We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money”
Review of Haritagiri Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haritagiri Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Kalpetta
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Service is good.. but I personally feel the room rent was expensive for the non A/C rooms/cottages which we stayed. Should be improved.... food is average.... We requested for Ayurveda spa services... we kept on waiting for more than 2 hours and we decided to cancel the same.

Regards
Manuel

Room Tip: Nothing more to say..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manuelnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 177 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Hotel Haritgiri, Wayanad - 17 June - 20 June 2013

Please note: My rating for this hotel at the end of this review is 2.5 however as there is no option to select .5, I have given a rating of 3 here.

Let me start with the positives.

Booking and Location: Booking process was smooth over a few calls and emails and there was no problem in quickly getting a room on the day of check in. Similarly the check out process was also quick.

Location of the hotel is pretty convenient right on the main NH 212 which passes through the Kalpetta town and is easily located due to the signs put up by the hotel.

We had booked a Surya Kutir Non-A/c room for a couple. The room is spacious with a nice balcony right above their swimming pool. There is a also smallish pond in front of it.

There was complimentary Wi-Fi access available in the reception area, unfortunately, did not get a chance to check the range in our room.

Hospitality of the staff: The staff was very courteous and especially Vibin, multi-role player, front office manager cum travel desk manager cum reservation/marketing manager was very helpful throughout.

Unfortunately, with that, I end my positives list and start with the list of Cons

Coming to the room, it was simply badly maintained, the paint was coming off at places, the curtains had that old look and the whole ambiance of the room was dull. The bathroom was minimal in amenities and had a very dirty shower curtain separating the bathroom and WC area. Fortunately, the shower and taps with both hot and cold water supply were working properly.
Inspite of repeated requests, no fresh towels were provided on Day 2 and Day 3 and the room wasn't even cleaned properly.
On ordering Tea on the first day as soon as we arrived in the room, although the tea was served pretty quickly, the cups were in the room for a day and a half.
Coming to the TV, it was an age old CRT TV with an even pathetic shared cable connection which instantly took me back to the 90s era. Upon check-in, all the channels had extreme noise on them. When we complained about it, a technician was sent immediately but he could not do much and left. Basically, after 3 complaints, we could manage to get some viewable channels. Its high time they upgraded to a DTH connection.
Inspite of the fact that Kerala has the highest literacy rate, there still exists a huge language barrier. It becomes very difficult to communicate even in English and there comes a point when you forget your own standard English while trying to explain things to them. This became evident while ordering for any food or speaking to the waiter at times.
Speaking of food, it was very disappointing. Except for a fish masala and an egg omlette that I ordered, everything else was below par. Lack of taste, quality and overall appeal. The breakfast buffet spread also lacked freshness and variety which is suppose to last for the entire breakfast period. Probably due to low headcount we had the buffet breakfast only for 1 day and for the other 2 days it was a-la carte.
We had massage session for 2 for 1800/- which was strictly OK.
The travel desk offered local sight seeing at 1700/- a cab for covering 2 locations within a radius of 50kms which seems very expensive. We went for it on the first day however on the 2nd day, we covered 2 spots in an auto for 500/- . On checking with the cabs outside, we were given a rate of 1000-1200 which was also not bad as compared to the hotel. The roads are very good through out except for a couple of spots here and there and so the mode of transport hardly makes a difference.


Overall I would rate my experience with Haritgiri as 2.5 on a scale of 5. They have a lot of scope for improvement in multiple areas and need to seriously start thinking of a major renovation project of their Surya Kutirs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HemantKMumbai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

stayed there with family fr two days, nice and clean rooms, good ambience and great hospitality...
Shaaji took care of us very well in the Restaurant,. very humble and helpful staff...
worth for a weekend...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sannathpasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Rooms are really good in this budget.We stayed here on 15th June 2013. for 1 night.
Staff is also helpful.Cleanliness is well maintained.Its really a value for money.

We didnt get time to visit spa and swimming pool so cant comment on that.

Thanks,
Suyog

Room Tip: If you are going during monsoon, no need to opt for AC rooms.Weather is really nice there so dont wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suyog255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel was good location and building wise. In the middle of Kalpetta.
All site seeing points are in 40 km radius to it.
But our experience was not so good at this hotel.
Firstly swimming pool was not functional (dirty water with broken pool).
Badminton and Basketball court was also destroyed with wild grass.
We have been allotted room on second floor (thats what you get when you book online)...
In the night lots of ants cam into our bad and we had to change the room in the middle of the night... Staff was supportive but cleanliness was issue.
TV only shows Kerala channels with bad cable connection and remote not funtional.
Food service was pathetic and very slow thourgh breakfast buffet was good.
Veg people staying at this hotel can go for 1 km walk to bus stand and eat in Udupi instead or some hotel just opposite to Haritagiri on road (Wood** something) have veg food option.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MukulKabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Haritagiri hotel is good choice for middle budget. This is one of few of old hotel in wynad. Swimming pool is good and food is ok. Near to bus stand and market. View of opposite hill from corner room is good. New block having common room for big family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dedacain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

had stayed with my family for 4 days / 3 nights during May 2013. We find the hotel a very comfortable one. Location is very peaceful and just 200 Mtrs. away from the Bus stand and shops. Facilities like Swimming pool, Gym and a space to play shuttle cock are good. Hotel management can think of adding some indoor games facility also. Swimming pool is neatly maintained. I had a real good time in the pool all three days with my 9 year old son. Ayurvedic Massage centre is good. Hotel staff are very cordial. I would like to mention Mr.Anish who had been my nodal person from the date of booking the hotel.. Food is very good. In total we had a very peaceful and leisure stay in Wayanad.
I will surely recommend this hotel to my friends....

R Sankar
Chennai

Room Tip: We stayed in Execuitve Non-A/c Room (since the whether condition was not hot) where the bathroom is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chennaikutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
9.1 mi away
Hiliya Resort
Hiliya Resort
#2 of 3 in Kenichira
104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Gates
Green Gates
#6 of 22 in Kalpetta
225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wyndvalley Garden Resort
Wyndvalley Garden Resort
#13 of 22 in Kalpetta
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#1 of 22 in Kalpetta
868 reviews
7.3 mi away
Vythiri Greens Resort
Vythiri Greens Resort
#4 of 7 in Lakkidi
58 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel Sheelisach Inn
Hotel Sheelisach Inn
#5 of 7 in Sultan Bathery
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haritagiri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haritagiri Hotel

Address: Kalpetta Main Road | Near Canara Bank, Kalpetta 673121, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kalpetta
Price Range: $27 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Haritagiri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Haritagiri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haritagiri Hotel Wayanad
Haritagiri Hotel Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing