We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
KTDC Pepper Grove Hotel
Ranked #23 of 82 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“True value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We 5 of us and an infant stayed here for 2 nights from 13 sep to 15 sept. I would say the place is truly valuable for the money we pay. Its quite a big place more like a resort than a lodge. Enough space to move around and sit and relax outside the room. The reception in charge Mr. Aby is quite helpful and accomodative. Now to cons. The fan regulators aren't working. When enquired I was told the condition is same in several rooms. The food options nearby are limited with Bathery being about 2 km far. They organise forest safari(6 am dep , 9am arr) for
rs.1100 per jeep + 75/pax entry fee, which is worth
it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    53
    28
    4
    2
See reviews for
55
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel is located a kilometer away from Sulthan Bathery, you need to have a car to rach here. It is located in a very serene and quite place. If you are there to relaax, just the right place. The rooms are neat and clean, just that the ground floor rooms had the damp smell. Better to look for rooms in first floor.
Restaurant had very less options and they somehow wanted people to eat and go to sleep, no late dinners or orders. Dinner orders started at 6PM itself (???).
Overall an average hotel with no frills or hassles.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moumita27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Reaching this place is a problem you happen to reach sultan bathery or kalpetta using bus!!

The hotel itself is located in a sleepy village, yes you can have a very tranquil atmosphere around you. All tourist places are very far off.

Food is ok, and rooms just nice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vrajtilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My first experience of staying in a ktdc hotel. And I must say it was a pleasant one. The location is very good and reasonably in central part of wayanad where you can reach most of the places easily. Even though, Sulthan Bathery is a busy little town, you are very much away from the hustle-bustle of the town at Pepper Grove.
The property is a well maintained one and beautifully built. Staff is accommodating and helpful.
Overall a good experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhik897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights.Service is quite prompt.Food is very nice but dishes are very limited.its more than our expectation in a ktdc hotel.very silent place and nice climate.overall its good experience.The staff courtesy was much appreciated at all the levels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We booked this online before reaching wayanad 2-3 days before we travelled in a group of 5 people. The stay all together was good, except for the room service. The rooms are clean. Lot of space outside the hotel if you want to sit out /hang out.

Probs - not a great location as you would hardly get anything nearby.
Very limited food options.

Will recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KumarDevashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Pepper Grove on KTDC website says, "Close to Manichira Lake and mountainous landscape". I wonder whether the people who wrote it has ever visited this place.
There is no lake except for a pond which is hidden beyond an embankment. Mountainous view ? ! You have to ask at the reception.
It is not so easy to find the location as there are no good signboards to help you.
The architecture of the building is beautiful, but the landscaping is sheer pathetic. There are no trees in the compound unlike what you see in most other property of KTDC.
The rooms are tidy and very well maintained.
The staff are cordial, but they badly need good training on hospitality. Nobody even cares to help you with your luggage and all they do is show you your room. The women cleaning staff are more keen on eying the guests and on passing comments at them. Like in some other KTDC property, I found the security personnel to be very friendly and helpful.
Food served is OK, but certainly not worth what you pay for.
The tariff rates are very low. Rs.1400 for a Non AC Deluxe room and Rs.2000 for A/C Deluxe, inclusive of complimentary breakfast ( You don't need an AC room here even in peak summer ). Considering the low tariff, it is ideal for a transit stay and don't be surprised if you see groups of men gather there on weekends, just for drunken parties.

Room Tip: Non AC rooms are OK even in peak summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnujNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sheelisach Inn
Hotel Sheelisach Inn
#4 of 7 in Sultan Bathery
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Kallat Hotel
The Kallat Hotel
#10 of 20 in Kalpetta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
19.1 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#2 of 20 in Kalpetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Misty Hills Hotel & Resorts
11.8 mi away
Planet Green Plantation Resort
11.2 mi away
Tamarind Thirunelly
Tamarind Thirunelly
#20 of 74 in Kalpetta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTDC Pepper Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Pepper Grove Hotel

Property: KTDC Pepper Grove Hotel
Address: Manichira Poomala P.O,, Kalpetta 673592, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — KTDC Pepper Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your KTDC Pepper Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KTDC Pepper Grove Hotel Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing