We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hospitality”
Review of The Hollow Bottom

The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Award winning freshly cooked a la carte Menu. Well kept Real Ales. Substantial Wine list. Warm & friendly Service. Relaxed Dining. Log Fire. Stunning outdoor heated area.
Coleraine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb hospitality”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We are just back from a weekend in Guiting Power and though we didn't stay there (it was booked out) had most of our meals in the Hollow Bottom. I can quite honestly say it is the best food I have had for a long time. My daughter loved her mushroom lasagne and my husband's fish and chips were excellent. Their breakfast was out of this world! The hospitality we received from the Hollow Bottom made it a truly memorable weekend for us and I can't wait to go back to sample the superb food. The bar and waitress staff were bubbly and friendly and really fussed over the 5 year old we had with us especially Charlie the head chef who gave him special treatment! Thank you all for a memorable few days.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review we're glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and that it will be truly memorable to you. We hope to welcome you all back in the very near future. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    67
    35
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We visited the HB yesterday, lovely roaring fire and nice atmosphere. As a drinking pub this is a great spot. However, we really were disappointed by the poorest dish of fish and chips ever, and a lackluster jacket potato meal.
Our fish (what small amount there was once we chincked our way past the batter) was dry and tasteless. The tartare sauce was watery and poor, and the peas were silly petit pois, rather than good size garden peas.
The chips were good. Over a really poor lunch. Staff were friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo2513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the roaring fire and the atmosphere. I do however wholly disagree with your review of our fish and chips. I have personally had the fish and chips on 5 occasions in the last 14 days and they have been consistently brilliant. Perhaps the best in the UK. Looking at your previous reviews it seems you are a hard person to please, maybe going out is just not your thing! Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish this could be our Local!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I , plus two friends and three dogs popped into the pub for a drink after our walk. We were all welcomed with enthusiasm and the dogs provided with a drink by the log fire. The staff were extremely friendly and the setting was so interesting with all the racing memorabilia, so we decided to go back for a meal in the evening. We were later greeted as though regulars and we enjoyed a convivial evening with delicious food, beautifully cooked and presented at a very reasonable price. The dogs also received plenty of attention. Wish we had found the pub earlier in the week and that it could be our own local. Will definitely return if ever in the area again and would recommend to everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KKBKandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
The staff have assured me they enjoyed having you here at The Hollow Bottom and loved all of the dogs. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It's lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to one day welcoming you back. Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great experience.”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Good food, good wine, good selection of real ales, excellent and friendly service.
A great atmosphere, character establishment - all in all - a good all round and very pleasant experience.
We will return!
Bob & Maggie.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you so much. We really do appreciate it. We look forward to your return. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, Great Evening”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We took the option to be collected and taken home by the mini bus. What a good idea. Of course meant we were all able to partake of the lovely cider on tap! The food was delicious, nicely prepared and presented. Staff friendly and courteous, and attentive to your needs. Option to eat inside or out if preferred.
Fabulous, will definitely visit again, perhaps next time when they have their huge log fire burning!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and a 5 star rating.....The fire is lit, and lovely and warm, and the pub is even more cosy than normal!! Come and see us soon! Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hollow Bottom also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing