We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel close to the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Clarendon Fresnaye
Ranked #3 of 12 Fresnaye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel comprises two older houses that have been converted to one larger establishment. The two halves are joined by a lawn and two small swimming pools. The rooms were bright and clean and all that we needed for a 3-night break. The staff were very friendly and really made an effort to make sure everything was as it should be. Perhaps our room could have had a little more in the way of furniture (bedside table only on one side of the bed and not much cupboard space) but other rooms we saw seemed ok, so perhaps it was just this room. The hotel is only a minute or two from the sea. The breakfast too contained a good variety of cereals, juices, fresh fruit salads, breads and croissants and all sorts of jams and spreads. As this was part of a package we can't rate the value for money element.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 254 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here three days while visiting friends. Emmy and her staff were very very helpfull. Great rooms, nice pool, great breakfast. Hotel is five minute walk from the ocean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stevendeb69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Visiting Cape Town was a magnificent experience and the Clarendon Fresnaye was a dream. The hotel staff was outstanding. Emmy, Nicci, and Nolu made our arrival warm and welcoming with excellent customer service and courtesy. They offered a variety of breakfast options with cold and hot items. They offered to make us fresh coffee, tea, or a pot of hot chocolate every morning. They made each guest feel special as they chatted with us about our upcoming events and daily calendars. They were attentive even allowing us to extend our time beyond check-out because of a very late flight without charging us extra. We did not purchase a converter before we departed the U.S. and they offered to purchase one for us at no additional charge. The service of the waiters and maids were also super. Our bed had turn down service with chocolates on the pillows every evening and after a long and weary day of travel, they would offer to make us tea, hot chocolate, or coffee in the evenings as well. I cannot say enough about the superior service of the hotel staff. The grounds were also extremely nice and loved that they offered free wi-fi, they offered to call cabs, and although our friends were not staying at the same hotel, they offered for them to come and have breakfast with us. The location is also fantastic. Only blocks away from the beach and a great run/walk path and parks. Amazing stay and time at the Clarendon Fresnaye. Next time, I am in Cape Town, South Africa, I definitely know where I will be resting my head!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street if you are a light sleeper and I would book my room on a discoun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This is a wonderful boutique hotel in a great spot, in the shadow of Lion's Head. Close to beaches and Sea Point. Lovely rooms.Two beautiful pools. Great breakfasts on the verandah. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and go above and beyond what you expect.Good security. Highly recommend and would return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princeharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed at the Clarendon Fresnaye Nov 2011. The hotel is a small boutique style, but the service and welcome you get is amazing. The rooms are very spacious with huge beds, overlooking the pool, (to cold in November) and immaculately kept gardens. We were offered drinks on arrival, whilst our luggage was taken to our room. Emmy is very knowledgeable of all the local sights and restaurants to visit. (The Codfather is a must for seafood lovers and Hussars for meat lovers). She made any reservations we needed, and booked any trips we wanted to go on, Table Mountain also a must weather permitting. We looked forward to the complimentary afternoon tea and cakes when we returned from our sightseeing, all freshly baked, loved the apple crumble cake and chocolatey rich one! Thank you.
Breakfast was made to order, whatever you required, no problem at all, delicious array of breads, pastries, cold meats muffins etc etc!
The Hotel is in easy distance to Camps Bay, and V & A, many restaurants and plenty to do.
So thanks Emmy and staff for a great start to our wonderful holiday. Cathy & Bill John Portsmouth UK

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy-Hayling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had a group of 10 stay at the Clarendon for 6 nights. The staff was wonderful - willing to help with restaurant reservations, sightseeing information, transportation and anything else we needed. Emmy and the staff were all very attentive and never made us feel like we were putting them out. Breakfast was always enjoyable and prepared to order. I enjoyed the afternoon tea time - always a wonderful new dessert to try. The rooms are well-decorated and comfortable, the grounds are beautifully maintained and they treat you like you're their most special guest ever... what more could you want? We'll definitely return! One of my favorite hotel experiences yet!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank middleofnowheregal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We couldn't thank more Emy and Nolu for their incredible hosting ! This was our Honeymoon and our first contact in South Africa... and honestly, we couldn't have dreamt anything better : the place is fantastic, huge, calm; the situation is perfect, you can be anywhere in Cape Town in within minutes, and as told, the staff is exceptionnal !
We took advice on them for picking a restaurant according our tastes, and they booked it for us : they did it so well, the staff in the restaurant welcomed us with champaign to congratulate us : this is just an example of how they take care about their guests ! Do not hesitate : go to Clarendon Fresnaye, and BIG hello and thanks from Yannick and Frank !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yanaparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresnaye
1.3 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,900 reviews
0.5 mi away
52 De Wet
52 De Wet
#1 of 6 in Bantry Bay
328 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Clarendon Bantry Bay
The Clarendon Bantry Bay
#1 of 7 in Bantry Bay
205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
#8 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clarendon Fresnaye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clarendon Fresnaye

Address: 67 Kloof Road, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fresnaye
Price Range: $210 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clarendon Fresnaye 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clarendon Fresnaye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clarendon Fresnaye Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing