We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Love this place ! Wonderful !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grande Kloof Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Fresnaye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I Love this place ! Wonderful !”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoy it - the staff were so friendly.
Our room opened onto the garden which we loved ! so relaxing and a feeling of freedom and relaxation. The swimming pool is a nice size and the jacuzzi area was a nice luxury. Breakfast is basic continental and is ample - Alec is so sweet and makes the best omelets in the world - breakfast was a wonderful morning experience with his extra touch and his smile.
We cannot fault this place - the location is very good, the staff are great - we walked to the beaches close-by and shops feeling safe. Will be back for sure ! Well done Grande Kloof !

Room Tip: The garden room is perfect as a value option to stay in this upmarket area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    58
    25
    6
    8
See reviews for
22
98
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

At the outset, this review is about the actual layout and logistics of this hotel and not the staff as they were all wonderful, friendly and helpful.

In my opinion This is not a boutique hotel, it is more a large guest house. Entrance into the property is awkward, you have to leave your vehicle in the road to press the intercom which is situated a good 3-4m from the gate itself. This practice is standard for the duration of the stay as there were no spare remote controls for the gate. On two occasions it was the usual Cape Town down pour of rain, not nice.

The rooms are generous in size. Our party had two rooms. One with a sea view which was great. And one with a garden view.

The garden view is all open plan. Shower, bed, basin and toilet. Having a toilet in an open plan room is just....awkward. Draw your own conclusions. The bed was very comfortable and the shower is probably the best part of the hotel. Big and spacious. The room was always clean. The biggest frustration with the garden rooms is that they are on the ground level of three stories with access from a passage. Sound therefore is amplified. On both nights that I stayed here. You could hear other guests, entering their rooms, showering, flushing the toilet and even more annoying, I could clearly hear the guest adjacent to my room snoring. If you are sensitive to sound, do not take a garden room. The sea view rooms are much bigger and have huge bathrooms that are private. There is a double shower, which is great.

Breakfast is basic continental with eggs, either scramble or fried. Coffee was excellent from a small SAECO machine which ground fresh beans. My only criticism here is that as a boutique hotel, don't serve jam, bread, cold meat and butter all wrapped up in cling wrap. Take the time to present everything as fresh as opposed to hauling it out the fridge as a prepackaged item. The lounge area is well laid out and is very comfortable with great views. Wifi is available and is free.

Room Tip: Take the Sea facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FushSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights and had a wonderful time. The staff was very helpful, friendly and down to earth. I would say that we, at the end of our stay, had the feeling, that we were visiting friends or family. The staff did everything they could to make your stay perfect. Especially the manager, was very competent. He just knew his way around people and made our stay very pleasant. He is absolutely running this business, as if it was his own place and made us feel very welcome and at home.
Breakfast staff also very friendly and interested, the were always up for a little chat, and it just felt very true and coming from the heart. We will definitely come back next time in Cape town.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are the best. We stayed downstairs where the rooms were a little small, but ok for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Krestine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Really lovely place and great staff.
No aircon in the ground floor rooms, apart from that a great spot.
Advise you hire a car from the airport (we used woodford's )
and use this place as a base to explore cape town and near by Camps Bay.
We had a week here and loved it!

Room Tip: Go for the up stairs rooms if you like to sleep with the A/c on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lucy_ECP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Nice hotel, very helpful staff (you can ask them anything). rooms, lobby, bar, everything is modern and done with style. Parking inside = useful.
Breakfast is fine as well.
Location could be better though - the area us safen but there is only one nice restaurant (la perla) that you can go to on foot, for other 'fine' restaurants you need a car.
Bar is beautiful, but has a few flaws. There is no price list of the drinks? (staff is helpful to look up prices though). At the time I was there, there wasn't any tonic either (so no gin&tonic...)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Xxxof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Very friendly, helpful staff. Off street parking, security gates and good location. Very modern feel. Huge bath and shower. Only recommendation would be to have phones in the room. Very enjoyable stay overall and would return.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Davidl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

My fiance and I spent a week at the Grand Klooke Boutique Hotel in Fresnaye (which is only a few short minutes from everything-including Cape Town) back in January and loved every minutes of our stay. From the welcoming smiling to the laughter throughout- our choice to stay at the Grand Kloof Boutique Hotel was the perfect one. We were initially concerned about 2 things: 1. The Lack of Reviews and 2. It's Location.
1. With repect to the lack of reviews-It's because its SO NEW! Not because of any issues. When I saw the pics - I thought that the place was too good to be true-not the case. Trust this-You will not be disaapointed. Staff was outstanding, complimentary breakfast was very satisfying and the contemporary styled rooms were simple, clean and cool
2. It's location-we were concerned about being too far from downtown Capetown. Well-NOT an issue at all-we actually walked there in perfect safety more than once. This place is perfectly located between Camps Bay and Cape Town in an Upper Class neighbourhood. No security issues, no "i'm stranded in the middle of Fresnaye" issues-the local is the perfect spot to maneuver from. And...what a place to come home to after a day of sight seeing. Ryno and the crew are all AMAZING--they go out of their way to make you feel like the place is home. Their recommendations were all amazing; from dining to shark diving companies, cabs to local doctors, local attractions etc all perfect. We will make our way, at some point, back to Cape Town and when we do-we'll stay at the Grand Kloofe-no question and will recommend to all friends and family.
As a side point, it seems as though pior to visiting S. Africa, everyone's main concern is security and safty. Let us tell you-it is completely safe, the people are polite, humorous and friendly-Enjoy one of the best cities in the world, and the Grand Kloofe Boutique Hotel- Ryno Rocks!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank sanddchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fresnaye
0.2 mi away
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
Bantry Bay Suite Hotel
#6 of 6 in Bantry Bay
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
President Hotel
President Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bantry Bay
796 reviews
0.3 mi away
Compass House
Compass House
#4 of 6 in Bantry Bay
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mojo Hotel
Mojo Hotel
#111 of 198 in Cape Town
225 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
462 reviews
0.0 mi away
O on Kloof Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Kloof Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Kloof Boutique Hotel

Property: Grande Kloof Boutique Hotel
Address: 69 Kloof Road | Fresnaye, Fresnaye 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fresnaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Fresnaye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grande Kloof Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The privately owned family establishment is geared toward leisure and business travellers who seek a home-from-home experience. Close world-renowned beaches, excellent restaruants and the V&A Waterfront makes this accommodation location a prime choice amongst visitors to the Atlantic Seaboard area in Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grande Kloof Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Kloof Boutique Hotel Fresnaye, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing