we stayed in are directly above the bar, with their windows immediately overlooking the outside tables. Far greater soundproofing is necessary if the rights of both bar customers and room guests are to be served. That said, if you want to go to bed at midnight after a jolly night in the bar (and good meal in the restaurant), then the Hollow Bottom is the place for you. If you want peace and quiet, however, then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DH1Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Many thanks for a fair review of your stay and we do appreciate the positive comments you gave us. On this particular night we had held a party for a local Horse Trainer who was leaving after 18 years, the party was only arranged on the day & I agree tha it was noisy until 10.30pm when the music was turned off. You have highlighted a potential problem with staying above a pub as these nights do occasionaly happen although very rare. We have planning permission to build 3 quiet rooms seperate from the pub next year and we hope then to give a better choice to our guests. Thanks again, Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed at the Hollow Bottom for one night with our young children as a stop over on a weekend walk around the cotswolds.

The room was absolutely perfect. Clean and tidy with an extremely comfortable bed , just what was required after a long walk through the beautiful cotswolds countryside.

The food was absolutely faultless and the hearty breakfast provided in the morning was a great start to the days walk ahead. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The Hollow Bottom is on our list of places to return to sometime soon.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spoonerspec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Many thanks for your review. We are so happy that you really enjoyed your stay with us, Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

First off we managed to get a great deal here for little money including breakfast, hence our stay. The cost of our double room for 2 with breakfast was cheaper than a taxi home. Look out for this locations best deals via their website. The restaurant is a real gem with proper food being served by caring staff who really want to impress you with their ability and knowledge of what people want on a leisure break. The rooms here are above the pub, so be prepared to put up with a bit of noise after hours, or indeed join in that noise and have a few extra beers after your meal. The rooms are nicley thought out, I will say they could do with a spring clean, but they are not dirty, just in need of a sweep round and a good Dyson. The welcome is excellent, the staff very happy to take time out to talk to you and overall this is the type of place most people I am sure would love to stay.

If you are looking for a cheap stay over with a great breakfast and willing to pay for a considrabely clever but well thought put menu ( approx £ 35 a head wit wine ) then get yourself along to the hollow bottom, a real gem in what is otherwise an expensive location in gloucestershire.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OiPunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Many thanks for your review. We are so happy that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We have also upgraded the rooms since you have stayed and hope you will see a huge difference when you return, Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Arrived Jan 6th having booked via a phone call after reading the Good Pub guide as we travelled from Edinburgh to Fowey, Cornwall..
Lovely pub which would particularly appeal to lovers of horse racing. We aren't but the huge menu and great beer more than made up for that. The friendly staff (Scottish?) advised us well on the best choices and we weren't disappointed. The room was fine but the comments in other TripAdvisor reports about too many dust-gathering toys and poor showers were proven to be true. However it didn't stop us having a nice night there and being happy to return. A fine English breakfast and a walk around the village gave us a good start onwards for our journey.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missabotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

Thank you very much for your feedback & we are happy that you had a good experience with us.
Our rooms are being renovated this month and will be completed by March2011. We agree on the showers which are all being replaced with rather smart & stylish new ones along with a total revamp of the style of our rooms to give a cleaner more spacious feel with a touch of luxury. I am sure you will see a great difference on your return. Hugh, Charlie & all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Spent 5 days at the Hollow Bottom, last week in January. The Hotel is warm and friendly. A special mention for Hugh the owner who made our stay very special. The staff are all great and very polite, Amanda who we dealt with us most of the time went out of her way to be helpful. We will definitely return. It is hard to describe what makes the place so good, but I guess that is their secret.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bingopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Many thanks for your review. We are so happy that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our rooms have now been upgraded and we are very proud of them so hopefully you will enjoy even more on your return, Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

A rustic and bustling pub with well equipped rooms for your stay! The service was brilliant and the staff were very attentive! The evening meal and breakfast was very tasty! There was a large range of food which was of good value. Perfect for a romantic getaway, really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarneyDenzelMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HughCharlie, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Many thanks for your review. We are so happy that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Our rooms have now been upgraded and we are very proud of them so hopefully you will enjoy even more on your return, Hugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guiting Power
9.2 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham - MGallery by Sofitel
7.4 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,386 reviews
7 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cleeve Hill
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#6 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,052 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guiting Guest House
Guiting Guest House
#2 of 3 in Guiting Power
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollow Bottom

Address: Winchcombe Road, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Guiting Power
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guiting Power
Price Range: $75 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollow Bottom 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hollow Bottom is a beautiful, traditional 17th Century Inn. Recently refurbished to blend the rustic with the contemporary. We have 4 letting rooms, 3 above the bar area and 1 outside near the rear garden. The Hollow Bottom is a bustling, busy country pub and restaurant and therefore noise can be heard in all the bedrooms on occasions despite the heavy acoustic underlay. It is a great place to visit for a unique atmosphere in the most beautiful village in the world. Come and see for yourselves! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hollow Bottom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollow Bottom Hotel Guiting Power
The Hollow Bottom Guiting Power, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing