We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cost-Beneficial and Feel Like in a Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tamarind Thirunelly
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We, a family from New Delhi another one from Dubai and one from Kerala with our parents in Kerala traveled during this Christmas time to Wayanad and decided to stay in Tamarind. Experience was excellent, especially two things, hospitality by the team lead by Gireesh and Saravan and the food they have provided during the three days of our stay. Food was really homely and they were so generous to provide both veg and non-veg according to our requirement, with a prior notice of 3-4 hours. Our group was having people of different age groups and each and every person was satisfied with the hospitality by these young team as well as the food they provided. No doubt, with full guarantee, I can or each member in our team can recommend Tamarind Thirunelly for an excellent stay if you have any plan to go to Thirunelly side. The Campfire they have organized for us was an excellent experience for all of us in the chilly night. When we heard that the rooms were not available to occupy our complete team, we were a bit sad to accept the option of dormitory, but actually it came as a blessing in disguise, as the place was very clean with two bathrooms and toilets attached to it with proper hot water facility. In every corner of the property you could feel that this young team has utmost care to keep the place as spic&span. You will never ever experience this feel in any of the KTDC properties across Kerala. Full marks to this team in Tamarind Thirunelly.

Satheesh KG (New Delhi), Mohandas CN (Dubai) & Anil Kumar (Trichur)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KGSatheesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Tamarind Thirunelly
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 60 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

Thirunelli is 140kms from Kozhikode train station. Took us 4 hours, owing to road repair work in Wayanad Churam.The location is inside forest, teeming with elephants/wild bison. We saw a wild elephant feeding about 3 mts from the road side ignoring the vehicles, including a bus full of tourists gawking.The accommodation is basic for Rs 1500 for a/c room. But nights are so cold in december that A/c was not needed.Parking is adequate.The roads to the resort are superb and wide, last 100mts are stone paved. Rooms and toilets are clean and spacious, but no frills. There is no telephone, you ring a bell for service. food is made to order, place the order well in advance.Menu is limited, but very tasty. Staff very cordial, full of smiles.Rooms were all full, lots of families with kids.The two nearby attractions are the ancient thirunelli temple which is hardly 500mts, we walked. The other wone is a jeep safari into tholpetty wiildlife reserve, 18kms form hotel. They permit entry between 7 to 9 am and 3 to 5 pm. You can hire a jeep from there for Rs 500 or drive your own jeep if you travelled in one( entry fees includes a guide to travel with you).Arrive at least 30 minutes in advance for the limited tickets. ( we arranged on to pick us from the hotel).would really recommend as a family holiday.

Room Tip: A/c not required at least in winter
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanhope77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

booked this as rest of the options I liked were pricey due to the christmas season and have absolutely no regrets. the location is bang in the center of the elephant corridor and we had thrilling and close encounters with wild elephants though a little scary all through the stay. the rooms are neat and comfortable to stay and the manager is helpful. they serve limited variety of food but if you are keen on quality food it is better you eat at the hotel since not many places in wayanad particularly in and around the place offer decent food either. but choose this only if you have a tour own transportation since it is cut off and for everything you need to travel out fairly decent distances and in the night there is definite risk of doing anything on foot and two wheeler what with elephant herds grazing right on the road.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jxpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

The location is the first thing which will take ur breath away. The backdrop is rich with brahmagiri ranges and the hotel itself is a decent building with nice and spacious rooms. The highlight of this place was the cheerful and ever helpful staff which was making the stay in the hotel very comfortable. Starting from the receptionist Saravanan to the waiters Girish and Jageesh, all had cheerful disposition and were multifaceted and were doing all the work dilligently. The room service was efficient. The food was decent. The food has to be ordered in advance and cant be decided on the fly. So prior planning is required. I found this to be a disadvantage. Its walking distance from the temple and is nested in a superbly scenic surrounding.
All in all, a place i wont mind going back again.

Room Tip: Choose the first floor. It has better view from the window.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajithere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I stayed there during Onam time 2011 for one day. I was there for pilgrim purpose. I booked the room from Bangalore via phone. We went by our car from Bangalore. Thirunelli temple is nearby and the staff are knowledgeable about the custom that we have to follow before doing "Pithir Tharpana" in temple.
All the rooms except ours were empty. We have to order our food in advance and taste was good. Rooms are spacious and service is also good. I have asked them about the dense bushes on the way from the main road to the resort. They said should get permission from forest dept to cut down the bushes. Those who are looking for decent accommodation for reasonable price (1200/- for double bed AC room) at thirunelli Tamarind is the place.

But the next driving from thirunelli to Trivandrum thru Kerala roads during Onam season was a real nightmare :(

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AjiRaveendran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

i stayed in the tamarind hotel in thirunelli for one day for pilgrimage purpose. the rooms are very spacious and the service of the staff is very friendly and helpful. but the location of the hotel is very remote in the forest area(elephant infected) (of course other resorts are there nearby). You can stay there if u r coming by vehicle. otherwise journey on foot from and to the hotel is risky(200 metres). the thirunelli temple is also far away (1Km). otherwise the hotel is good

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gkk333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kater3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalpetta hotels
0.0 mi away
Green Gates
Green Gates
#7 of 22 in Kalpetta
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
KTDC Pepper Grove Hotel
KTDC Pepper Grove Hotel
#22 of 87 in Kalpetta
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dream Nest Residency
Dream Nest Residency
#25 of 87 in Kalpetta
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Himadri Retreat
Himadri Retreat
#11 of 87 in Kalpetta
76 reviews
0.0 mi away
Misty Hills Hotel & Resorts
0.0 mi away
Grassroots Wayanad
Grassroots Wayanad
#9 of 87 in Kalpetta
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Thirunelly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Thirunelly

Address: Kalpetta, Kalpetta 670646, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kalpetta
Price Range: $25 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tamarind Thirunelly 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tamarind Thirunelly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Thirunelly Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing