We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Hollow Bottom

The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Award winning freshly cooked a la carte Menu. Well kept Real Ales. Substantial Wine list. Warm & friendly Service. Relaxed Dining. Log Fire. Stunning outdoor heated area.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Having travelled over 30 miles on a treat for elderly sister, beautiful village and area but have to say disappointed with 'The Hollow Bottom'. I'm afraid for us did not 'Walk. Staff behind bar/reception not the most attentive. Publicised chef must have been away, as food presentation very average. Sorry, but just not appertising. Wild mushroom lasagne overpriced for content. Gammon not brilliant, chips very soggy and egg overdone. Put off ordering dessert, though appeared of the bought in variety, sticky toffee pudding, cre'me boul'ee etc. Continually, had to make first contact with service for attention.
I would agree with earlier comment that dinning area could do with a lick of paint.
I understand and fully appreciate horse racing theme and local links etc. I do however feel that 'less is more' and just perhaps a cull of the less important or repeated artefacts would strike a better balance as a little claustrophobic.Especially as staff adorned in racing memorabilia as well.
Felt a little inavaded by activitities in kitchen, probably need to cover window area of access from dinning room.
I'm afraid if 'strutting' as top food pub in Cotswolds then need to visit Horse & Groom in Bourton on the Hill to see they are 10 lengths clear.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JHG192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 373 of 428 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We drove past and dropped in on a whim for lunch (and because there was a sign post advertising it). The staff were friendly and the food was OK for the price. However, the garden needs to be tidied up. It looks very tired - e.g the trellis frames were bare and the old pub sign was just left against the wall. Very rough round the edges. No doubt, there will be some thought put into this later. It looked nice enough inside but I'm not a fan of TVs in pubs.

Thank PRSmcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and thanks for dropping in. We're glad you found the staff to be friendly. We are currently undergoing a gradual re-vamp, starting with the inside. We hope you'll return next year and see the huge difference. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This pub is set in a great location in the heart of the countryside with a beautiful setting. The inside is also reasonably traditional (although the restaurant bit was a little bland). The food was standard for what you expect from a pub - fish and chips, scampi, jacket potatoes etc, but the staff were really friendly and they clearly have a nice group of locals who regularly frequent.
Go for the setting not for a gourmet pub meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MLRjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for the review. We value your opinion but would like to point out we also have a daily specials board too which would have been given to you by our "really friendly staff". These include a variety of dishes including local haunch of venison cooked in a red wine and shallot jus, tiger prawns in a chilli and garlic butter and fresh smoked haddock in a creamy cheese and chive sauce. We agree that we are very lucky to have such a great location though and we're glad you enjoyed it too. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great evening had at the Hollow Bottom Pub, food was lovely and the staff were friendly.
Set in the rural and beautiful village of Guiting Power. Perfect for walkers and children are well looked after. I would definitely go again and would recommend it to friends/family.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your 5 stars. It really is appreciated and we hope you will return soon. Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Or we would not have stumbled across this place, food was lovely, fair prices, friendly staff, liked the little Irish one with the brown hair, very pretty, will def be back, worth a visit.hpe my soon to be wife does not see this, will def bring her, she will love it.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for a brilliant review. Bring the wife soon!! Hugh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hollow Bottom also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing