We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home!”
Review of Aranyakam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aranyakam
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Kalpetta
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A home away from home!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Aranyakam truly stands by its name! The colonial design homestay is situated midst a 30 acre coffee plantation and oversees the jungle( Well it looks and sounds like a jungle at least!) The rooms are really spacious and clean, decorated with classy wooden furniture and paintings. The balcony oversees the plantation and is a treat for the eyes especially when it is misty! Well what can I say about the hospitality. From joining you for breakfast daily to telling stories about Wayanad to giving to perfect directions to all tourist places, Neema and Rajest are excellent hosts. The rates for the rooms are really economical for all that they offer and the best part no hidden taxes and stuff in the bills which was truly surprising!
If you are deciding on this place make sure you know the directions well because we took a longer route and was really a pain. Also for people who are not from Kerala, food might be a problem because they serve only Kerala food (breakfast was decent) and there are no good restaurants nearby. We survived on bread and milk! :D

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramya3689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    37
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
70
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just got back last weekend from a 2 night 3 day stay at Aranyakam and let me say the experience far exceeded my expectations ! I had never been to Wayanad before and while I’ve heard of Vythri and the other ‘tree hut’ offering resorts, was quite intrigued with the comments on Aranyakam.

Getting here is not very difficult (if on public transport). You get down at Kalpetta and take an auto to Valathoor around 10 kms away. From Rippon Estate, it is around 2 kms to be precise.

The property is infact a picturesque 40 odd acre coffee plantation and it is filled with an assortment of ginger, pepper, avocado trees amongst others. The farm-house feel is complete with ducks and guinea hens roaming around the main house, cows mooing contently from the shed and their old pet dog ‘Remo’, adding his presence from time to time. All that lush vegetation, means that it plays host to a multitude of birds like drangos, minivets, woodpeckers and what not, which are endemic to the region. Bird/Nature lovers will have a field day.

The eight odd guest rooms (suites or deluxe rooms) are part of an ancestral two storied home. Stayed the first night in the deluxe room and it’s massive ! the flooring throughout is patterned handmade attangudi type tiles and they is a small balcony attached behind, with the view of the coffee plantation. The bathroom is fairly large and spotlessly clean. The furnishing are modest/functional. Personally I would like a plug point extra, considering the variety of gadgets we need to stay connected, but then it’s not a deal breaker. Apparently when this started, they had television etc in each room, but the noise and feedback around it (coming into nature and spending time enclosing watching the idiot box is so pointless) and they were smartly removed :)

The much described ‘tree huts’ are in another part of the property and seriously none of the photos can do justice on how quaint it is for real. With large windows surrounding two sides of the house, I really liked the design and interesting touches like the loft and step ladder to take you to the floor above. The USP is definitely the fantastic view of the valley below and the ranges of hills before you, that seem to change every passing minute thanks to the mist and cloud play ! I just didn’t feel like leaving that place for even a minute ! For us city-dwellers the bird and insect noises do take a little getting used too, but that’s the beauty of this place. At this time, of the two log houses..but only the larger unit is functional, the other unit is under repairs (apparently getting appropriate material and specialized carpenters for repairs is an expensive affair, considering they have to be refurbished every few months and that’s the reason, they are more expensive than the regular rooms)

The owners Raj and Neema are a delight and are full of information of the region, food, ayurveda and the challenges in maintaining the homestay !

Last but not the least and importantly the food is simply awesome. Since I didn’t step out, all three meals for literally three days were on premises and not once did I get bored. Authentic and wholesome Keralan meals of delicious veggies, fish, salads and other regional specialties will easily hit the right spot in your stomach. Neema and her team of helpers, will certainly make sure you are well fed.

If you want to be one with nature and need a quiet relaxed break amidst green environs, then this place will be right up your alley ! highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vijaykrishna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay as it was private and far away from any cities. There was a small village within walking distance (1-2 Km) with a bus stop. This is the type of stay where you want to wander the hills, curl up and read a book or simply take an afternoon nap. I spent a couple of hours everyday talking with Neema, the hostess, who I found interesting and well-read. The plantation accommodations were very beautiful and the rich wood on the main home, where guests stayed, reflected an old and historic Kerala.

The food was excellent and side trips could be arranged for guests who wished to see more of the area or the wildlife park which was quite a distance away. With permission the Internet was available but unfortunately no WiFi which was the only drawback for me as I teach online university classes - but I did manage. Thanks Neema.

Wonderful family, wonderful rooms and wonderful spiders found in most plantation and mountain homestays in Kerala :-)

Room Tip: I enjoyed a large room on the second floor that included an enclosed porch overlooking plantation gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
391 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a large room on the first floor of the Keralan bungalow, with a lovely sitting out area on the veranda, overlooking the garden and coffee bushes. Our hosts were friendly and happy to chat. Meals were home cooked and fresh, and introduced us to several local delicacies, served in an attractive eating area. We visited Kanthampara waterfalls (Meenmuthy Falls has been closed.)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We could spend only one night in the Tree Hut, though it was short time .. Its an amazing experience. Birds humming, bees sound in the night, no one to disturb other than the silent Breeze. It literally made me, wife and kid also feel as if we stayed on top of the tree in the dense forest. You should see coffee crops now … (see the photo). Owner (Mr Rajesh) was personally handling the Guest .. they are down to earth and ensured service was taken care personally. Food was made fresh served hot, every thing was from their farms. Food tasted very good, we had a chance to have chicken curry, ghee rice, chicken fry etc it was all delicious. Rooms / Tree House are simple & neat made with wood. Hot water is available for every room. They have a restaurant where every guest has to come to have breakfast, dinner.. you can talk, discuss with each of them spend time. Truly a relaxing homestay.
If you are looking at staying in mid’s of Nature with homely treatment/atmosphere visit Aranyakam

Room Tip: If your a looking at staying alone, want to have a forest experience, Tree House If your want a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRaghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

When we arrived in the late afternoon, we were "upgraded" to the smaller of the two tree huts. This may be an upgrade for some people (the rate is certainly much higher) but we would have preferred the standard room - although staying in the tree hut was certainly an experience. We were not asked about our choice. At night, it is pitch black and a rough walk from the main house down to the hut and a good flashlight (which we did not have) is needed. Spaces between the bamboo flooring means if you drop things (like we did) they are gone gone gone. In the jungle means in the jungle -- when we arrived back in the dark and turned on our light there was a GIGANTIC spider (the size of one's hand) on our bed. I trudged back to the house and help came and he blanched at the sight as well but did manage to kill it. The rest of the night we huddled together under the mosquito net fearing other invaders into our space. On the pro side: the view at sunset and the birdsong over the valley was magnificent. We went for a long walk and the view from our hut was actually better. The dinner was very good (best dessert of the entire trip). There is no wifi (a computer you can ask to use if the owner is not using it but that is rare). But my review and rating may be influenced by the fact I stayed last year at the Tranquil resort in Wayanad, far superior but also more expensive. So you get what you pay for. No surprise.

Room Tip: If you want the tree hut, perhaps you can bargain down the price which seems high for what you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The couple who own and manage this home-stay do everything they can to ensure you are comfortable and happy.
I have stayed here on two occasions now and would happily do so again. The coffee, not surprisingly for a coffee plantation, is truly excellent!
The location is beautifully quiet and restful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jof I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
22.0 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#11 of 22 in Kalpetta
740 reviews
17.6 mi away
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
6.2 mi away
Hotel Sheelisach Inn
Hotel Sheelisach Inn
#5 of 7 in Sultan Bathery
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#3 of 22 in Kalpetta
164 reviews
16.7 mi away
Silent Creek Resort
Silent Creek Resort
#4 of 9 in Vythiri
182 reviews
7.5 mi away
Vistara Resort
Vistara Resort
#3 of 5 in Ambalavayal
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranyakam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranyakam

Property: Aranyakam
Address: Valathoor,Rippon, Kalpetta 673577, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Aranyakam Hotel Kalpetta
Aranyakam Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing