We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tamarind Thirunelly
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Awesome awesome awesome............... what a peaceful surrounding along with warm hospitality by resort staff and that too in a government owned property. It was more of a home away from home. A perfect place to stay with family.We traveled in a group of 5 (including an infant) and to our surprise they considered our requests like sterilizing baby feeding bottle, providing hot water at midnight.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohit_Miles2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Tamarind Thirunelly
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 60 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

Thirunelly is a temple destination with a 1000 year old temple dedicated to load vishnu . In all there are 4 places where you can stay . The Agrahram resorts , Himagiri homes KTDC and another small homestay .

We chose KTDC because it offered value for money . Rs 2400 approx for a double room . Although they have the best of location amongst all , a government appointed PWD architect has simply messed with the layout . You can hardly get glimpses of the magnificent Brahamagiri range from any of the rooms . Consolation - at three times the price the next door resort has even worst views of the hills .


They facilities in rooms are just enough . The Hotel complex is neat and hygienic .
The Hotel Staff was singularly warm and hospitable . Food options were limited but it was freshly prepared and delicious .

Places we did while staying here are Tholpatty wild life sanctuary , Kurava Island . Even nagarhole santuary in karnataka is close by .

Room Tip: Insist on the first floor rooms . They may offer at least a glimpse of the Brahamagiri Range...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here for a night on 21st April 2012. The service offered by these three guys (Girish, Jagdeesh and Anil) is excellent.
Always smiling and take care of all your demands. The food was very good. The rooms were clean when we turned up at the hotel. Had taken two A/C rooms which costs 1400 + tax. When booked through the website, you get 10% discount.

The location is good - surrounded by forest. We saw herd of 6-7 wild elephants just 2-3KM away.

While they are awake, if power goes off - the generator is turned on. However in the late night, if power gets cut off, I don't think they turn on the generator as they would be sleeping.

As we wanted to go to early morning safari, we had asked for bed tea at 6am. It was provided on the dot at 6am.
We will surely stay here again when we visit wayanad.

Room Tip: The generator is in ground floor. So, take a room in the first floor to avoid noise from the generat...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdrisAhmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Had booked 3 rooms at tamarind thirunelly through ktdc website. I got a 10% discount for booking online. The rooms were clean, but definitely not 'posh'... But way beyond the usual ktdc standards...The service offered by the guys running the place ( gireesh and anil) is unimaginable.. they dont have a 'no' for any of your needs..Food is on the expensive side for a hotel of that standard... a plate of idly will cost you 70 bucks... . The place Thirunelly is actually in the forest area, and elephant sightings are common..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calvinhobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Excellent and Prompt service!!!....I was quite impressed by the Promptness, right from our Bed Tea to dinner to check-out. I especially wish to make a Special mention of the Hotel Manager who was very friendly and gave us some good inputs on that place and 3 staff members who made our stay so comfortable and memorable, they are Saravanan, Gireesh & Anilkumar and rest of their team members.
Menu though limited, tasty and like home-made food, simple and well made.

Just 1 minus point I observed: I am used to housekeeping cleaning room everyday and changing towels..which did not happen. Probably once a day someone can just check if rooms/dustbins need to be cleaned/cleared or Towels need to be replaced etc. Since it is cold and damp, towels dont dry so easily and begin to give a damp smell...

I will definitely go back again to Thirunelly as a destination and certainly opt for this hotel for my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sapna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at theTamarind for one night during our recent piligrimage to Tirunelli temple. We were pleasently surpried at the service all around. Excellent staff especially Saravananan at the reception and Girish and Anil who made us feel very welcome and cared for ( a real rarity these days in most hotels). The rooms are clean and very spacious with satellite tv and ac's and importantly clean sheets and towels.. The property also has a resterauant and we were advised to order early. (We ordered Diner in the evening before we went to the temple). The food is good and reminds one of a nice home cooked meal. I understand breakfast is normally a set menu and we were served traditional iddiappam and kadala curry which was awesome.

The property itself is about 1 KM away from the temple and is in the fringe of the forest. You will require your own vehicle to get to and from the temple (walking is not an option, as I hear wild animals abound in the perepheries of the hotel). Absolute blissfull property ideal for familes visiting the temple.(proivided you have your own vehicle or alternatively strike up a deal with one of the jeep taxis at the temple to pick you and drop you at the property)
i also hear that this hotel also gets a lot of tourists visiting the nearby forests for trekking

To summarize, Outstanding staff coupled with a nice hotel serving wholesome food at Value for Money rates makes one good hotel experience. We wished we could have stayed here longer.....

Room Tip: Take an AC Double bed worked out to apprximately 1700 including taxes, We stayed on the first floor...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandeepSahadevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Pity the people who constructed such a building in the beautiful ever-green forest of Thirunelly.
In fact it appears congested in a plot, with no good view from the windows of the rooms.
The rooms are spacious and very tidy. The food is good and the management and staff are epitomes of hospitality.
Being in a location frequented by elephants, it did not have a trench to protect the property. Recently they have started digging one, following few incidents of elephant encroachments to the nearby property which is a private resort.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but none of them have windows that provide a good view of the valley or Brahmagi...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnujNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalpetta hotels
0.0 mi away
Green Gates
Green Gates
#7 of 22 in Kalpetta
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
KTDC Pepper Grove Hotel
KTDC Pepper Grove Hotel
#22 of 87 in Kalpetta
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dream Nest Residency
Dream Nest Residency
#25 of 87 in Kalpetta
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Himadri Retreat
Himadri Retreat
#11 of 87 in Kalpetta
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Misty Hills Hotel & Resorts
0.0 mi away
Grassroots Wayanad
Grassroots Wayanad
#9 of 87 in Kalpetta
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Thirunelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Thirunelly

Address: Kalpetta, Kalpetta 670646, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kalpetta
Price Range: $25 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tamarind Thirunelly 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Tamarind Thirunelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Thirunelly Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing