We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Clarendon Fresnaye
Ranked #3 of 12 Fresnaye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were booked by friends to stay at the Clarendon Fresnaye.We had a lovely stay in this charming hotel with extremely friendly staff.We fellt at home.We had a big room just above the reception with garden and pool view;We had every morning a wonderful breakfast

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abochner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 251 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in September and had the best views! We loved the rooms, smart decor and friendly service. Very clean and modern, close to the hustle and bussle but very quiet. We would go back in a heartbeat! And recommend it to anyone Thanks Emmy for the great recommendations!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were booked in advance to stay at the Clarendon Bantry Bay but at the last minute decided to move our trip up earlier by one day. The Clarendon Bantry Bay was fully booked but were able to refer us to the Clarendon Fresnaye for the one night. We were thrilled with our visit to both places. The staff were friendly, helpful and very accomodating. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Breakfast was fresh, plentiful and perfectly made to order. The rooms are clean, bright and comfortable, with stunning views. The area is safe, very accessable and easy to navigate. It is a short walk (about 20 minutes) to Camps Bay, Clifton Beach and even closer to Sea Point. It is also very close to the bus stop of the two "hop on/hop off" bus routes. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it as a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

If you would like to stay in Cape Town's most welcoming guesthouse, then this is the place to be! I have visited the Clarendon Fresnaye on numerous occasions and the staff at the Clarendon are like one big family, always smiling and ready to help. The rooms are modern, stylish and very spacious. They have 2 lovely pools, are situated in a safe residential neighbourhood just a few minutes from many attractions like Camps Bay, Cliftons famous beaches, the Sea point promenade and the V& A Waterfront. You will arrive as a guest and leave as part of the family! Emmy is an absolute star.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErikaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A whole gang of us descended upon the Clarendon for a family wedding and were immediately greeted upon arrival outside the front door by Emmy, who is a great ambassador for this guest house, along with the rest of the staff.
During our stay, nothing was too much trouble for Emmy or Nolu, who followed Emmy's shift, and we - along with other staying guests - were made to feel as though we had always been there and known them both and the other members of staff for ages.
Upon our return from visits out, refreshments were offered immediately and mid-afternoon always had cake along with the tea, coffee, etc. Upon one return, we had not had time for lunch, so Emmy took herself off to the local shops and purchased bread, various sandwich fillings and salad items and proceeded to make our lunch for us with the only charge being for the items purchased.
The girls provided crockery and cutlery for any evening take-aways that we had, as they do not do evening meals, and tidied up after us. Enquiries regarding venues to be visited, were willingly made and reservations placed, if wanted, and all with a smile and no trouble at all.
I cannot highly recommend this place enough for the feel good factor that it, and especially the staff in the public view as well as those behind the scenes, provide.

Room Tip: All the rooms that we saw, had their own uniqueness, and I believe that any one chosen, would make a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel comprises two older houses that have been converted to one larger establishment. The two halves are joined by a lawn and two small swimming pools. The rooms were bright and clean and all that we needed for a 3-night break. The staff were very friendly and really made an effort to make sure everything was as it should be. Perhaps our room could have had a little more in the way of furniture (bedside table only on one side of the bed and not much cupboard space) but other rooms we saw seemed ok, so perhaps it was just this room. The hotel is only a minute or two from the sea. The breakfast too contained a good variety of cereals, juices, fresh fruit salads, breads and croissants and all sorts of jams and spreads. As this was part of a package we can't rate the value for money element.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here three days while visiting friends. Emmy and her staff were very very helpfull. Great rooms, nice pool, great breakfast. Hotel is five minute walk from the ocean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stevendeb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresnaye
1.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,869 reviews
0.5 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#23 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Compass House
Compass House
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
232 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Fresnaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Fresnaye

Address: 67 Kloof Road, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fresnaye
Price Range: $180 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Fresnaye 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Clarendon Fresnaye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Fresnaye Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing