We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foxhill B&B….a hidden gem in the Cotswolds”
Review of Foxhill B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guiting Power
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Foxhill B&B
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We recently spent a fantastic week in the Cotswolds and a lot of the credit goes to our accommodations at the Foxhill B&B and our hostess Sue Guyatt. We stayed in the “Ostlers” room and it was very cozy, comfortable and clean, with thoughtful touches such as a fresh thermos of milk every day for our tea. Our mornings started with a big delicious breakfast that provided fuel for our hikes through the countryside or for town hopping by car. The breakfast room is a glass conservatory that overlooks a beautiful garden and beyond that, a horse field and stable. Our transport was a car, but guests arriving on the “four-legged” kind can stable their horses here too.

This charming B&B is located slightly away from the very touristy parts of the Cotswolds, while still being close enough for quick and easy access to the many towns and villages. Sue provided many good suggestions for places to visit and routes for day hikes such that we got a good appreciation of the beautiful Cotswolds region. Her personality is such that we were completely at ease with her from the moment we met. She made a lot of effort to ensure that we had everything we needed and provided it when necessary, including suntan lotion and packaging material / tape for our purchases. In fact, Sue even helped us wrap our purchases after sharing in our delight of our “lucky finds”.

We have stayed at a number of B&B’s during our travels over the years and have enjoyed most of them. However, the whole package at Foxhill, from the yummy breakfasts, quaint country style rooms and serene location, definitely puts it in the top 5 of our list. More importantly in our minds is the excellent service and generous interaction we received during our stay. Thus, we rank Foxhill among our top 2 B&B experiences. Don’t miss out on this little gem in the Cotswolds!

Jeff and Lori B

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff-LoriB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiffin06, Owner at Foxhill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thankyou so much for your lovely, positive comments. You were great company yourselves and I enjoyed not only having you stay at Foxhill but also the follow-up email once you were home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 40 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very warm welcome from Sue (which we were too stressed from a long drive to take advantage of.) Lovely setting in the Upper Windrush Valley. Beautiful outlook. Green and tranquil area. Wish we could have stayed longer and relaxed into it fully. Excellent breakfast choices

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margib96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiffin06, Owner at Foxhill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Thankyou for showing your appreciation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Foxhill, which is about a mile from Naunton village, as part of a walking weekend. The weather turned very miserable during the walk and we arrived at Foxhill as ‘drowned rats’ and Sue immediately took care of our very wet and muddy clothes and provided us with a welcome cup of tea in a cosy lounge off the conservatory.
The rooms are very comfortable and warm, and the breakfast was generous and served piping hot, just thing before we ventured out for day two of the walk. Stabling is also available for horses making Foxhill an ideal location for anyone on an extended riding holiday. We were very pleased to have found out about Foxhill and will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThompsonsCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiffin06, Owner at Foxhill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

You were indeed soaked and full marks for your dedication!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This delightful b and b was full when I tried to book, but Sue had room for Harvey, our horse which was our main concern!! He was stabled in a fabulous stable and everything was laid on for him and for us to park our horsebox on the yard. We were able to join the other guests for breakfast which was delicious - an excellent choice of cereals and home made fruit salad was enjoyed before the very tasty 'full English', accompanied by a very welcome cafetiere of proper coffee. Sue is an excellent hostess and we would have no hesitation in recommending Foxhills.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 64Anna_2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiffin06, Owner at Foxhill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thankyou for your appreciation and I do hope you will be back next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Lovely rooms,splendid breakfast selection and nice horse accommodation. We were within easy walking distance of two pubs and Sue, our charming hostess, had provided maps and talk throughs of several beautiful rides right on her doorstep. All other attractions were within a few miles of our B and B so National Trusting,shopping and cream teas were easy to obtain. A great place to take a holiday, Thankyou Sue.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendybrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiffin06, Owner at Foxhill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thankyou, you will all be very welcome here to continue exploring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Wonderful four days - our accommodation was perfect, and the horses seemed quite comfortable too! Great food and thoughtful host (ess) - we will have to return to do more riding, shopping and National Trusting ... not to mention the cream teas..... Thank you Sue!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank louise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiffin06, Owner at Foxhill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thankyou, I do hope to see you here again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

After walking on the Cotswold Way last year, I was determined to re-visit this area and spend time in the non touristy part of the Cotswolds. Naunton is a gem that isn't spoilt by hordes of tourist coaches and crowds looking for tea rooms! The area has stunning architecture and great walking paths criss crossing through it.

Foxhill was a perfect place to stay. The accommodation is separate from the main house and is comfortable and quiet. There was a lovely garden to sit in after a long day out. The owner Sue is lovely as well as helpful and will point you to great local pubs for dinner as well as some great walks and sights. We loved it and will return!

Room Tip: The rooms are separate from the main house which is good. The rooms are very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neptunetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiffin06, Owner at Foxhill B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Foxhill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhill B&B

Address: Old Stow Road | Naunton, Guiting Power, Cheltenham GL54 5RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Guiting Power
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Guiting Power
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Foxhill B&B Guiting Power, Gloucestershire, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing