We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hollow Bottom

The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award winning freshly cooked a la carte Menu. Well kept Real Ales. Substantial Wine list. Warm & friendly Service. Relaxed Dining. Log Fire. Stunning outdoor heated area.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is such a fabulous friendly pub that I just cant stay away! Im always assured a warm welcome from the staff and owners who I now consider to be friends, and the food is always good. I love the atmosphere in this pub and the ambience of the restaurant, which is why I keep coming back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adventadvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for another wonderful review. You are always welcome here and we are delighted that you appreciate The Hollow Bottom as much as we value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    63
    34
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Went here whilst in the area staying. Our accommodation was not friendly so when we walked into this lovely pub we appreciated the welcome. Very friendly & interesting memorabilia.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tigga47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. we are delighted that you found the welcome so friendly, which is what we strive to achieve for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Meal with a View”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Hollow Bottom is a delightful pub in the quaint Cotswold village of Guiting Power. The pub is located in one of the most picturesque and peaceful places in the area. The food was great, but the meal was only part of a special visit. Highly recommend to anyone in the area (or nearby).

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betsy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review, We are delighted to have contributed so positively to your visiting The Cotswold's. The area is indeed outstanding and we will always endevour to compliment that here at The Hollow Bottom. Haste ye back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dinner in the pub restaurant”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Three of us had an excellent dinner here after a long day of hiking in this beautiful area of the Cotswolds. The lamb steaks were especially good and the sticky toffee pudding was fabulous. The dining room is nicely appointed and the service friendly and efficient.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for such a fantastic and Genuine review. It is lovely when people take the time to leave such positive comments which we feel reflect the true character of The Hollow Bottom. You chose well with the Lamb & Sticky Toffee, What a combination! We look forward to welcoming you again very soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tucked Away”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hollow Bottom is a rambling, very English country pub, tucked away in the pretty Cotswold village of Guiting Power. It is a horse-racing themed establishment with close connections to the Cheltenham racing fraternity as evidenced by the plethora of racing memorabilia. We've been on a number of occasions, but this time, though the helpings remained generous, the quality of the food seemed to have slipped a little. Slightly rubbery garlic prawns and variably-sized sirloins only some of which were cooked exactly as requested. It was still very good mind, and not deserving of complaint, but not quite in line with the premium prices asked. However, the place remains warm and welcoming and we'll be giving it another chance soon, making use of their very convenient mini-bus service from Cheltenham - which allows for relaxing dining without fear of being stopped by the boys in blue on the way home.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit despite a couple of minor issues which I am sure if we had known we could have corrected at the time. Delighted though that you gave us 4 Stars and we look forward to seeing you back again soon. The Minibus is available all year round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hollow Bottom also viewed

Kineton, Cheltenham
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing