We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great view, great food and Great people!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of the Chembra as you enter our gate. our villas are just 70 meters away from here! excellent balcony  view towards  the peak tea gardents and forest nearby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
47 reviews
The view of the Chembra as you enter our gate. our villas are just 70 meters away from here!
excellent balcony  view towards  the peak tea gardents and forest nearby
our villas are equipped with most modern facilities!
all bedrooms have attached toilets and balconies with a view
view from one of our villas
extra bed spaces - Villa no 12 Indigo!
comfortable dining spaces with basic cooking essentials!
Washroom [each rooms are bath-attached].
The Jackfruit Tree at hamlet has 08  twin bedroom villas, facing Chembra peak !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kalpetta, Wayanad District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AarohiRoy
1 review
“Great view, great food and Great people!”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had the most amazing time at The Jackfruit Tree. The view is to die for! The location is a little isolated, but the management arranged for transportation also.. the staff is very admirable.

I made some great friends over the trip; And will definitely go back soon!

Deeply Recommended.
Aarohi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eliemonge
Marseille, France
1 review
“Cosy home in a nature heaven”
Reviewed January 4, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The multi-level house on stilts is ideally located, with stunning views and a few minutes from the tea plantations. There's also a waterfall within a 10 minutes walk.

The hosts are very kind and welcoming. Prasad and Aparna (the owners) are very courteous and thoughtful, they will make you feel at home. Manoj (the property manager) is attentive and gracious, he will help with every day to day detail and serve amazing home cooked Kerala style meals.

Needless to say, it's a perfect place to relax. I've stayed there two times and expect to return again and again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indranil2...
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great View with nice and Quit Environment”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is a little offbeat place - around 800 m from the main road. But once you reach the place, it's worth the trouble. The balconies opens to the valley and the Chamara Peak view (though you may see the peak only around 2 PM due to clouds and haze).
There are 4 rooms - B1 and B2 at the top floor and B3/B4 a floor below. We took B1 and B2 - which has the better view. The view from floor below gets blocked due to the trees in front. So I will suggest you ensure you get B1 or B2. There is a problem with the rooms though - the fan behavies in binary mode - either runs at 1 or at full speed.
There is a small waterfalls near the place, that you can trek. Other than that, there is not much outdoor activity available. But due to the environment around, you can really relax and spend some quite time if you want to.
The food is decent - kind of home food. Do not expect hotel/restaurant type menu. But the taste is quite good - we enjoyed our dinner thoroughly. Minor glitches includes unavailability of biscuits with Tea/Coffee, and only Idlee (with few leftover breads from previous night) with egg omelette. So breakfast was not something that I can claim we enjoyed as much as the dinner (though I must say - the taste of whatever limited menu available was good).
Overall - I would have given it a 4.5 - but due to lack of option, I gave it a 5. Giving it a 4 is not right - just for the reason that we thoroughly enjoyed the time we stayed there.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2016
Dear Indrani, thank you very much for an honest opinion about our place. We have made a note of the shortcomings that you have pointed out. Unfortunately when you visited our purchases had gone haywire due to demonetisation. We normally serve a Kerala dish along with bread, butter, ready-made juices/fresh fruits and tea/coffee & our previous guest feedbacks were quite positive too. I am sure it was not the same when you stayed with us. But we were helpless at that time. We apologise for the inconvenience and thank you once again for encouraging us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinaki74
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and nice stay”
Reviewed November 13, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We, two families, stayed for one night in the valley-view-rooms of this homestay. Rooms
were well maintained and cosy. The view from the room and the common balcony was
beautiful ... the highest peak Chembra is visible from the room without any obstruction
(except for the occasional clouds !!!). Though this property is not in the tea garden but is
surrounded by tea garden. One can see a small stream also from the balcony. We went till that stream as well through the tea garden.

The dinner was decent and homely. However, the breakfast could have been better if one or two items (like juice and either of dosas or vadas or sausages etc.) were added. But overall, it was pleasant experience. Mr. Manoj (who takes care of the property) was a good host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 7, 2016
Dear Pinaki, thank you for your comments about our property and services. A special thanks for appreciating our staff. People like you encourage us to do better. We will attend to the shortcomings of breakfast-menu, we had to compromise on it during your stay as our normal purchase from local market had gone for a toss due to shortage of funds@demonetisation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Q
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful and peaceful haven, nested on the bank of a secluded wayanad valley”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The Jackfruit Tree homestay is a wonderful and peaceful haven, nested on the bank of a secluded wayanad valley
Prasad and Aparna have built quite an unique place, in which one can't help but feel at home, they are kind hearted people who genuinely care for their guests
We've spent 5 great days here, touring various point of interests, under the discret guidance of Manoj (who takes care of the house) and Santosh (who drove us around in his tuk tuk)
Jackfruit highlights (far from exhaustive)
- Spectacular view on Chembra peak from the spacious balconies
- Kind and attentive service
- Highly comfortable and modern accommodations (bathrooms, rooms, ...)
- Beautiful tea plantations on the small surrounding hills
- Friendly hamlets inhabitants
- Shyam and Durga home made food
- Damn comfortable king size carpet in the upper floor hall, promptly annexed by our kids for cozy late evening discussions, drawings ;)
We wouldn't hesitate a second to recommend the Jackfruit to friends or relatives

Tip : the upper part of the waterfall can be reached from the third lace of the hill path, and is definitely nicer than the lower part

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view, it's just breath taking
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shweta S
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome view with waterfall at walking distance.”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The hosts were warm.Manoj was very helpful.The view from balcony was amazing.I felt like going nowhere and just stick to the balcony.There is a waterfall 10-15 mins walk(trek).Really enjoyed the waterfall.Though the rocks were slippery but we managed to get inside.This waterfall was better than the other waterfalls eg Soojipura waterfall which is a tourist destination.The food was good and the place was kid friendly.Kids really enjoyed the place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view and waterfall
Liked least: nothing as such.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
479tanvin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Jackfruit Tree for two and half days. As a solo woman traveller i was a little skeptical about my entire plan. But Prasad and Aparna were perfect hosts. The place not only hosts a breathtaking view but is also run by genuinely nice and humble people. Right from the start of the trip till the end i was treated like a friend. Prasad picked me up from the bus stop at 5.30 in the morning and dropped me off at the bus stop for my journey back home. Nestled between coffee and tea plantations this place is perfect for a quiet weekend getaway, it offers the peace and quiet of village life, and an access to a beautiful waterfall and walking trails through the tea estate. Since i was the only one staying with them during my course of stay, i had the privilege of eating delicious homemade food from the caretaker Manoj’s house (the fish fry was to die for ). I left Wayanad as a content traveler, with beautiful memories and handful of new friends, thanks to “The Jackfruit Tree family.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing