We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maartens Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 12 Fresnaye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This property is a small guesthouse situated in the quiet residential Fresnaye suburb (above Sea Point). The rooms are well appointed, very clean and some have balconies and great views. Breakfast is provided and it is really good. The host, Maarten, is helpful and friendly, and the atmosphere is very welcoming. If you want a good, reasonably priced place to stay in Cape Town, Maartens Guesthouse is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - it is worth the small extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFan48105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 245 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a great time at Maartens guesthouse. The room was nice and the host Maarten helped us with tips about cape town and he was very hospitable! I would go there again! 3 nights was too short for Cape Town!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Maartens was a recommendation from a friend, and was excellent. Despite inclement CapeT weather our stay with Maarten & Philip was warm, friendly & incredibly homely. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent restaurant recommendations! Conveniently situated for all of CapeT's hot spots and beaches. Loved it and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I could stay for ever here.
Quiet neighborhoods, not far from the city center, rooms are well designed and decorated.
Maarten is the king of masters of hospitality.
I enjoyed my stay very much. The staff is very professional and efficient.
Bravo!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wojciech C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had a few lovely days again at Maarten's guesthouse. Always feels like coming home at Maarten & Philip. We got an upgrade as well so very happy. Even could store our luggage for 1 day when we were not in town. This place we can really recommend as it all meets the requirements of having a perfectgood stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikvanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Whenever we travel anywhere as a family, we're always very nervous about the type of accommodation we will find when we arrive. At Maartens Guesthouse we immediately felt at home, the rooms were spacious, comfortable, tasteful and way above our expectations.
Apart from the bedrooms, the lounge and dining room area is very spacious and comfortable and homely. We were made to feel at home immediately any any requests that we had were dealt with speedily and efficiently by the owners. It's not a matter of IF we will return to Maartens Guesthouse, it's a matter of WHEN.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ErnestD281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My room was bright, clean and comfortable with a stunning view. Maarten and Conchita together with their staff catered to all my needs with friendly homely professionalism. The only item I missed was full sports DSTV, but there are many sports bars/restaurants in the area so it was not a big problem! Thank you guys I hope to see you again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Adriaan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresnaye
0.5 mi away
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sundown Manor
Sundown Manor
#1 of 12 in Fresnaye
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clarendon Fresnaye
The Clarendon Fresnaye
#3 of 12 in Fresnaye
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grande Kloof Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Walden Suites
The Walden Suites
#5 of 12 in Fresnaye
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rhonda's Manor Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maartens Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maartens Guesthouse

Address: 39 Norman Avenue, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fresnaye
Price Range: $56 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maartens Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maartens guesthouse is situated in Cape Town in the luxurious residential area of Fresnaye. Fresnaye is located between Camps Bay and the city bowl, on the slopes of Lions Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Maartens Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maartens Guesthouse Fresnaye, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing