We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lose yourself in tropical greens on hills, an excellent resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Kalpetta
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Lose yourself in tropical greens on hills, an excellent resort”
Reviewed May 11, 2011

The Rain Country Resort sure lives up to its name: as you go off the highway at Lakkidi on the Wayanad - Calicut highway, and drive through tea estates and woods, you know you really are in rain country. As you drive into the resort, you cannot help but giving a thumbs up to the landscape and architecture of the same.

No matter how hard you try, you cannot hear a sound at Rain Country. Except the quacking of some ducks, the earliest ‘employees’ of the resort; no, they are never offered on the menu. A man-made lake adds to the feeling of calm around. A hike or a 4-wheel drive up to a hill behind the cottages gives you a 360 degree view of tropical forests around - broken only by some mobile telephony towers. Here’s more:

* Service: The staff is very courteous and helpful, ever ready to offer any assistance or information. They do a good job maintaining the place, not easy when you go splash-splash in heavy rains half the year.
* Rooms: Cottages of different designs and sizes are spread across the 22 acre (9 hectares) estate, all pleasingly designed. These are furnished with a mix of traditional and modern, and very comfortable and clean. Bathrooms are well fitted for hot and cold showers. The linen is very clean too. Sit-outs and verandahs with easy chairs are just what you need to have your tea and read a book.
* Location: As mentioned, it is secluded from the world of noise and pollution and yet easily accessible - it is just 60 kms (38 miles) from Calicut (where you also have an international airport). The setting is stunning, amidst rolling hills covered with lush green vegetation.
* Liked Best: The setting and design of cottages.
* Food Quality: Good food. You get a mix of traditional Keralite / south Indian dishes and some north Indian stuff too. Prepared in their own kitchens, it feels like light, home cooked food.

Rain Country Resorts is the place to stay when all you want to hear are some birds and just want to be with yourself.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Kunzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    88
    32
    11
    25
See reviews for
87
67
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We had great time at rain country and were sorry when our trip was over. If you are booked yourself in rain country you dont need to worry about anything just relax enjoy the surrounding and leave everything on the staff who knows how to make their guest feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ssv11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We had read about Rain Country Resorts and seen a few photographs of the place. What met us was far better than what we had expected. The approach to the resort is through a pretty decent track amidst the forests and it gives the first feel of what awaits one at the resort. You pass some tea gardens and then end up in the resort in the middle of the forest away from the hustle bustle of life.

The resort is a place where one can spend some time relaxing and chilling out. The adventurous can go for a trek into the forest or climb to the hill top while the rest can stay in the resort just relaxing. This is a place where one can spend hours communing with nature and soaking in its beauty.

When we had gone, this place was spilling over with clouds rolling in from the hills. This made the whole place very dream like. Over all, I'd say that we had an exceptionally good time. I would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kj_rb_rv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We(Me,my hus & 2.5 yr old son) spend last weekend in Rain Country.It was an amazing experience.The scenic beauty and the location of the resort is commendable. Its located between forest hills where u can its so clam n serene.Only sound is of waterflowing between the hills and bird chirping.The food was also great.The staff served us without making a fuss of anything.Quality of food,rooms is great!!
Small kids may not enjoy much in the place..since its sort of silent and they may not have many friend s to play with.But they have got a small park n natural pond where u can take bath.We are planning to go there again with a group of people so we can have more fun !!:)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1983traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I had been to this place with my extended family with kids and elders included. As most said the approach was a little bad for about 3 Kms .. Thats something I expected since this is a Jungle property and not something on the highway ... All of us had a good time with the kids enjoying the most in the natural pond and stream .. The leisure and entertainment can be improved with some outdoor stuff .. Food was not the best you find but was more homely and cannot be rated bad/worst ..

It was visible that there were lesser people in the service area, but a lot was done to make us feel comfortable.

Overall a good experience ...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitha_krishnanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Landscape is great and service friendly. Unfortunately neither rooms nor food fulfill minimum standard. Rooms (especially bathrooms) do not seem clean, even the switches for light from the other inhabitants in the cottage can be heard. Breakfast has very limited options, choices for dinner are small, nevertheless charges are higher than in hotels with better restaurants. Hotel is not licensed, so beer should be brought by yourself.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inglaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalpetta hotels

Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

This was our first trip to Kerela and someone had recommended Rain Country resort so we went without reading any reviews. The location was beautiful, but the last 3.5 km to the resort was aweful. This was the first thing we found wrong with the place. Once we reached our room, we found there there was no water in the taps, no intercom and no staff for room service which made us wonder why they were charging so much. Anyways, we were offered another room. Till that time, the only saving grace was overall service, which detiriorated later.
After we had our somewhat late lunch my wife decided to rest and I took my 1.5 yr old daughter for a walk which proved to be quite refreshing as the views are incredible. Late in the evening we decided to go to the recreation room. Right in front of the room we saw a 7-8" long black scorpion. When we told the staff about the same, one of them killed it right in front of us. We were really concerned for our kid and decided to leave the next day, in spite of the booking being for 3 days. I had a chat about this with the staff and they went all out trying to assure me that the scorpions would never come inside the rooms or on concrete. We still wanted to move out the next day, but continued to play/ watch TV in the recreation room. After some time, we saw another scorpion, this time INSIDE the recreation room. We immediately packed our bags and left. We were told that nobody has seen a scorpion inside the room in the past 10 years, but this seemed to be a lie. The staff was co-operative and helped us go to our rooms and get our stuff as the place is extremely dimmly lit at night.
Overall not a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JatinK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
10.4 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#6 of 23 in Kalpetta
838 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Gates
Green Gates
#7 of 23 in Kalpetta
222 reviews
7.9 mi away
Wyndvalley Garden Resort
Wyndvalley Garden Resort
#14 of 23 in Kalpetta
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Hotel Sheelisach Inn
Hotel Sheelisach Inn
#5 of 7 in Sultan Bathery
82 reviews
9.6 mi away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#3 of 23 in Kalpetta
167 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Wave Wayanad
The Wave Wayanad
#2 of 5 in Ambalavayal
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad

Property: Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
Address: Kerala | Lakkidi, Wayanad, Kerala, Kalpetta 673121, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rain Country Resorts is Located in the verdant misty hills of Rain Forest at Lakkidi , 17 kms from Kalpetta town.in Wayanad .The Resort is 1300 m above the sea level and It is one of the highest rain fed area in India, Thus it is one of the coolest place in God's Own Country. Rain Country Resorts is spread over 22 acres of land situated in a valley between three hills and surrounded by thick tropical vegetation. The number of cottages is 21 and is restricted in order to preserve the sanctity and serenity of the natural beauty. Rain country Resorts invites you to submerge in the ambience and serenity of its dark woods coupled with music of the natural stream and varied birds. The natural green surroundings and tranquil setting is an idyllic location for the perfect retreat. 60 kms from Calicut Town ie around 1.30 hrs drive. Arrangements for pickup and drop from nearest calicut Airport / Railwaystation will be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rain Country Hotel Kalpetta
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing