We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home away from Home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sundara Mahal Homestay
Ranked #10 of 81 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Home away from Home!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We felt like we were coming home even on the way to Sundar Mahal. Prabha madam stayed in touch with us over the phone along the way, guiding us to local coffee shops and sights (even while we were arriving at Sundar Mahal). Not to mention the spectacular cuisine she prepared for us and local delights that were prepared with each meal. While we had a really short trip, every moment was memorable and this was one trip, we did not mind repeating.

No matter how many stars you give any place, hospitality like Sundar Mahal will be unparalleled.

Room Tip: Arrive in the daytime, so it's easier to find the place...Sundar Mahal isn't too advertised...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbhate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
79
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2012

One of the best stays we ever had. We travelled to many places & stayed at different type of hotels. I must say that this is one of the best places to stay. Absolutely good hospitality by Prabha Madam & family. Our kids too enjoyed the stay here as Sundar Mahal provided them their best sought fodder - Harry Potter, Asterix etc. They have very good collection of books for all ages - just relax & enjoy the surroundings with good reading.

The food is too good - authentic vegetarian stuff, which was the primary reason for us to select the homestay. But, the overall experience - location, ambience, neatness, hospitality all add up to the great feeling one would have. We had very good interaction on varied topics - paving way for mutual learning. Thank you very much Mrs.Prabha Madam & Mr.Murali for providing an excellent feeling.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sshyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvarur, India
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2012

ya , surely it was nice staying with murali sir & his family. it was like a second home for us. the food was nice and my family had a wonderful outing there. surely like to be there next time also. the rooms were very neat and we had star hotel facilities there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manithaila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Our trip to 'sundara mahal' was undertaken without any reference from any of my friends. It was an absolute blinder which turned out to be an excellent treat for my wife and kids who have never been on a holiday like this. We enjoyed every bit of our stay since our arrival till we departed. The food arrangements were very well catered to keeping the kids in mind and a special mention to the hosts for their cheerful nature. Will definitely return back to Sundara Mahal very soon and relive the enjoyable moments.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Sundara Mahal is too good to stay. We went for two days trip to waynad to see places but satying with sundaramahal, we end up spending more time relaxing there only!!!!

The place is well maintained, clean and very homely. The host, Mr Murali and Mrs Prabha both are informative and very much caring. Delicious vegetarian food was really enjoyable. As liked by our family and children, one should eat Patri and puttu (kerala food) cooked by Mrs Prabha ..excellent!!!!

we would highly recommend this homestay everyone who are vegetarians and visit waynad.

Room Tip: All rooms are large & beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nivasa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had a nice time at Sundara Mahal. Ms Prabha had helped us a lot by suggesting right places, arranging transport for sightseeing, pick up, drop etc so that we could chillout without bothering about these. We liked the ambience of the place and the food was awesome. Location wise it is very convenient and easy to locate. We had a nice time chatting with Mr. Murali and Mrs Prabha. In short definitely a place to visit again.. :) :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padma1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We being a vegetarian family, choosing a home stay which is exclusively vegetarian, was an obvious choice and we never bothered to look for any other aspects.
But Sundara Mahal turned out to be a bundle of sweet surprise for us - not just pure n delicious food, but such a neat & clean place to stay, serene surroundings, convenient location and above all, warmhearted & courteous hosts to take care of you throughout the stay!! They'll never give you a chance to complain about anything and keep you free to enjoy your trip. You will feel so homely that it's like you have landed at your cousin's place!

We will certainly choose this place for all our future trips to Waynad and shall highly recommend to others too.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, whichever you choose, you win
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaydesai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
6.2 mi away
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
8.0 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#11 of 22 in Kalpetta
740 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kudajadri Drizzle Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Vythiri Village Resort
1.3 mi away
Olives Homestay
Olives Homestay
#2 of 81 in Kalpetta
333 reviews
1.3 mi away
Planet Green Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundara Mahal Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundara Mahal Homestay

Property: Sundara Mahal Homestay
Address: P.B. No. 64, | Wayanad, Kalpetta, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundara Mahal is situated at Kalpetta in Wayanad District of Kerala - India. Set in acres of a Progeny Orchard and Garden this private bungalow now extended the lifestyle and hospitality as a Kerala Govt approved home stay. Sundara Mahal is an exclusive getaway. Cuisine is pure vegetarian. We cook and serve some of the traditional dishes peculiar to Kerala as well as those specialties of Tamil Brahmins.Facilities include large car parks, indoor board games, cricket nets, shuttle badminton, football, air rifles for target shooting, dartboard, big screen TV with DTH, internet, workstation with music and video collection & library.Transport, experienced Guides & Masseurs and Doctors are on call.Sundara Mahal lives up to its name, in its splendid Garden. There is more to this Garden than the manicured Lawns and abundant greenery that meets the eyes on first sight. It is home to a lot more species that its human occupants. The garden is ideal for relaxing with hammocks, garden chairs and swings strategically sited.Sundara Mahal has retained its original architectural features, mostly in teak, mahogany, Malabar rosewood, antique furniture and ambience of a bygone era. Your family will share a gracious life style long forgotten. Through solar panels and energy efficient lighting the carbon footprints our guests leave behind will be minimal. Guests can enjoy the myriad attractions of Wayand. Trekking at Chembra peak or Brahmagiri hills, speed boating at Banasura Dam, picnics at Meenmutty, Soochipara or Kanthanpara water falls, rafting at Kuruva islands, or examine the New Stone Age pictorial scripts at Eddakkal and savour the wildlife at Tholpetty and Muthanga wildlife sanctuaries.You may also enjoy interactions with the owners on lifestyle, history, culture, cuisine, plantations and crafts in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sundara Mahal Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundara Mahal Homestay Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing