We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven is a place on Earth”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of the Chembra as you enter our gate. our villas are just 70 meters away from here! excellent balcony  view towards  the peak tea gardents and forest nearby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
47 reviews
The view of the Chembra as you enter our gate. our villas are just 70 meters away from here!
excellent balcony  view towards  the peak tea gardents and forest nearby
our villas are equipped with most modern facilities!
all bedrooms have attached toilets and balconies with a view
view from one of our villas
extra bed spaces - Villa no 12 Indigo!
comfortable dining spaces with basic cooking essentials!
Washroom [each rooms are bath-attached].
The Jackfruit Tree at hamlet has 08  twin bedroom villas, facing Chembra peak !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kalpetta, Wayanad District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John H
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven is a place on Earth”
Reviewed February 17, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Wayanad is a little corner of paradise and The Jackfruit Tree is seventh heaven. It is a secluded property nestled among the tea plantations and has a stunning view of Mount Chembra from the balcony.

Manoj, the caretaker, is ever-present and Prasad and Anjana divide their time between Calicut and Wayanad. I was lucky enough for them to be present with their son, Anan, during my stay. Never will you meet a nicer family: they welcomed me like a relative and were fun, charming and generous. Manoj was also always willing to help and cooked up a feast morning, noon and night.

I leave with great memories feeling relaxed and reinvigorated and with new friends. A wonderful experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kath m
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Put your feet up and admire the view :)”
Reviewed February 14, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Thanks for Prasad and Mahooj for a wonderful stay at The Jackfruit Tree. The good reviews are well-deserved and we found everything as we expected it to be.
In terms of customer service, we felt they pulled out all the stops. The owner Prasad came over from Calicut to greet us personally and Mahooj cooked fantastic breakfast and meals for us every day - very reasonably priced we thought. We wanted to get fit (!) and running up through the tea plantations before breakfast was amazing. We had the downstairs room which has a private balcony - great if you are a Western woman and want to be able to wear your shorts for a bit!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamesFent...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect, peaceful escape in the most beautiful setting”
Reviewed February 11, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This was our second visit back to stay at the Jack Fruit Tree Hamlet and once again it was amazing. Prasad and Aparna are the perfect hosts and went out their way to make sure everything was just right. We thoroughly enjoyed their company and are so pleased have made friends with them both. At the same time we were always allowed our privacy to simply soak in and enjoy the peace and serenity of the place. As always the food was incredible, and Manoj the housekeeper was just great.

The Jack Fruit Tree Hamlet itself is set in the most stunning location and drinking tea on the terrace overlooking the beautiful scenery will always be a memory held with great fondness. Would recommend staying here anytime.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim M
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Like heaven.”
Reviewed January 30, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Sitting on the balcony of this place is like visiting heaven. The peace and beauty just wash through you. A wonderful sanctuary from the rich cacophony of India.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AarohiRoy
1 review
“Great view, great food and Great people!”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had the most amazing time at The Jackfruit Tree. The view is to die for! The location is a little isolated, but the management arranged for transportation also.. the staff is very admirable.

I made some great friends over the trip; And will definitely go back soon!

Deeply Recommended.
Aarohi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliemonge
Marseille, France
1 review
“Cosy home in a nature heaven”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The multi-level house on stilts is ideally located, with stunning views and a few minutes from the tea plantations. There's also a waterfall within a 10 minutes walk.

The hosts are very kind and welcoming. Prasad and Aparna (the owners) are very courteous and thoughtful, they will make you feel at home. Manoj (the property manager) is attentive and gracious, he will help with every day to day detail and serve amazing home cooked Kerala style meals.

Needless to say, it's a perfect place to relax. I've stayed there two times and expect to return again and again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indranil2...
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great View with nice and Quit Environment”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is a little offbeat place - around 800 m from the main road. But once you reach the place, it's worth the trouble. The balconies opens to the valley and the Chamara Peak view (though you may see the peak only around 2 PM due to clouds and haze).
There are 4 rooms - B1 and B2 at the top floor and B3/B4 a floor below. We took B1 and B2 - which has the better view. The view from floor below gets blocked due to the trees in front. So I will suggest you ensure you get B1 or B2. There is a problem with the rooms though - the fan behavies in binary mode - either runs at 1 or at full speed.
There is a small waterfalls near the place, that you can trek. Other than that, there is not much outdoor activity available. But due to the environment around, you can really relax and spend some quite time if you want to.
The food is decent - kind of home food. Do not expect hotel/restaurant type menu. But the taste is quite good - we enjoyed our dinner thoroughly. Minor glitches includes unavailability of biscuits with Tea/Coffee, and only Idlee (with few leftover breads from previous night) with egg omelette. So breakfast was not something that I can claim we enjoyed as much as the dinner (though I must say - the taste of whatever limited menu available was good).
Overall - I would have given it a 4.5 - but due to lack of option, I gave it a 5. Giving it a 4 is not right - just for the reason that we thoroughly enjoyed the time we stayed there.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2016
Dear Indrani, thank you very much for an honest opinion about our place. We have made a note of the shortcomings that you have pointed out. Unfortunately when you visited our purchases had gone haywire due to demonetisation. We normally serve a Kerala dish along with bread, butter, ready-made juices/fresh fruits and tea/coffee & our previous guest feedbacks were quite positive too. I am sure it was not the same when you stayed with us. But we were helpless at that time. We apologise for the inconvenience and thank you once again for encouraging us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing