We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breath taking view of Chembra Peak”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view of the Chembra as you enter our gate. our villas are just 70 meters away from here! excellent balcony  view towards  the peak tea gardents and forest nearby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
43 reviews
The view of the Chembra as you enter our gate. our villas are just 70 meters away from here!
excellent balcony  view towards  the peak tea gardents and forest nearby
our villas are equipped with most modern facilities!
all bedrooms have attached toilets and balconies with a view
view from one of our villas
extra bed spaces - Villa no 12 Indigo!
comfortable dining spaces with basic cooking essentials!
Washroom [each rooms are bath-attached].
The Jackfruit Tree at hamlet has 08  twin bedroom villas, facing Chembra peak !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kalpetta, Wayanad District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amirthavk...
Coimbatore, India
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Breath taking view of Chembra Peak”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

As I planned to trekk Chembra hill my guide Mr.Sabu recommend this home stay for me as this place is close to chembra peak.I was travelling from Thirunelli .After travelling through Kalpetta bypass road I have seen a sign board Meppadi then I turned left.This road was very bad.My POLO suffered a lot by travelling in this road.I must have traveled along Kalpetta - KoZhikode road till I reach the Kozhikode-Vythri-Gudalur road then take the left to reach this resort.One has to reach Umberlla bend in the Kozhikode- vythri-gudalur road.Then you will see a 3 floor white building on the left side then take small road which goes down on the right side.That road also not good.By travelling a .7 KM on the road one can see the board"Jack Fruit Tree".

This home stay is a two floors.Two rooms at the bottom floor where kitchen is housed.If you are accompanying elderly persons you have to ask for upper floor rooms which is connected to the ground.

The view from this home stay is breath taking.One enjoy seeing the Chembra peak.The food is very good.The home stay was maintained by Shyam and Durga from Nepal.Very friendly people.As I checked in the Chembra peak was very clear after a while when I was about take a photograph of the peak it was raining and peak cover with mist.The weather at this place is changing quickly.There is great view of falls from this stay.

Durga and Shyam can prepare food at any time you want.After finishing break fast by 7 AM I was ready for Chembra trekk by 7.30AM ,Sabu took me to the base station by his bike.Then after the adventurous trek I returned to the stay but as I forgot order lunch in the morning they did not prepare any lunch.Realizing the situation the couple made me chapattis,dhal and veg.salad.After enjoying the fresh lunch I had a good sleep then later after a hot bath I traveled towards Coimbatore with body full of happier pain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breath taking view of Chembra peak and a Falls also the care of home makers Shyam and Durga.
Liked least: The estate around
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudip P
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We visited this place last weekend and had an awesome experience. Jackfruit tree at Hamlet is located at a great location and the view from the balcony is really superb. After booking we had a smooth check-in. We paid online and had no issues in getting the confirmation in just a couple of minutes. Care taker Shaam and his wife were really a great host and we felt we were at home and coming to another important part is that the 'food'. The food is home cooked and I haven't have that tasty food in a long time. Overall we were really happy with great food, great hospitality , great location, great view and clean and comfortable rooms. What else you need for a perfect weekend. Thanks Prasad and team and specially Shaam and his wife for making this weekend great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food and location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandlele
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“be with yourself”
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

we booked our stay at the resort on TripAdvisor web site. i checked the reviews of this home-stay. most of them were satisfied and when we stayed there it was amazing stay. We travelled from Pune, Maharashtra by road. We took our first break at Mysore after 14.30 hours self drive. Next day we started off in the morning by 8:00 by NH 212 [Mysore Kozikode road]. till Nanjenaguda there was heavy traffic. After Nanjenaguda to Gundulupet the road was under construction for 4 lane. it took longer than we anticipated, but after Gundulupet the Kozokode road was 4 lane and smooth. It passes through the Bandipur forest reserve, Its really breathtaking. We reached Kalpetta by 13:00 and we took road to Meppaddi. It was a horrible road. From Meppaddi we took SH 29 back towards and after a kilometer or two we saw the Green Valley board on our left, I saw the road which looked washed outand decided to take other western end of the road. this road is too narrow and longer than the eastern end. We reached a bit later than we thought we would as we had to find the place. later we realized that the road from Chundel 7km south of Kalpetta. It is SH12 and very smooth drive.
The room was on the dining floor [lower level]. The room had a amazing view of tea estate, a waterfall and the Mountain. The Caretaker Syam and his wife Durga took good care of us. that evening we had rains till dawn. Next day morning good hot cup of tea sitting in balcony with the sunrise was memorable[ which we used to have every morning] After the breakfast in the morning we strolled in the tea estate and enjoyed walking in the fresh air. We came back for our lunch and we had really tasty Kairali food prepared. The evening again it rained a lot so we were in the balcony just looking at it. Next day after our breakfast we headed for the Lakkidi View point. The weather was chilly and we were in the clouds. Comimg back we visited Pookode lake which was a bit disappointing. There is no parking available so you have to park your vehicle on the narrow road. From there we headed towards. "1980s restaurant" for Kairali Lunch. It was delicious.
The 3 days stay at Jack fruit Tree Green Valley was memorable. We have to be realistic and not expect anything which you would expect from a star hotel as its a home stay which is simple, clean and memorable. Thanks to Syam and Durga for being a good host at the resort.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the simplicity of the Host and owner.
Liked least: the approach roads from the NH 29 to the resort
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rex123123
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 27, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We were a group of 11 (6 male, 5 female) members visiting wayanad. Found this place through a reference. We go on trips very often and have never stayed at a place that gives you the warmth of your house, luxury of a hotel and the peace of an ashram.

The place was absolutely breath taking. The view from the balconies where way more than awesome. Watching the clouds in the morning , sunsets in the evening.. The best time was when the thunderstorm started in the evening.. Their is a small stream behind the villa, very easy to trek. Tea plantation.. The place is definitely for people who are in love with nature. Lot of places to visit near by as well.

I have to mention Shyam (Caretaker)and his wife Durga. Shyam will go to extremes to help you. Anything you need, just let him know and he will try and arrange it. All you have to do is let him know in advance.
The other person I would want to mention is Mr Prasad (the owner). I had got his contact details from a friend who recommended this place. I found all the praise for Mr Prasad, his employees and the property of justice.

All I can say is, it was a great trip and wonderful memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property, and their hospitality..
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamini170...
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Experience at The Jackfruit Tree, Wayanad.”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This place is ideal to travel with friends. Great view of the Chembra peak and the surroundings. Prasad the owner, was very helpful and generous. Location wise this place does total justice to the vacation we had here.

The cook, Shyam and his wife Durga prepared us a decent meal. Though we thought that the quantity was compromised, especially when we had got all the veggies and meat for dinner. We also found some of our liquor missing the next day.

But all in all we were very much happy and had a wonderful experience at The Jackfruit Tree.

Will definitely visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property overall.
Liked least: Quantity of food
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2015
It is our mission to every assist every client who seeks a comfortable space to holiday. We are glad to receive feedback from our guest. We will be taking necessary steps to avoid such unfortunate incidents.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBKiran
Kozhikode, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, Great service”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We landed up one evening to vacation at this little property located at the foot of Chembra peak, one of the tallest in Kerala. The weather was amazing with the clouds rolling down the hills towards us. The food was prepared by a nice man who gave us home cooked meals on request and the service in the property was also quite homely. Away from the madding crowd and conveniently located by the side of the National Highway near Meppadi, it was the perfect getaway after a hectic work schedule. I would recommend it for anyone with family or with friends. It is a perfect place for people looking to spend a nice holiday on a budget

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arpita B
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A tranquil and beautiful place in the lap of nature”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A wonderful & relaxing holiday spent well with family & friends. The green view with hills & tea garden around is amazing.The murmuring sound of the waterfall in the morning and the serenity of the evenings will thrill your soul for sure. The hospitality of the one & all man- Shyam was commendable. Food was delicious. Overall a weekend spent nicely. Just a small suggestion- it was difficult for us to locate the place as there is no hoardings or mention of Jackfruit anywhere. Green Valley board was also almost invisible,so would suggest Mr.Prasad to update his location details in Google maps or help tourists with a signboard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing