We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
30
30
9
6
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
30
9
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadchembra peakground clearancepick up and dropwoods
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 81 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2016

The place has a lot of natural beauty and even an on-premises natural stream/waterfall.

That's about the only good thing that can be said about the place.

Rooms would have been good 5 years ago, however, the maintenance is really down and most rooms are showing their age.

On the first day, we had to immediately change our room as the designated bamboo cottage had a huge insect nest kind of thing above the TV.
The next Bamboo room we got (after several hours) had a huge spider, but we stayed there for 1 night.
The third room was honeymoon suite, however in night I saw several hundred tiny spiders on the wall. I misplaced those pics, but I am not kidding, there were at-least 200 of those. In morning I found a few dozen on them on the roof above the bed and several on the bed and pillows.

The manager was totally unconcerned, and later I heard he was planning to shift to jobs and was maybe tat's why he was least bit bothered.

Pros:
A quite and natural place in middle of coffee estate
Enjoyed the bath in the natural stream
Food was ok, everyday in buffet we could find at-least 1 edible item.
Some of the staff was ok, few were non-concerned like the manager

Cons:
Rooms were in quite dilapidated state - see my pics with 100s of spiders
It's 2 km from main road, this approach road will give back pain to any healthy adult - forget about elderly

--------

I completely understand that in a natural setting it is possible to have an insect or two in your room. However, here every room was badly infested with least regard to safety and convenience of the guest.

See photos.

I stayed in this place last year around Oct 2015 (sorry for late review). I had travelled with wife and kid.

Room Tip: I tried 3 rooms, all were insect infested !!
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlayerZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016

Do not get mislead by looking at pictures in their website. I have stayed in many mountain resorts at different places including Wayanad. I never had such a bad experience.

Had recently stayed in this facility for 2 nights with 5 families. I will not recommend this resort to anyone because of following reasons

1. Rooms are not clean. Very old sheets are being used. Smells bad
2. We had booked 5 rooms. None had a working flush. It appears that they are least bothered to do maintenance of basic plumbing work
3. No light on pathways inside resort. Bulbs are there...but not working. Again feels like they are not interested in maintaining basic facilities
4. Very limited Menu for Buffet. Quality is just okay
5. Jeep owned by the resort which takes you to and from the main road is too old and is in a pathetic condition. By the way, even they dont advise you to drive your car all the way up the hill (3.5kms) due to condition of road. Too narrow and too bumpy. Can hardly call it as a road
6. Dependency on their jeep to go to main road and car parking area makes you wait long. in our case, waiting time went over 30 mins certain times
7. No phone in rooms for room service

Hotel manager (Saarang) is jem of a person and probably it is because of just him, visitors are not suing the resort. They have a natural pool and a small waterfall, which is a great attraction. Too bad that lack of basic maintenance works killed the mood to write something positive about the nature pool. All of us felt very bad for choosing to stay at Coffea Aroma
Leeches are there. Not a fault of the resort management.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ARPS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2016

Its very awesome place to enjoy Nature. There is heavenly view of green montains and natural water stream. Place is clean. Place is safe for couples as well. Food is ok ok with no variety. The way to the resort is very difficult so take a jeep in monsoon season as mudy roads are there through woods. At the time of checkout they may apply hidden chargers so please discuss and take in written everything at the time of booking itself.

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MeenalB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016

I travelled to this place in April 23 – 24, 2016. One of my friends from Kozhikode had told me that this is a different type of get away destination. Indeed it is. Not a luxury place. No A/c rooms. (No need also in that climate). That means, if you are a “Hi-Fi person, this is not for you. But if you want to spend your weekend with family in a silent, near-forest area, with a great moderate - hard trekking facility, this is your destination ! Very economical. Mouth watering tasty food. We had opted for a bamboo cottage. Very cordial staff; even though they are not very professional, you will like them because of their simplicity and sincerity. There is no show-off ! You will fall in love with the restaurant area with the river running beside deep in the forest, and that cute Yellow thick-tailed beautiful cat who is always there! There is no parking area inside the property. You have to park your vehicle 3 km away near the main road (safe!) and then their vehicle will come to take you, which is indeed a jeep, only which can travel through such a hard terrain. In short, a simple, budget place, for people who want to spend their time in a silent forest area with a good trekking facility, with nice natural food, and simple staff without show-off !

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SajanP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Went on the first weekend of June. The resort is located several kms inside from the main road and is slightly difficult to locate. The off track road is not in good condition but a SUV can go easily. We were 7 people, all friends and opted for the family villa as we all wanted to stay together.

Once we reached the resort, it was very peaceful and the only sounds you can hear is of birds. They have planted many flower plants and it was good to look at them. The rooms are well maintained. Service was not proper and was a drawback. They have a in-house restaurant but we need to order beforehand so that they canl arrange everything. Tea/Coffee are complimentary and we ourselves prepared it twice as we were not much satisfied the way they prepared. Food was good. Breakfast was traditional. There is a small stream running at the back of the resort. There was little water in it but post monsoon i believe it will be awesome. The games area need to improve a lot

Pros: Location - very peaceful. Food was ok. Rooms were clean. Great place for a laid-back vacation

Cons: Location - Off road condition not so good. Service need to improve a lot. Need to improve a lot on indoor activities and games as many things were broken.

Room Tip: Select cottages. for families, family villa is best.
  • Stayed: June 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pranab D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews