We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of Sand Dune Safaris

Sand Dune Safaris
Ranked #4 of 10 things to do in Anna Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Sand Dune Safaris offers a number of Adventure Tours in one of their purpose built 4WD vehicles in beautiful Port Stephens. Tours are taken across the magnificent Stockton Sand Dunes (the largest moving sand dunes in the Southern Hemisphere), and are safe and informative. Discover the history and culture within this amazing ecosystem! Highlights include the Sygna Shipwreck, Tin City, and Sand Boarding. Fun for all ages! Sand Dune Safaris are fully licensed and accredited in accordance with the NSW Dept. of Tranposrt and are members of the Stockton Bight Dune Operators Association.
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Went there on a very hot day. We went early because of the heat. Just great service, buses every 5 minutes ( who cares if its not a hummer).
Ben on site was freindly and especially helpful to my 2 kids. He offered us water and when we wanted to leave it was a 5 minute wait. Sand Boarding is fun, the walk back up is tough each time. If complain about heat or sand hills you should have gone to the movies

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    10
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
sydney
1 review
“False Advertising”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I chose this tour over many other Sand Dune tours in Port Stephens because their website had shown that we would be driven in a 4x4 army hummer, but when when we got there, the tour guides had informed us that the hummer is broken and needing repairs- extremely disappointing.. I thought I'd give them the benefit of the doubt and proceed with this company, instead of jumping to another one. But little did I know, as their website had avertised that there will be shade and chairs provided at the sandboarding sight, this expectation would have quickly shattered. Honestly, don't advertise what you cannot deliver. I am extremely dissapointed by this company! The standard must have dropped rapidly after a few months..

The driver was good and informative, but that is the only thing that makes up for the lack of value for money for what I had intended to pay for. Don't go with this company if you only want bare mins for the money you pay for.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust112112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummer5972, Manager at Sand Dune Safaris, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Hi in response to our web site this line is direct from it ( Sand Dune Safaris offers a number of Adventure Tours in one of their purpose built Vehicles, HUMMER 4WD 13 passenger, Toyota Coaster 4WD 21 passenger or Toyota Landcruiser 4WD 7 passenger in beautiful Port Stephens. Tours are taken across the magnificent Stockton Sand Dunes)
Regarding Shade this was one of the very few times that it was not erected due to Wind and the forecast for that day was that the wind was to get stronger However the wind did drop around lunch time and Shade was erected. I would like to point out that none of the other Operators had Shade all day on the sand dunes you have no protection from the winds.
The Hummer all vehicles brake down at some time or another it will not matter how well they are maintained
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep away”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We used this tour because in the brochure is said it had shade and chairs at the sand boarding site, it didn't have either, it was 34 degrees centigrade and basically they take you to the site in a vehicle that is not got air con, dump you without shade, chairs and water, leave you to it, in 34 degree sunshine to overheat for approx 40 mins, my partner felt so sick from the heat after 2 attempts, she had to try and get to a competitors shaded area, when she was approx half way there, the vehicle turned up driving right past her without picking her up - in that heat, and we had our own water.
The company is a dangerous,

Helpful?
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummer5972, Manager at Sand Dune Safaris, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Hi Melissa first of all we would like to apologize on behalf of our company for any
inconvenience that you and your partner may have suffered in our defense I would like to point out that the Ticket that you had was booked with our local visitor info centre that had not informed us of the booking as the Hummer was all ready on Tour and would be returning untill 12.45 pm as your partner was informed when he phoned. The reason why you were so badly treated and the bus looked nothing like a Hummer was That you Got on The Wrong Bus that was one of our
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lot of fun”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

we went to anna bay to do some sandboarding in late september ! weather was perfect, a bit of wind and not too warm.

We arrived just went a bus was leaving for a bus so didn't wait at all.

Then we sandboarded for about an hour (yes, you have to climb the dunes back), mostly seated... i tried to stand but it wasn't very good!
it's very safe, even if you go with kids. People were very respectful and cautious.

Guy there was helpful to show how to practice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helene-BZH-OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Such a unique experience”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Caveat: It was ACT's school break but not NSW, so everything was much quieter than normal.

Except for getting this trip under way, it was awesome. My husband emailed the company for a booking but he never heard back from them. We showed up at 9:45, but they didn't not set up until about 9:55. Basically, we weren't sure if we would be going on this much-awaited experience or not. What's more, another company was already there and set up, so we contemplated going with them instead (since we didn't have to pre-pay for the booking). Note that this was all a minor inconvenience which is why I still give the excursion an excellent rating.

The loaded us (just our family...as I caveated, it was a quiet time) onto a bus that looks nothing like the 4x4 on the website. We drove over and around the dunes to get to the sandboarding location. Along the way, the bus went down what seemed to be an almost vertical sand bank. (I was gasping, my adventuresome son was yelling "yeah!") At the drop-off point, we were met by Ben who gave us a tutorial on boarding. He told us water was available and we could request the bus return for pickup at any time. We removed our shoes, picked boards, and were on our way.

Sitting at the top of the dune, it looks very steep. From the bottom of the dune looking up, it looks very steep. Sledding down, it doesn't seem that steep or scary at all. They claims they have everyone between ages 4 and 91 participate and I can believe it.

Another dune is reserved for those who wish to stand on their boards. It looked fun but we didn't attempt this. Ben was available to help if we had wanted that instruction.

This is a lot of fun and very unique. You must walk up the dune after sliding down. This is what will wear you out. There is no food available, but a tent is set up with chairs, so you can take a cooler or other stuff. Cameras are a good idea, but possibly not your first time down. Don't forget your sun cream, and sunglasses are helpful (to keep the sand out of your eyes if nothing else). A hat is ideal, provided it's quite fitted so it doesn't fly off. Also, don't forget to use the toilet prior to going as there are no facilities once you're at the dunes!

You WILL be sandy. You will be tired. You will get thirsty, possibly hungry. I'm not sure how first aid works, but I assume they have that covered.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mommaBear308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Dune Safaris also viewed

 
Anna Bay, Port Stephens
Port Stephens, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Sand Dune Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing