We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
Review of Sweet Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweet Home
Ranked #39 of 81 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Cambridge, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed in Sweet Home just after New Year 2012 and really can't fault it at all. Paul and his family were incredibly friendly, fed us enormous amounts of delicious food and were also incredibly helpful when it came to organising what we wanted to do: we mentioned we were thinking of a few things and within an hour or so we were talking to a guide and having everything planned out for us. The trips we went on were great as well, exactly what we had wanted.

The place is a bit hard to find, but the instructions Paul gives you are good and it is really close to the centre of Kalpetta, so you can nip into town for food or the internet. There are three bedrooms (two doubles), a couple of bathrooms, a kitchen and a nice big living room. There were six of us staying and it felt just the right size.

Like I say, I really can't fault it at all!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kerala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Me and my family consisting of my wife, children and mother stayed in sweethome run by Mr.Paul in kalpetta for one week. It is really a nice place to stay in the cool and serene location. We really got a rare oppurtunity to taste the sweet and spicy kerala food. The hospitality and the caring nature of Mr.Paul, his wife Lissy and children Rohan and Neenu are really deserve special mention. We celeberated the birth anniversary of my daughter in 'Sweethome'. Really we felt that we are in a close relative's home. Mr Paul also gave valuable advices to where to visit, where to shop, what to purchase and also what to beware in Wayanad. That one week we spent in Sweethome is really a rejuvenating experience. We are planning to go there again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaya_jose2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Paul and his family who run Sweet Home have a beautiful, immaculately clean, and affordable apartment above their home in Kalpetta a 10 minute walk from the main road. The apartment has 3 rooms- two with large beds, one room with two single beds- it was perfect for us as we were travelling as 3 couples, would be equally perfect for a family. The rooms are all very bright and have windows, the master bedroom which has the largest bed also has the nicest giant bathroom I saw in my entire time in India, it even has a large separate bathtub. There is also a kitchen so you can make yourselves coffee when you need to. But most importantly, Paul and his family's first priority is taking good care of you, will feed you some delicious food, and help you plan your entire stay in Wayanaad- he helped us get a guide, see the sites we wanted to, and arrange transport. Definitely one of the best value stays we had in India with some of the kindest people. Finding it is a bit tricky, so make sure you get directions as its not well marked.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This clean, spacious and excellent value homestay is run by Paul and his fantastic family: Lissy,Neenu and Rohan. We (three couples) were welcomed into their house like old friends, greeted with an expansive, delicious meal which proved perfect after a long trip through the mountains.

Paul and Lissy's hospitality continued to be impeccable - we ate delicious breakfasts, slept in clean, comfortable rooms, and were constantly grateful for the endless help given to us in organising trips out around Wayanad. We found an incredible paratta place in town on Paul's recommendation.

If you are looking for a base from which to explore Wayanad (and you should!), this is the perfect place, a short walk out of the town centre down a palm fringed lane. Highly recommended. http://sweethomewayanad.com/

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeyoubye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We were so well looked after here. We had delicious breakfast provided - and even an evening meal on the days we didn't want breakfast - but also our own kitchen where we could make anything we wanted, or avail ourselves of the free tea and coffee. It was absolutely spotlessly clean and Paul (the owner) arranged all our trips for us, making the whole stay seamlessly relaxing. Fantastic homestay, and very good value.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalpetta hotels
0.8 mi away
Misty Hills Hotel & Resorts
1.6 mi away
The Kallat Hotel
The Kallat Hotel
#9 of 21 in Kalpetta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.9 mi away
Haritagiri Hotel
Haritagiri Hotel
#12 of 21 in Kalpetta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Planet Green Plantation Resort
0.0 mi away
Dream Nest Residency
Dream Nest Residency
#26 of 81 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
6.2 mi away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#4 of 21 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Home

Property: Sweet Home
Address: pinangode Road | vattakkary Gardens,kalpetta, Kalpetta, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a family apartment with 3 bed rooms, one hall and a kitchen(LPG stove is provided.can cook.Bed coffee/tea can make free of coast.Tea,coffee,milk powders and sugar etc are provided. Me and my family live in the downstair and the upstair is the homestay.There is seperate car parking and enterance.Will have total privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sweet Home Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing