We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clarendon---a nice surprise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Clarendon Fresnaye
Ranked #2 of 12 Fresnaye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Clarendon---a nice surprise!!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Was not really sure what to expect when i arrived here as I was part of a group and this was to be our Cape Town lodging for three nights..

Much to my surprise the entire experience was excellent. As the name says, it is a boutique hotel, and therefore is more like a large house than a hotel...you will not find a spa on the premises or a large lobby or bar, as i said this is not a typical big city hotel...

but nonetheless, our room was very large with all the amenities...TV, internet, minibar and very comfortable bed and a small terrace overlooking the inner courtyard.
the location is excellent..a short walk to the beach boardwalk...a few minute taxi to the waterfront or table mountain.
Our hostess, Emmy, who runs the operation could not do enough for us to insure a pleasant stay...whether it was food and meal selection, tickets to a show or just general information she was ready with everything..and her staff from housekeeping to general maintenance always has a smile.

i would highly recommend the Clarendon for a very relaxing and stress free stay!!

Room Tip: if you cannot do stairs ask for one of the first floor rooms..i am not sure there is an elevator as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    44
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
54
137
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Clarendon for four nights in May. The staff was very friendly- very willing to help with recommendations or just chat about the day's happenings. From letting us borrow adapters, to calling cabs, and arranging takeout dinner, they were really amazing. The rooms were very clean and the cleaning help went above and beyond when we absent mindedly left our room scattered with clothes. The guest house is about 4 miles from the waterfront which was a very reasonable cab ride away or a nice walk along the beach walk. The surrounding neighborhood is very safe. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BunRab11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at The Clarendon on the last part of our South African honeymoon. The Clarendon can not be faulted on their customer service. The staff are very friendly and will do anything to help you.

Our room was pleasant, overlooking the gardens but the door was right by reception so it was quite noisy in the morning. However, it was very clean and comfortable.

Tea and cake were served by the pool in the afternoon, which was nice. Breakfast was also good - you could pick from the menu and it was cooked fresh.

The pool area was very clean and comfortable and the sun loungers always had fresh towels.

It was in a good location if you have a car - Camps Bay 10 min drive and Cape Town also a 10 min drive. There are not many restaurants near by but we drove to go out in the evenings. The surrounding areas are a little bit run down so we didn't feel that safe walking at night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen_Carroll14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I recently booked guests here from Canada who were in Cape Town to do the Argus Cycle tour and Clarendon was an excellent choice. Everyone felt totally at home and Emmy and her team went out of their way to make them feel welcome. On the morning of the Argus, breakfast was served at sparrows without dropping any of the extra trimmings. Some guests had late check-out which wasn't a problem at all as they could use the rooms as last as possible before other check-ins! What a great asset to Cape Town to have such wonderful homely hospilality

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UGOAWOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Emmy is the perfect host, a very hearty and warm person, with a good feeling for the well-being of their guests. The rooms are very clean, spacious but partly noosy because of the main street.
The garden is grandiose for a city Hotel, breakfast was awesome an rich on variety.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently spent 4 nights at the Clarendon Fresnaye. It was WONDERFUL!!! Emmy and Nicci and all the boys:) there were just great. The hotel is located in such a perfect spot and close to everything. The service is second to none, and the Breakfast was amazing!!! The rooms were just like you see them..Clean, big, and wonderfully kept. We had an amazing time..i would recommend it to anyone who has OCD about staying in a strange place like i do. I would go back in a second. Thank you to everyone there who made out stay even better than I expected!!!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Fresnaye recently for four nights. The rooms are very spacious with fantastic light, and breakfast was very good each morning. The highlight of our stay was without a doubt Emmy--she made sure everything we needed was taken care of, and always was nice enough to ask about our plans and how our day had gone. Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresnaye
1.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
1.0 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#28 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ellerman House
Ellerman House
#2 of 6 in Bantry Bay
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
303 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Fresnaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Fresnaye

Property: The Clarendon Fresnaye
Address: 67 Kloof Road, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fresnaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Fresnaye 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarendon Fresnaye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Fresnaye Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing