We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect getaway in Wayanad”
Review of Grassroots Wayanad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grassroots Wayanad
Ranked #9 of 87 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We were looking for a nice weekend trip and we got exactly what we expected. Good food, excellent rooms amidst a beautiful garden, great hosts and superb view - to keep it short. Aditya and Rachel hosted us wery well and we would certainly recommend grass roots to all our friends and family members.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prakash_Pasupathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Grassroots Wayanad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 211 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

If I was looking for a relaxed stay, with good food, charming host and superb view I would go back to Grassroots. Its a place where one can curl up and read a book. The tents are tastefully done and I didn't feel that I was in a tent. I was here for my Birthday and enjoyed every minute here. Since they didn't have a checkout time we stayed there till late evening on the day of return just because we loved the place so much

Room Tip: Ask for the top most tent. It has a beautiful view
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AishwaryaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had a very good stay in the tents the concept was very well executed. All our fears and apprehensions were laid to rest the moment we saw the place and met Rachel and Aditya. The food was just awesome with the continental theme for dinners and Indian theme for the lunch. Aditya has an amazing sense of music and adventure one shouldn't miss the boating by the resort inThoni and the rafting by the backwaters of Banasura dam. Please carry clothes which can dry faster if you plan for rafting. Locals are very friendly people and if interested can also arrange for fishing in the river near the property. The property is surrounded by the tea estates and I suggest a walk through the estate to reach the hanging / dancing bridge. The resort is placed in a very picturesque location midst the by vythri ranges. Mountain biking can be real fun and adventure if one has the will and stamina to cycle a couple of km. I would recommend THONI and Chengadam rides if you are planning tone less adventurous.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yvrks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I can’t say enough good things about Grass Roots!

We visited Wayanad and stayed here last weekend. Rachel and Aditya are fantastic, charming hosts and the whole team at Grass Roots ensures that your stay here is comfortable, relaxing and hassle-free. We were well and truly looked after and nothing was too much trouble.

The tents are spacious and well-maintained; the bathrooms are bigger than many hotel room bathrooms I have seen! The views are wonderful and you really feel the tranquility of the area from the balcony of your tent. A really nice touch was sitting having a beer after a plantation walk – we wanted another one but were too lazy to walk down to ask for one. Without even asking, the staff took the initiative and brought another beer up to the tent – service like that does not exist in many places nowadays!

Make sure you do not eat for a couple of days before you go as the food is plentiful and very very tasty – a nice varied mix of Indian and Continental food means that you do not get bored and you look forward to every meal.

Definitely try this place – it is highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mldent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Grassroots - the tents were well fitted out, with nice touches like free cold drinks in the fridge and a morning newspaper. We felt we could do as much or as little as we wanted to: the owners were happy to facilitate everything from a hike to Chembra peak to pick ups from the station. The views from the tents are incredible: looking out over tea plantations and forested hills. The highlight for us was the food - authentic and delicious Keralan cooking (just make sure you come with an appetite, portions are generous!) It was a real family atmosphere and we would love to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BelfastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

A quick getaway from Bangalore yet a world apart from the bustle of Bangalore.
*Planned on a short notice
Very scenic route without much of winding roads
An estate with a fantastic view of the magnificent mountain range as a backdrop to the lush green tea estates dipped in the fresh brew of morning dew
Luxurious Swiss tents with spacious and tastefully done interiors
Great food with wide choices from spicy South-Indian to continental has been a treat complete with a panacea of deserts
Nice outdoor activities including the light treks around the tea estate to river water trekking
Refreshing bath with natural choice of green olives shower gel
Restful sleep on a perfect bed with cozy comforters and well contoured pillows

Room Tip: rooms with two beds
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avanthika_chander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Grassroots is this quiet little place nestling amidst the greenery in a truly rural setting in Wayanad. They have five well appointed tents pitched on platforms built for the purpose. The light quality inside the tents is really nice in the day.

This is an owner-run place and has that unique warmth that only such a place can have. They even have a small, but nice collection of books in the dining hall, if you would like to laze in one of the nice easy chairs. And the food was really to my taste. I plan to go again

Room Tip: Choose a tent which has a nice view of the valley (all of them have a nice view, but you might like...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank balachandran_alchemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
4.2 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#1 of 22 in Kalpetta
854 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#4 of 22 in Kalpetta
896 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Gates
Green Gates
#7 of 22 in Kalpetta
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Wayanad Wind Resort
Wayanad Wind Resort
#4 of 87 in Kalpetta
146 reviews
15.9 mi away
Pepper Green Village
Pepper Green Village
#5 of 81 in Kalpetta
244 reviews
4.4 mi away
Vythiri Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grassroots Wayanad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grassroots Wayanad

Address: Koilery Kunnu via Pinangode | Pozhuthana Post, Kalpetta 673575, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range: $46 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grassroots Wayanad 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grassroots is at the foothills of the Vythiri ranges with the majestic Chembra peak to the left and the Banasura/Kuruchermala to the right. The property straddles a tea estate and has a swift flowing river with a Pannia (a tribe found in Kerala & Tamil Nadu) colony at the edge of the river. Set on a three acre slope of coffee, areca nut and pepper, Grassroots overlooks the tea plantations planted during the colonial era. A quaint stream below forms a general area of activity for the scattered population of tribals and other residents. The Banasura range of mountains beyond completes the picture, making it truly magical. Accommodation is in Luxury Swiss tents, spacious and plush with every amenity that the discerning traveler would want. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Grassroots Wayanad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grassroots Wayanad Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing