We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on Earth!”
Review of My Garden of Eden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
My Garden of Eden
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Magical, serene, alluring and cordial is what best describes 'My Garden of Eden', which is located on the top of a cliff overlooking a valley. Our experience here can be proudly declared as the most ravishing experience till date.

The deluxe cottage allotted to us was immaculate and had a feeling of warmth amidst the icy cold mountains. The interiors are elegant and the balcony reflects a sense of tranquility as it engulfs the misty atmosphere for a cold yet enthralling experience.

The service was impeccable and the staff was warm and cordial. Mr. James we thank you for the astounding service and friendly warm hospitable nature.

This place is a great getaway from the hustle-bustle of the city life. If you're looking for an ideal holiday spot, don't think twice; this is definitely the place to be!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amylokhandwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for My Garden of Eden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 29 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Was quite skeptical about the place, especially after reading the reviews about the place not friendly to toddlers, given that we have a 14 month old kid and a 5 year old kid with us.

If you are a vegan / vegetarian, reach the resort by lunch time, onroute, there are no veg joints.

The room had a great view to the hills around, the view from the bath tub was even better... a nice experience to soak in watching the nature around you.

Its a delight to see to peaks of western ghats from most of the place within the resort.. quite a good bird activity, the only downside is too much of crickets around.

Food was very simple, local to a great extent, less on spices and oil.. was surprised by the Vishu (New year) special lunch.

Given that its in the middle of the nature, the pool was relatively clean and so also the resort. The are fairly good, given that its a 5 year old property, be ready to have the company of lizards of all sizes, as one of the reviews said, keep the fans running all the time (valuable waste of electricity). The management should think of doing something about it.

Staff is very helpful and nice, can help improve their english skills. Resort can tie up with one of the local ayurvedic treatment centres and offer massage services / treatment services

Room service atleast for coffee, tea and snacks should be made available, restaurant is at the end of the resort

Cars need to be parked in the badminton court, doesn't have a cover, given the Kerala weather, the car will be like a heated oven.

If you intend to just stay put in the resort, please go for the full meal plan, else you need to drive atleast 20 kms to find a decent restaurant.

Enjoy the nature and soak in...

Room Tip: all the rooms looks to have a good view to the hills around and the valley. you need to walk to the...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaSuBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I am writing this review for I feel obliged by the friendliness of the people at the resort and the satisfaction I had at this place. I stayed at this resort for 5 days and enjoyed every moment of it. The calmness and the peace and the stillness of this remote hill top resort are its selling points. For a writer, those are the best things you could ask for. No obnoxious room service. No interruptions. My cottage had view of the mountains and the deep valley. Watching the space, I could settle down to think and work on my novel. The food is awesome though a bit on the expensive side. The people are the best. They are ever ready to help and assist and they do it with a genuine smile.

If you like to chill away from the hustle and bustle of city life, choose this place. If you want people, warmth, music and more people, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raghav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We found this resort for our Christmas holiday trip. It is very nice resort for family and honeymoon couples. It is located within a coffee plantation and on top of a mountain. There is ample space between each cottages and you feel that you are in a dense forest. We had a great stay here and completely away from hectic work life.

Positives :

- This resort is located on a top of the mountain and it is amazing to feel the greenery and it has got beautiful view of the valley and mountains.
- The resort rooms are very spacious, very clean. Each room has a dedicated UPS and a refrigerator.
- The relaxing bath tub and the valley view from the bathtub.
- You have options for trekking, swimming and short walk within the property.
- The staff are very humble, friendly.
- Food is good within the resort, but not excellent. There are areas that they can improve.

Negatives :
- Not easily accessible by road. You need to have your own transport if you have to stay here.
- Hotel management can put more sign boards from Meppadi.
- As this is amidst the forest, you should be extra careful at nights and have all your cottage doors and windows shut to avoid insects coming in.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CloudiBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Good place, Great location, superb hospitality provided. Food was the best attraction there. When we reached there, I was imagining it will be full of people, luckily, we were the only couple booked at that time. Climate was sore(Sunny most of the time), We did not go the balcony, since insects were already took over the place. Keep your fan always running, or you ll find the lizards pooping your bed. Good for honeymoon couples :)

We stayed in deluxe cottage, I don`t think there will be much difference between the slits and normal ones.

Room Tip: Go for cottage on slits, value for money. Deluxe cottage was the one we stayed.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ragav_indar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Out of all the places we stayed on our honeymoon, this was our absolute favorite. In India, it can be hard to feel "away from it all" when people seem to be everywhere, but this place is so off the beaten path, you feel you've entered your own private sanctuary. And yet, it still seems like a 5 star resort with very clean rooms, outstanding hospitality and the most amazing food we've ever had...anywhere! Ever tried a watermelon, tomato and onion salad before? Neither had we, but it was one of our favorite dishes! Our stay included a candlelit dinner, a guided walk through the plantation, and a celebration cake. One word of warning: this place IS in the middle of the plantation, so you can't escape the occasional lizard or monkey (we came in one night to find our bathroom smelling like guava...because a monkey had been eating them just outside!). All in all, if you're looking for a quiet yet beautiful retreat, and don't mind driving a little ways out of the way (which is a breathtaking drive anyway!), we can't recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the luxury cottages on stilts the first night, but it was quite warm and a bit s...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KalandBecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The resort is built at the top of the hill and is surrounded by dense forest. When you reach the place it looks like an whole other world. This place justifies the proverb "Kerala is god's own country". It was very pleasant and peaceful stay. At night, all you could hear is sound of the water flow and in the morning just the birds chirping sound. It was an mesmerizing experience.

This place is ideal for couples who seek romantic destination for vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swathi_Murali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
6.7 mi away
Lakkidi Village Resort
Lakkidi Village Resort
#2 of 7 in Lakkidi
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green Gates
Green Gates
#7 of 22 in Kalpetta
223 reviews
3.2 mi away
CYBELE HILL RESORTS
CYBELE HILL RESORTS
#16 of 81 in Kalpetta
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Banasura Hill Resort
Banasura Hill Resort
#1 of 1 in Vellamunda
335 reviews
2.9 mi away
Marmalade Springs
Marmalade Springs
#4 of 81 in Kalpetta
133 reviews
2.3 mi away
Misty Hills Hotel & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Garden of Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Garden of Eden

Address: Valathoor, Kalpetta 673577, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kalpetta
Price Range: $65 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
My Garden Of Eden Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing