We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay in Sharoy Resort”
Review of Sharoy Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sharoy Resort
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Kalpetta
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The resort is surrounded by lake. Can see a wonderful view from the resort. It is very calm and serenity. View of mountains, Lake, Greenary which is around the resort is mind blowing. A perfect place for relaxation. Where as the rooms are spacious, clean and tidy. And the staff is very friendly. The food is also good. Its 1km away from the main road where this strech was a horrible drive. Other then this it was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PriyankaSantosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

941 - 947 of 951 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is the first time I am writing a review, because I am compelled to. You have to be there to believe. The place is far set at a self contained remote location. They have well maintained villas. And believe me, they are really spacious and well done interiors. Food is good. This is a new resort, so still, in coming up mode.
If you are looking for a place to unwind, away from population, amidst nature, this is the place to be. And you'll definitely get a heavy dose of it. Dont expect anything else. Market is quite far from here. Be there to explore your self.
The resort is about a kilometer inwards of main road. And you'll get to do a bit of offroading on this stretch. I feel some of us would find it difficult to drive on this road, especially in rainy season. They are soon going to make the road more drivable.
Staff out there is very courteous and the hospitality extended is worth mentioning. I would like to thank the manager Mr Patrick for making our stay at Waynad memorable. Kerala indeed is "God's own country". And I had a glimpse of it at Sharoy Resort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
6  Thank nozzlering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Gem of a place to unwind oneself. Beautifully done cottages, good food,lovely hospitality with a homely touch. Beautiful landscape adding up to the beauty of the place. Would love to visit another time preferably during monsoons.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deedee960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Trust me, this resort is built on a remote locality. A magnificent view of the mountains, water body, greenery on all sides of this resort. You get up in the morning to see the clouds covering the mountain and the cool breeze to greet you all the time. This place is away from the road by more than 1 km and you could barely see any people around. You can enjoy the silence and hear the birds chirping and the wind blow. A perfect place for rejuvenation, relaxation and you will definetely re-gain all your energies after visiting this place.
We paid Rs.18000 for 5 persons 2 nights for the villa. The rooms are spacious - pretty big rather, very clean and tidy with sufficient supplies. The bathrooms were big too, very tidy and clean. I have nothing bad to say about its location, rooms. A well-planned and perfectly built resort. They did arrange the campfire for us but for a price in a good location. We thoroughly enjoyed this place.
The staff ware very friendly and behaved very polite. They ensured that our stay was pleasant.
But the food was OK types and they charged 300 and even the road to this place about 1 km from the main road is very terrible but however the resort people provided us a jeep for our transport. This place does not have any good entertainment such as games, swimming pool etc.

But I would recommend this place for having a heavenly experience and relax.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon suite has a balcony which gives the best view of this location but I would still sugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krisvijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

It was a wonderful experience with Sharoy Resort in wayanad. We were impressed by location and ambiance of the Resort located in plush greenary. A lovely place to enoy the silence and good climate.

We picked the villa cottage room at the resort. Bathrooms were clean and tidy. It was comfortable and fairly well equipped room. The room was large and spacious. The room was good, neat. Guys who expects some good peaceful time in resort and Wayanad can choose Sharoy Resort.

People at Sharoy Resort are very polite. The manager was very kind and helpful. The behviour of employees are friendly and good and the resort is very clean. Reception desk was very helpful. They also helped us plan our travel.

The food that was served to us was really nice. Though, we reached the resort late and the dinner was provided to us in 20-25 minutes. Excellent taste, we enjoyed the food.

We enjoyed the resort and the sorrunding for 3 days and it was a nice trip and memorable. We had really good time at this place. Value for money. I recommend Sharoy Resort at Wayanad and can be booked without any second thought.

Room Tip: The room was large and spacious. Bathrooms were clean and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anitha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharoy01, General Manager at Sharoy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Team Sharoy !!!!

Thank you for taking time to post your comments. We are happy to know you enjoyed the location and hospitality at Sharoy.

We wish to have you with us again and hope to see you soon.

best wishes,

Team Sharoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This place is in an awesome location. In this season there was hardly any water in the lake this place overlooks yet it offers a very panoramic view of the valley and mountains. After monsoons this would probably become much more beautiful.

Apart from the location and the decently furnished rooms however there wasn't much to like in the resort. The following are our notes of discontent on the same:
a. The place is very unfriendly and unwelcoming to children. There is no fencing of any sort on the hill slopes on which this stands and the street lighting is grossly insufficient. So it could be really risky if the children were left alone especially in the evenings.
Also despite having informed them well in advance the dinner was extremely spicy and our children had to make do with biscuits etc. that we had carried with us since the place is so remote that one doesn't have any option but to make do with whatever is doled out here.
b. The resort managers are rude, unprofessional people. They told our taxi driver to advise us to take care of our children because if the children damage the paint etc. of the room a penalty for the same would be charged to us when checking out.
We had another run-in with them when we informed them that our children were getting hungry and were told that the dinner would be served in another half an hour. But it actually was served only after more than an hour. When we wanted to rationlize with them all we got in return was a very raw and rough response that all restaurants serve buffet dinners only after 8:30 PM only.I don't know why they didn't tell us the same thing early on.
Also those people want to save every single penny that they can. So they don't switch on the generator unless there is a power cut in the night even though it got really dark and scary in the evening when there was a power cut.
c. The 1 km detour from the main road to the resort is a disaster. It is a narrow, single lane, unpaved road that could get slippery in the rains. Even our Innova had to struggle to cross this. One should use a 4X4 with good ground clearance to get to this place.
d. The resort can hardly be called a resort. Even the basic facilities and services are missing leave alone luxuries like swimming pool and kids games etc. When my cousin asked for some snacks to go with drinks all they could offer was some salad. What was really absurd was that they didn't even have sufficient lemons.
There are no mosquito meshes on the windows and when we requested for All Out they seemed to have a problem even giving that to us.
e. The buffet dinner was pathetic and hyper-priced as everything else here. All that was served for vegetarians for Rs. 300/- per head was something made from tapioca, a very, very, very spicy fried cauliflower, aloo-soyabean subzi, pulao, dal, rotis and an insipid payasam apart from maybe a couple more eminently ordinary and extremely forgettable preparations.
f. We got the impression that people from nearby places who could speak the local language were treated better than us. So there were probably some subtle undercurrents of regionalism also.

This place is most certainly way over-priced and sorely lacks in terms of basic facilities and staff attitude and professionalism. We wouldn't stay at this resort ever again or recommend the same to any well-wisher or friend despite its amazing, out of the world location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nitinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Lovely clean rooms and good hospitality, located in beautiful surroundings. Really pleasant stay. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was good too. Seems like one of the best places to stay in Wayanad.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mahi519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharoy01, General Manager at Sharoy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2016

Dear Guest,

Warm greetings from Team Sharoy !!!!

Thank you for taking time to post your comments. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay. We wish to have you with us again and hope to see you soon.

best wishes,

Team Sharoy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
1 mi away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#3 of 22 in Kalpetta
187 reviews
8.7 mi away
Lakkidi Village Resort
Lakkidi Village Resort
#2 of 8 in Lakkidi
126 reviews
14.5 mi away
Vistara Resort
Vistara Resort
#3 of 5 in Ambalavayal
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
The Wave Wayanad
The Wave Wayanad
#2 of 5 in Ambalavayal
205 reviews
7.8 mi away
Vythiri Village Resort
5.6 mi away
Banasura Hill Resort
Banasura Hill Resort
#1 of 1 in Vellamunda
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharoy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharoy Resort

Address: Bible Land,manjoora | kalpetta,wayanad,kerala, Kalpetta 673575, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kalpetta
Price Range: $160 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sharoy Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rejuvenate your senses beyond compare, Sharoy Resort in Wayanad, the perfect starting point to explore Wayanad, offering you the perfect blend of luxury and scenic beauty, crimson sunsets, majestic and lush green tropical mountains create a magical ambiance around you. Sharoy Resort is an exclusive destination of solitude and luxury for those who are looking for a home away from home in Wayanad. Nestled in the somber and serene bosom of the mighty, towering Sahyadris, Sharoy Resort is a fabulous back-to-nature experience. Perched amidst the western ghats of Kerala, God's own country, it is a paradise on earth with its lush evergreen forests, carpet of wild flower meadows, beautiful springs and early morning mists. Set in the backdrop of Banasura Dam lying cozily in the laps of beautiful hillocks, surrounded by silent valleys and lush green forests Sharoy Resort is the perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of a stressful and busy life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Sharoy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharoy Resort Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing