We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The stay at Banasura island retreat..”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kalpetta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banasura Island Retreat
Ranked #21 of 82 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottappalam, Kerala, India
1 review
“The stay at Banasura island retreat..”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had a one day stay at Banasura island retreat..I just booked through internet by going through the pictures and reviews. I heard that it is the nearest resort to the Dam..We reached there at 10.30pm after a tiring visit to the chemra peak. There is 1.5 Km travel through a very rough earthy road to the resort , which is really horrible, especially going with your family at night...If you are going with your new car, unless it is an SUV, your heart will break..!!
Dont get upset with this negative review..Once we reached there, the feelings have changed dramatically.. We stayed in the Nalukettu rooms, which was really good. The lack of TV in the room is a disadvantage, otherwise the rooms are excellent with a traditional, old look, neatly maintained.. You cant imagine the scenic beauty if you reach there at night..Once you wake up in the morning, your jaw will drop down...You can see the banasura reservoir in it full glory, which is beyond words..I think this resort is lucky enough to get the most beautiful location near the Banasura,. The building looks like an old "illam/mana and made with poor quality woods and all, it dosnt matter as the interior is maintained beautifully..We need not assess the quality of the woods of course..
There is a mini water fall close to this resort which is mind blowing, especially for photographers.
The hospitality is excellent. The quality of the food is also Ok, though a hell costly..They initially told us the rate of lunch is Rs 400/person, but later reduced to 250 once we made a negative comment about it.
Over all, i would like to give 8/10 marks to this resort.. I am posting few pics here which i have taken..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJamal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    41
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
62
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Kerala....God's own country.....how true. We had a wonderful time in Banasura island retreat property. Perfect place for a relaxed holiday. The kitchen crew are excellent and we had variety of food to eat all three times a day. Thanks a bunch to Jomone (manager) for following up with us to decide on this holiday. He also took care of us very well throughout our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SushmaRaghava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

First I will thanks Mr Jomon and other staff for the hospitality provided and good care for guest, I was happy to see that this place was EXACTLY like the photos on its website. It s a perfect place to relax and take a good break from day-to-day life. and nice good food , we stayed in single cottage where from balcony awesome View of Banasura Dam, greenery , small island , ..etc
overall good nice experience , please visit with no expectation will enjoy lot , relax with head massage, and camp fire, beware of leeches while goin for trek. and we enjoyed lot while driving in nagarhole forest,

Room Tip: select twin cottage or single cottage if you want dam view next to your door, or nallakttu old tradi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rakesh19792013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent view and very supportive staffs..this is located inside the forest area and close to banasura sagar dam. Approach road towards resort approx 1km is not good. We have reached this place@ 6pm and Initially we were not comfortable due to approach road and sheer darkness..next day, we have impressed with the overall view and natures beauty .The Property Manager - Mr. Shahjahan is a welcoming and pleasant personality with a ready to help and always available at service.
Food was very tasty
Overall nice experience ....

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank dshivaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was happy to see that this place was EXACTLY like the photos on its website. It s a perfect place to relax and take a good break from day-to-day life. I will divide the review as follows:

Location: Amazing and Beautiful! The retreat is a heaven with a huge water body in front and lush green forest / hills at the back, far away from the hustle and bustle of town, ahead of the Banasura Sagar Dam. The drive is through a dense hilly forest and is an awesome experience in itself.

Service: Excellent and Prompt! The Manager - Mr. Shahjahan is a welcoming and pleasant personality with a smiling face, always available at service. The other staff is very prompt and helpful too.

Stay: Comfortable and Nice! The Nalukettu rooms on first floor are very good and give a breathtaking view of the forest behind as well of the lake in front. The experience of living in Nalukettu was very different. It reminded how the people of Kerala lived earlier, gave a feel of living in Kerala traditionally. The feeling was better than living in a star resort at a location like Wayanad. The property seemed to be old, but was very well maintained with very clean surroundings, rooms, balconies and other places. Normally, one would expect at least some insects when staying in middle of a forest, but I was amazed to see that there was not a single insect around. There is no telephone in room, but it didn't seem to be required as the entire staff was prompt when contacted via cell-phones. No TV too, but its requirement was not felt at all.

Food: Decent! When living at a location like this, one doesn't want to go outside/down to have meals etc. It is tough to go down too, unless you have own vehicle. I had my own vehicle but chose to stay there itself and relax. Tea/Coffee/Snacks are quite good. Breakfast was also good. Dinner was just ok. At such a place, midst a forest, one shouldn't expect a very lavish spread.

Spa: There is a spa service on call. But that is just ok.

Others: No Swimming Pool / fitness centre, Airtel/Vodafone networks work well.

Room Tip: Nalukettu Rooms on 1st floor give amazing view of expansive water in the front and forest/hills at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinamraagrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We went to Banasura Island Retreat for only one day but will remember this for years.. Have never felt so much at peace.Its beauty is really difficult to explain.. We stayed in Nālukettu (twin bedrooms with common area)And I suggest if you plan to go to the resort for stay please book the same room if you really want to enjoy the view..or you can book cottages...

Staff is really really hospitable..Food is delicious... It was our first anniversary and we were surprised by the cake by the resort manager Mr.Shah Jahan there...He is a real humble person wearing a smile all the time.And they also have spa facility which we were unaware of.. :(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasleen06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Banasura Island retreat is really a heavenly place in the midst of virgin nature, surrounded by lake and hills with thick forest and give you the pleasure of tranquility. Though the resort is seven years old but the place is clean. The people around are sincere, Resort Manager Mr. Shahjahan is always helping you with smiling face. Traditional Kerala cuisine is really tasty and you get the touch of sincerity in everything. The garden, parking area and the adjacent surrounding should be improved to keep pace with the beauty of the adjacent lake and hills.
Nearby falls is a nice attraction and you can have a soda lime afterwards to quench your thirst and to reenergize yourself at the bottom of the hill.
Best place to spend time with the nearest and dearest in the midst of nature. Moonsoon there is awesome.

Room Tip: Cottages are lake facing, if you have a bigger family go for twin cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monzur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpetta
1.9 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#2 of 20 in Kalpetta
794 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#1 of 20 in Kalpetta
646 reviews
3.2 mi away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#3 of 20 in Kalpetta
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Rain Country Resorts, Lakkidi,Wayanad
18.1 mi away
Rippon Mount Resorts
Rippon Mount Resorts
#13 of 20 in Kalpetta
137 reviews
4.0 mi away
Banasura Hill Resort
Banasura Hill Resort
#1 of 1 in Vellamunda
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banasura Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banasura Island Retreat

Property: Banasura Island Retreat
Address: Kuttiyamvayal,Varambetta P.O | Padinharathara, Kalpetta 673575, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Banasura Island Retreat Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing