We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Place to Have a Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kalpetta
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the Best Place to Have a Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

I went there on a rainy season after reading some of the reviews abt the place......... The place was so beautifull and cam. You can relax over there from the hetic shechule of daily life.Staffs at resort was so friendly and nice. About the food there not much option that you have.. but the food which is served is tasty and we liked it. 2 km of road is good one after that its private mud road.. ... Its good to reach the place befor sunlight go down...... That was one of my pleasent trip which i had recently... tums-up for rain country resorts.

  • Liked — Camness and Staff of the resort
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jatheeshkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    86
    30
    11
    24
See reviews for
84
64
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

A beautiful setting in a little valley with a stream and pond. Cottage was simple but comfortable and attractive. Food tasty and but maybe not enough variety for everyone. Had a couple (shortish) walks from the resort (heard and saw many birds, giant squirrels), but it is a pretty long drive to the wildlife refuges and, as others have noted, the road to the highway is rough and slow. Try the hot chocolat, it's much better than their coffee or tea.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Macrodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

This resort was a true treasure on our travels around India - a nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of the cities. The grounds and cottages were well kept, the rooms were clean and tasteful. We loved sitting on the verandah of our cottage to read and simply take in the morning air over coffee and tea. The food was simply excellent! I would say the best we had on our entire trip! We also enjoyed a pleasant morning walk through the surrounding mountainside.

Travellers should be aware that the road to the resort is long and winding and unpaved, which was a bit of a challenge as we arrived at night after it had rained. Other than that, we had a wonderful visit and wished we had more time to spend at this truly fantastic mountain retreat!

  • Liked — The location and simple elegance of the cottages
  • Disliked — The road to get in and the lack of railings for walking up outside stairs after it rained.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Trini_HotFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2007

Rain Country Resort in wayanad in one word was terrific..breathtaking views, full of the clean crispness of mountain air, tastefully done cottages, a babbling brook that runs right by the cottages,ultra clean bathrooms, the nicest and most helful staff you'll ever meet on a holiday, the food..authentic and delightful. We could've stayed on forever but alas for us city dwellers, we can only wish.
This place must be added to the Travel Channels 'must see places before you die'...Wayanad has the charm and surreal beauty of what they call paradise.

We for sure are going back.

  • Liked — The Views, The Cottage, The Staff, The food ... everything
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nym18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2007

I just cant say anything other than this was an amazing vacation .. Rain Country offered me everything they could and it was a great experience being there .. I would recommend everybody to go there and experience the nature as I did .. The prices were reasonable too .. I had a choice of ordering the food I wanted and I was able to get that to an extent (I understand that this is not a hotel to cater a lot of variety, but it was better than most places) .. To sum it up - A beautiful place to visit and a great place to stay in ..

  • Liked — The Service and willingness to assist at any time ..
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bangoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2007

We have been back from Wayanad a week back. It was truly amazing experience in the forest. The food was authentic Kerala food for what I would travel to Kerala for. But there was also a choice to ask for other cuisines which was catered as per our tastes. We were staying in a wooden cottage and that was worth an experience since we dont get to see a lot. The prices were also very reasonable compared to most I enquired about. The vacation was worth the time and money spent. I would advice anybody going to Wayanad to choose this place for stay. Though me being from Kerala, Wayanad just bowled me over with its beauty and Rain Country with its hospitality. Hats off to all behind this effort to make this a unforgettable experience. I am going to visit this most of the time I visit my home town ...

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerfrmbnglore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

In October 2007, we visited Rain Country Resort @ Wayanad for a 2 day holiday. This was the worst holiday we had ever had. It started with the approach road to the resort which is not at all in drivable condition. Then it was the food and service. They claim to be a multi-cuisine restaurant, but they have zero choice of food/menu. We have to eat what they serve. The service is hopeless too.
To top it all, at nights, moths, cockroaches and various other insects will give you company in your bedroom.

If you plan for a nice vacation with your family, pls avoid Rain Country Resorts @ Wayanad

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventurousBlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalpetta hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
11.5 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#2 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#1 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
9.6 mi away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#4 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Coffea Aroma Resort - Wayanad
8.9 mi away
Rippon Mount Resorts
Rippon Mount Resorts
#11 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lakkidi Village Resort
Lakkidi Village Resort
#2 of 5 in Lakkidi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad

Property: Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
Address: Kerala | Lakkidi, Wayanad, Kerala, Kalpetta 673121, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rain Country Resorts is Located in the verdant misty hills of Rain Forest at Lakkidi , 17 kms from Kalpetta town.in Wayanad .The Resort is 1300 m above the sea level and It is one of the highest rain fed area in India, Thus it is one of the coolest place in God's Own Country. Rain Country Resorts is spread over 22 acres of land situated in a valley between three hills and surrounded by thick tropical vegetation. The number of cottages is 21 and is restricted in order to preserve the sanctity and serenity of the natural beauty. Rain country Resorts invites you to submerge in the ambience and serenity of its dark woods coupled with music of the natural stream and varied birds. The natural green surroundings and tranquil setting is an idyllic location for the perfect retreat. 60 kms from Calicut Town ie around 1.30 hrs drive. Arrangements for pickup and drop from nearest calicut Airport / Railwaystation will be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rain Country Hotel Kalpetta
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing