We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet nature's haven”
Review of Wynberg Resorts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wynberg Resorts
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A quiet nature's haven”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Wynberg Resorts is the perfect place to base yourself if you're planning to explore the lush hills of Wayanad district. Whether you want to trek down a waterfall, climb up a hill or explore the wildlife reserves in the area, the owner Mr Vanchy does an excellent job arranging personalised tours, complete with a car, tour guide and even binoculars!
The resort is set amidst a beautiful spice and rubber plantation, facing some hills and paddy fields. Every morning we woke to the cacophony of dozens of varieties of birds and every night we were greeted by zillions of singing insects and frogs from the paddy fields outside - a truly magical experience.
The accommodation in the deluxe cottage was very comfortable and value for money, while the food cooked by the 69-year old James was extraordinary. Every evening he dazzled us with his brilliance in the kitchen and even parted with some of his recipes before we left!
What we really appreciated was the discreet way in which Mr Vanchy served non-veg food to guests in the dining space - without giving offence to the veggies at the buffet.
Would definitely stay here again if we visit Wayanad again - but maybe will opt for the deluxe Villa the next time, which is much more spacious with great balcony views!

Room Tip: The deluxe cottages on the first floor have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Titiksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WynbergResorts, Owner at Wynberg Resorts, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thanks for the reviews ..hoping to serve you in future too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
52
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed in Eco-Cottage for 3 days, cottages are very clean & tidy,Rooms are very well maintained. Food quality is excellent, Thanks to Master (Cook) who cooked a very gud tasty meal for us all 3 days.
Suresh, took care of us very well. He is a wonderful person,speaks to everyone calmly, politely, take care of the visitors with a smiling face.
Eventhough we where the only couple who stayed, we didn't feel let alone.
We also thnk Bahadur & Mahesh the other staff.

Dining area is also excellent.


Finally,Thnks Vanchy for all the route maps,guidance and for building a Eco friendly & non-commercial resort,Excellent resort in the middle of nowhere.

Had a fantastic stay at Wynberg Resort :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adarsh_Venkatraju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Excellent resort in the middle of nowhere, owner and staff could not be faulted, nothing was too much trouble, we could only stay one night but it was most memorable. Food was the best served personally and also they got up early to ensure we had breakfast before we left and the owner even offered to pack extra breakfast for our onward journey. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palavi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at Wynberg Resort. If you travel to see, smell, hear South Indian life on a plantation this is the place. Thanks to all the nice people working there and to the fantastic cook who gave us the possibility to learn what he cooked we had three beatiful days at the resort.
This is a must if you travel Kerala and the Wayanad area.

Room Tip: We liked the cottage, but the tree houses are more fun ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank omuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WynbergResorts, Owner at Wynberg Resorts, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thanks for the encomiums!! will try and sustain the services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The look and feel of the place is good. Its very green and peaceful. The staff is polite and the owner is a good chap.
However few things that take such places off my radar:
1) There is no room service. Though it may be my fault that I assumed and didn't ask but I would have loved to be told this at the time of booking that there is no room service.
2) The cottage that we stayed in was okay nothing great and it was very cold at night especially considering that I had a young one with me it was tough. Little peculiar position for TV in that cottage and it was difficult to watch it, though one may argue that why to watch TV at such a serene location. My personal choice again!
3) The access to the resort is not great so be prepared for a bumpy ride and also understand the route very carefully from the owner in advance.
4) The food spread is limited with little variety.

All the negatives that I have mentioned may not be negatives for a lot of people. Its rather a personal opinion. But all in all I didn't have a great time at that place.

Room Tip: The cottages are good, avoid the top floor ones in case you have a young kid with you, it gets very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank combobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

In an age where one has to pay obscene amounts simply to get a clean room & loo, Wynberg is a rare gem offering a unique and pleasant experience at a very reasonable price. The eco-cottages are charming and clean with basic amenities. Greenery dominates the setting of the resort amidst fields and hills, soothing the eye and relaxing the nerves. The service is probably a tad short-staffed but makes up in willingness and eagerness to be of service. Mr.Vanchy takes a personal interest in the guests and with his friendly assistant they make the guests feel very warm and welcome. The food does not offer a great variety (I am a sea food lover and I missed my fish) but the fare is authentic, very hygienic and very tasty!! I've stayed here 4 times in the past 5 years and I'll be going back again!

Room Tip: Eco cottages are good for couples, families with children should opt for the more expensive options
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LonelyTraveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Awesome place to enjoy nature. We went last August-end i.e. towards the end of monsoon season. so not much rains but enough to enjoy the green nature. The roads from Bangalore were excellent until we had to deviate from the NH for the resort. It was about 5 kms out of which last 2 were really bad. But we eventually enjoyed to location. Very quite and peaceful. Only hearing the birds chirping. Luckly for us we were the only family in the resort since the peak season was just about to begin. So we enjoyed the full attention of the staff who were truly great! The food was good too. We first rented to hut. Even though i liked it, my wife felt a little insecured! I probably spent the most time in the balcony of our room. Nice place to strech and enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Deluxe room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navy_Krish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
12.1 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#11 of 22 in Kalpetta
740 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
3.6 mi away
Coffea Aroma Resort - Wayanad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Vythiri Village Resort
7.5 mi away
Blue Ginger Spa Resorts Wayanad
2.6 mi away
CYBELE HILL RESORTS
CYBELE HILL RESORTS
#16 of 81 in Kalpetta
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynberg Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynberg Resorts

Property: Wynberg Resorts
Address: Kuzhivayal Estate | Trikkaipatta, Kalpetta 673577, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Wynberg Hotel Kalpetta
Wynberg Resorts Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing