We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Ambience and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hollow Bottom

The Hollow Bottom
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award winning freshly cooked a la carte Menu. Well kept Real Ales. Substantial Wine list. Warm & friendly Service. Relaxed Dining. Log Fire. Stunning outdoor heated area.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Ambience and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Lunch in the bar, good choice of interesting dishes, served by attentive staff. Many of the dishes were locally sourced and seasonal. Staff were happy to chat, log fire, serving mulled wine on a cold day. It will surely become one of our regular eating places.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank McGint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking to time to leave a review. It's lovely to hear you will dine with us more and we look forwrad to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    63
    35
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Group of friends watching racing and rugby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Fantastic afternoon spent with a group of friends one Saturday afternoon in cold February - eating, drinking and watching rugby. The atmosphere was great, crackling log fire and the minibus service on to Kineton Halfway House made the whole visit tremendous. Thank you the Hollow Bottom.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was lovely to have you. Hope to welcome you back again soon. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely food but pretty expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We'd heard good things about the food and took a trip out there on a Saturday evening. It's a bit in the middle of nowhere, 10 minutes off the Bourton on the Water/Andoversford road, but it's certainly a lovely and inviting pub. The main restaurant was fairly well populated and the host was very friendly as were his staff. We had a couple of things we would not normally have, liver and bacon and venison, and both were delicious and beautifully presented. Having said that, they should be good for the price of £17.95 each in my view! The main menu had nothing under £10, not even the omelette or burger, so you can see it's very pricey for a pub. Overall though, I guess you'd rather pay slightly over the odds for a good meal than pay less for an average or poor one. I believe they also run a free minibus service into Chelenham or Gloucester so I suppose you could save the cost of a taxi or even just petrol and use this saving towards your meals price! All in all a good evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving us 4 out of 5. We're glad you had the opportunity to try something new while visiting, and found them both to be delicious. We feel our prices reflect the quality of food we offer. Some places may buy in burgers for example. Our burgers are made from local mince delivered by hand from our local butcher and prepared on site by our top chefs, hence why they cost that little bit more. For this reason we do beleive that the food we offer is of top quality standard and the prices very reasonable for the quality and quantity provided. We hope based on your review you will return to try something new. Our mini bus is always available, just give us a call. We look forward to welcoming you back. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great carvery and coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Went in this restaurant with my walking group for coffee at the start of our walk today and had a carvery lunch in there afterwards. Food and service were both excellent and the choice of carvery food was good. Good selection of local meat available at the carvery (e.g. Stratford lamb and Witney pork).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sightseercumrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed having the whole walking group here and glad you enjoyed it too. We hope to see you again soon. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Well presented, plenty of choice, all fresh produce and sooo tasty! Service was really good, staff very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. We were only going to eat there for one night but it was so good we ended up going to the restaurant for both nights of our stay.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindaOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkisGood, Owner at The Hollow Bottom, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. We're glad we tempted you to eat for a second night. We hope to welcome you back again in the future. Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hollow Bottom also viewed

Kineton, Cheltenham
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Hollow Bottom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing