We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub, hidden away in glorious Cotswold countryside”
Review of The Hollow Bottom

The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Award winning freshly cooked a la carte Menu. Well kept Real Ales. Substantial Wine list. Warm & friendly Service. Relaxed Dining. Log Fire. Stunning outdoor heated area.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great pub, hidden away in glorious Cotswold countryside”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Hollow Bottom, in Guiting Power, is situated in the west Cotswolds, halfway between Winchcombe and Lower Slaughter. A famous pub, with many links to racing and the Cheltenham Races - lots of racing memorabilia adorn the walls. The countryside it is nestled in is very beautiful, classic Cotswolds, picturebook stuff, and a nice drive to get there.
Pub iself is small, old and very efficiently and cheerily run. Parking is on the street, but is plentiful (not a lot of traffic!). We went there for Sunday lunch, which consisted of a la carte starters and deserts and a great carvery, serving, beef, pork and lamb (I think), cut for you by the chef. It was piping hot, fresh and nicely cooked. Portions were extremely generous, to say the least! Place was full, lots of kids, crayons, couples, groups. Good atmosphere. We thought it was very pleasant meal, and not expensive for the quality of the food, ambience and service.

Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It is lovely when people take the time to leave such positive comments which we feel reflect the true character of The Hollow Bottom. We look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    67
    35
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bucks
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“PERFECT COTSWOLDS PUB”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We needed to find a convenient halfway point between our house on the Bucks/Oxon border and my sister in Cheltenham to meet for lunch. Well, my sister (whose suggestion this was) won on distance but we reckoned the extra 50-odd miles for us were well worth it. What a delightful place! - lots of atmosphere and superb food - more comfort than gastro, but all the better for it. And the portions - I had a venison pie and it was more than enough for two. Puds were equally generous and a very reasonably-priced Pinot Grigio rounded things off.
We shall return...

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoffbucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for a lovely review and for giving us 5 stars. It's lovely to hear that even though you travelled further than your sister you still found it to be worth your while and would return. We agree that our portions are huge and that The Hollow Bottom is delightful!! We look forward to welcoming you back. Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointingly Ordinary Food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We visited after Cheltenham race meeting and ate in a marquee behind the pub. The service was very slow and disinterested with no-one obviously in charge. Starter of prawns in garlic was pleasant if underwhelming. The main of pheasant breast was served in a mahogany coloured thick gloopy sauce which was quite unpleasant.
The pub itself is quaint with low ceilings and log fire. The music was far too loud though and the range of beers disappointing, focused on big brands rather than the ever increasing numbers of good local beers from micro-breweries.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJBDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I have had a look at our bookings from race week and cannot find a booking in your name, we try our very hardest to make sure all of our bookings are seated in the restaurant, some people book 6 months in advance to make sure they have a table. Obviously this is a very busy time for us, The Hollow Bottom is the most famous horse racing pub in the country and we are overwhelmed with the amount of people that want to come and visit. We do our upmost to make sure everybody is happy. Sometimes during this week the service can be slower than normal but we have been inundated with compliments on our service and the way in which our staff handled having an additional 120 people wishing to dine with us each night. The tiger prawns in a chilli and garlic butter are one of our best-selling dishes with people raving about them, we are sorry they were not to your taste. The pheasant was actually a sell out during the week and we had many compliments about it, again, we are sorry that you disagreed. We hope that this experience will not put you off returning to The Hollow Bottom and hope that we can welcome you back in the future when there is no racing at Cheltenham, we have our full menu, and our service can be as most others find it- Superb!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wild place after a Twister winner !”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Didn't stay here but went last Wednesday night (the day The New One won the Neptune for Nigel Twiston Davies) for drinks and dinner witrh friends.

The bar is small and crowded, manouvering your way towards the bar and back again is an art -form and to be fair the regulars are pretty good a recognising novices and pushing people in the right direction - all friendly stuff.

The place was wild, just madness, but I was meeting friends and had a table booked so became slightly concerned when all tables were full and so sign of anyone moving and whilst the bar area was fun it wasn't a place to catch up/talk with friends.

When we eventually grabbed a table the service was good, the food was also surprisingly good, fairly basic menu with limited options but it was well cooked and promptly served.

If staying here I'd imagine it being a perfect idylic spot for an away-from-it-all break when the bar and restaurant are likely to be alot calmer than they are during Gold Cup week - so if you're not racing fans then choose your visit accordingly, as for us I think we had the best of both worlds....

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK2NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the best of both worlds! Yes it is pretty hectic during Gold Cup week but we are the most famous horse racing pub in the country and it’s so nice to see that so many people still want to visit us. We do limit our menu for this week only so as to ensure we are able to cope with the volume of people dining and help keep our standards of service high. This also enables us to give you prompt service too. We're glad this seemed to be the case in your experience. Thank you for coming to visit. Maybe on your return you will visit when there is no racing at Cheltenham and experience The Hollow Bottom in its true glory? Or if it's the hustle and bustle you enjoy, we hope to welcome you back during another Cheltenham race meeting. Hugh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive food and not exactly anything out of the ordinary :(”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

What a name and what a location! Loved the pub in sleepy Cotswold village idea. It lived up to it too as it was a quiet mid week lunch on the spur of the moment.
We ordered a round of two soft drinks and half a cider. Settled down by the window and enjoyed the peace and quiet. We then got the menu and browsed through, quickly deciding that the main courses were way out of our league. We are a mid thirties aged couple with young children.... this is not the place to come if you even have to think about a budget in your lifestyle :(
My friend and I had a prawn baguette and my husband had a ham one. Must say, nice side salad! But the baguette was like the ones I buy in the local supermarket and toss in the oven for 5 minutes and the prawn filling wasn't very tasty at all, at almost £10 per person I was expecting fresh tasty prawns not defrosted flavourless ones :( My husband enjoyed his ham and said it was tasty though.
So almost £40 lighter and feeling rather disappointed we left, thinking that we could have added another £10 and had a decent meal and dessert elsewhere.
The 'ambiance' doesn't warrant the prices I am afraid!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hollow Bottom also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing