We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great lodge, brilliant owners”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Hideaway

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mudeford, Christchurch, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
I8091PAan...
Brill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lodge, brilliant owners”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Hideaway is a fantastic place for a short break or week or two away. We stayed for a long weekend as a stop over on the way back home from Devon. It's incredible value vs the pricey hotels in the area and much more convienient, especially for young families.

Ideally located a few metres from a lovely sandy beach with quay for crab fishing and a few nice pubs. Everything is in walking distance and a stroll along the beach and harbour is just as lovely in the autumn as it is in summer. The lodge is immediately opposite the children's playground (very convienient!) and right next to a large parking area, making access very easy.

It's incredibly well equipped with all the utensils, condiments etc you could ever need. There are games and toys for the kids and the offer of cots and high chairs if needed. The kids bedroom had tasteful kids decor and story books which was a really lovely touch for our three year old. Julia, the owner, adjusted one of the bedrooms to accommodate our travel cot too before we arrived which was much appreciated. Julia was very professional, responsive, and made us feel very welcome. Communication during the booking process, on arrival and after our stay (when we left some items behind!) was very good too. We've stayed in a lot of lodges both here and in other areas, but this one was by far the best equipped, stress free and welcoming as a young family.

Thank you. We will be back.

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Footprint...
1 review
“Excellent family holiday”
Reviewed November 3, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just returned from a half term family week at the Hideaway. The van was all that was promised, very clean, very well equipped, ideal for children. The site was very well maintained ,ideally sited with lots to interest all of the children ( aged 10 - 2 yrs). The on site 'cupboard shop' a good bonus.
Everything in the van was catered for, lots of cleaning products,a very well equipped kitchen, even a selection of toys. The beach was a stroll away and provided instant fun especially crab fishing on the quay (a daily activity for the older boys) nets and bucket provided.
The lack of wi fi inside the van was welcomed as evenings were spent playing family games . The provision of DVDs was also popular.
Would highly recommend the Hideaway and will certainly return.

Date of stay: October 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you had a good time and found our van clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hideaway.
Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsLGough
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Family Holiday at The Hideaway, Sandhills”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just returned from a fabulous family holiday at The Hideaway. The van was impeccably clean and well equipped for our week, including lots of kitchen equipment, toys, games & DVDs, night lights and blackout curtains in the children’s bedrooms, crabbing kit, and a BBQ (that we never found time to use!)
It was very quick and easy to book online and to pay the balance by telephone.
Julia always responded quickly to messages and provided plenty of useful information in advance of our trip. Having noted that our youngest is only 2 years old, Julia also offered use of her own buggy and bed guard during our stay.
We found the Sandhills site to be tidy, well managed and ideal for families with young children. Although we arrived late due to heavy traffic, the owner opened up the little kiosk/shop so that we could buy some bedtime milk for the children.
Being right next to the play park was so useful for using up some energy between activities and we also enjoyed using the swimming and paddling pools next to the clubhouse – all were kept clean and fresh with friendly staff always nearby.
Beach access was so easy and safe compared to other holidays. We spent many hours on Avon beach where there were clean toilets, a small shop with bakery and kiosks for fish & chips, ice-creams and hot drinks.
Sandhills was also an ideal base for exploring further, including Hengistbury Head (by ferry and land train), Christchurch, Bournemouth and Poole.
If we had to give one negative about our week, it would be that free Wi-Fi is currently only available at the clubhouse. Other than that, we fully recommend a week at The Hideaway.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
Thankyou for your lovely review so pleased you enjoyed your stay!
We will always try where possible to make everyone's stay as easy and relaxing as possible so you don't need to pack the kitchen sink!
Julia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing