We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a blast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melvins Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melvins Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Kochi (Cochin), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a blast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a blast at Melvins home stay in Wayanad. The accommodation was very homely and the food was delicious. The location is also perfect and easy to find. What more to say, I recommend it to any, who plans for a trip to Wayanad.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JacobJos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ernakulam, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Our gang of 8 had a blasting reunion @ Melvin's.. the food... the stay... the campfire... and the swim at the private river... everything was so great.... Placed in a close proximity to many tourist spots... its truely a home away fron home.... (Heavy Like)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dhibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The location is surrounded by tea plantations.

The first night some younger people were there for some celebration. They were very noisy until late in the night. The second night, it was more quiet.

They have a small terrace from which you can see the tea plantations.

The owner was very helpful in organizing our visits.

Our host took care of asking what we'd like to eat and he delivered it. The home food was good and freshly prepared.

There was internet through wifi, until one of the other guests decided to unplug the
wifi router to charge his phone battery.

There is no AC but fans are provided. Hopefully in September it was not too hot.

There is warm water and depending on the room, you may have to shower the Indian way (with buckets). Some rooms may have a shower head.

The place is a bit far from the city so you'd better have a transportation means
(car, motorbike)

Please note that if you happen to come from Europe or North America, bedding is awfully hard - probably the hardest I've experienced in India: it felt like a wooden plank with a very thin mattress.

My overall experience was indeed not very good due to the very hard beddings and noises by the other guests on the first night.

I however decided to grant a 'very good' as the owner was really helpful and kind. I just hope a mattress upgrade will be done.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DummyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Melvin is a great host and he made our first trip to wayanad so memorable, this is a must stay place in wayanad with heavenly view and please don't forget to have his mom made Kerela style fish fry and curry. The homestay is clean and the hospitality of the entire family of Melvin is great. His new resort Brook is even better. This is a highly recommended place for people who celebrate great food and greater ambiance.

Room Tip: just book this place is the only tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sameerali_rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is the place you must stay in Meppadi (wayanad), a home away from your home. This place is kept very clean and i give 5 out of 5 for the cleanliness. I was very impressed with the owner of Melvins Homestay Mr. Melvin. He was so generous and kind. He helped us on how to plan things and what to see and what not to see.

During our stay we had a very nice and authentic kerala food served and prepared by Melvin and his mummy, he stays in the ground floor of the home and will help you anytime.

Our great experience with Wayand was fulfilled by staying at Meppadi which is the base for all the tourist attractions in Wayand

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank santhoshgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our first trip to Wayanad was a memorable one. Thanks to Melvins Homestay and its excellent host Melvin. Right from guiding us to arrive at the homestay from Bangalore , to planning out our daily sightseeing itinerary, he was the perfect host. The homestay itself is very spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast too was hot, tasty and very much local cuisine. (if you like to try out local food.) Melvin provided us with a very flexible itinerary every day, guiding us about the good vegetarian restaurants along the route, sometimes even calling them before we would reach the place. All in all a very enjoyable trip. Stay here is guaranteed to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arjun465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We were a group of friends staying for 3 days at Melvins Homestay, and we had a wonderful experience here. The family that runs the homestay were very friendly and accommodating. They did not mind all the noise we made, and were exceptional in terms of hospitality. The bedrooms were nice and spacious and clean. The balconies offer a brilliant view. The owners even helped in arranging transportation and suggested places to visit.
The food requires a special mention. The cooking was exceptional and we had some of the best home cooked food.We were really enjoyed the stay at melvins homestay.

I would strongly recommend Melvins homestsay for a stay at Wayanad.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweta01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
3.6 mi away
Coffea Aroma Resort - Wayanad
15.3 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#2 of 19 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Chateau Woods
Chateau Woods
#1 of 1 in Chooralmala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
7.4 mi away
Olives Homestay
Olives Homestay
#2 of 80 in Kalpetta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
20.9 mi away
Pepper Green Village
Pepper Green Village
#4 of 74 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melvins Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melvins Homestay

Property: Melvins Homestay
Address: Mele Arappatta, | Meppadi, Kalpetta 673577, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Melvins Homestay we have created an atmosphere that is caring and warm. Our priority is your comfort and convenience. We provide you an ever memorable experience. Far away from the 'maddening crowd’ you discover here a nostalgic loneliness of the long lost wild. The environment here will surely inspire that hidden poet in you. For all nature lovers, the experiences they will come across here will be forever unforgettable. Situated on a tranquil mount of tea estate just 800 meters away from Calicut-Ooty National Highway is a perfect location for visitors of all kind. The Melvins Homestay is a perfect home away from home, hosted by family members. You will be treated as our own family unless you prefer to be a guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Melvins Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melvins Homestay Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing