We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cotswolds are lovely but!!!”
Review of The Old Stables

The Old Stables
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wickwar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Stables
Ranked #2 of 2 Wickwar B&B and Inns
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cotswolds are lovely but!!!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Breakfast served in the main house was very good and the dinning room was warm, which could not be said for bedrooms, cold and musty. A bathroom to share between 4 double rooms and a sorth of kitched to make tea in.
The lady of the house was charming, its just the place that let it all down, when we asked if we could have the heation turned on. " I think it comes on a 5!" no offer to thaw us out by putting it on, rooms damp and very tired.

Room Tip: If you want comfort over the location, don't stay here,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiker8869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in june 2011 ( date on this page wont let me put anything earlier the oct 2011)
and had a loveley time, would recommend it and stay again. The room was very clean and extreamly comfortable. the breakfast was well prepared and exactley what we asked for.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I stayed here with 2 colleagues whilst working a long term contract locally. As the only female of a group of 3, I wondered if the accomodation would provide for this, and was pleasently surprised to find the stable block offered communal living with a shared lounge and kitchen and the privacy of my own lockable room upstairs.
It meant we could live comfortably throughout the week, providing our own food and be able to cut expenses down, whilst being able to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and Ann's wondeerful breakfasts in the morning.
We were always consulted if we wanted/needed anything else and always made to feel welcomed.
If I am ever working over in South Gloucs, this is my first choice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LycanT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I stayed here recently with my family and would never return. We had booked a private block and then found out that a complete stranger was also with us, with shared facilities, with no lock on the bathroom (which was disgusting), a smoky room which was being used by our baby and children and a complete disregard for customer service by the owner. The room's windows were painted shut in 28 degree heat, there was no lock on my daughter's room (the stranger terrified her by staring at her when she was dressing and she was then too scared to sleep) and you could hear everything from the side and rooms below. Breakfast was fine. We then found out about other guests who had been told that they could not stay, only days before the event, when they had booked 6 months beforehand!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wickwar hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wickwar
3.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotton-under-Edge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.3 mi away
De Vere Tortworth Court
De Vere Tortworth Court
#1 of 1 in Tortworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Bristol North The Gables Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Buthay Inn
The Buthay Inn
#1 of 2 in Wickwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Old Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Stables

Property: The Old Stables
Address: 2 Sodbury Road, Wickwar GL12 8PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Wickwar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wickwar
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a secluded courtyard behind the High Street with easy access to M4 and M5, also busy market towns Chipping Sodbury, Wotton and Yate. The Old Stables offers business people a chance to work or relax in comfortable welcoming surroundings ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Stables Wickwar, Gloucestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing