We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banasura Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Sharoy Resort(Kalpetta)
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wyndvalley Garden Resort(Kalpetta)(Great Value!)
$38
$37
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ekobarn(Kalpetta)(Great Value!)
$63
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$173
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
62
42
21
6
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
42
21
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwin cottagethe cottagesnut shellbeautiful locationswimming poolmain buildingtable tennisdam watertypical kerala styleamazing naturetrekking trailsperfect place to relaxliving areatasty foodview of the lakecamp firespecial thanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 140 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2012

What a view! The view from our twin cottage verandah was exactly as the one shown on the website - lake with the submerged islands and surrounded by green hills. This place totally scores on its location. The rooms in the twin cottage are very neat, each with its own balcony. The washroom is spacious with good quality fittings. The Living room could be furnished better with a sofa etc., currently it is very basic with only a dining table. The verandah attached to the living room is very spacious and meant for large groups to enjoy time together while taking in the brilliant view. The second night was a full moon night and the reflection in the lake was picture perfect! The nights and early mornings were misty & chilly and the view was breathtakingly serene. Given the location, away from any inhabitance or town, Shahjahan the Manager went out of his way to please the guests with a decent buffet, but a little more attention can be given to the taste factor. Our wish was their command and they served us appams for breakfast, which was very tasty. We had an issue with the latching system for the main door and balcony latches were weak…he made some temporary arrangements to make us feel safe. The resort is currently quite basic for the rate charged but I am sure things will improve. The beautiful location, speed boat ride and Kerala Ayurvedic Massage (included in our package) combined with Shahjahan’s hospitality were the highlights of our stay.

Room Tip: Twin cottage and Single cottage have the best view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonalib72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This was our honeymoon trip, which I booked at the last moment because our thailand trip got cancelled. I was little upset about my Thailand trip.

I reached on evening Dec 3rd 2012, we had a warm welcome, our room had Kerala style construction with two balcony. Right away went to dinner, I should mention the food was "AWESOME". With lot of variety. We have enjoyed the food for 5 days and we loved each and every dish. My wife even made a note of some of the recipe.

Now the location where the resort itself is located is so beautiful, you have to see it to beleive it. One side is covered with forest and otherside with backwaters of banasura dam. I used to wake up early , just to capture the beautiful sunrise. The rooms were very neat, there is no AC, It was cold during night and day AC was not necessary.

We stayed here for 5 days, without a special mention about the managers Shajahan and Binoy and there staff this review is incomplete. They took care of us like we were part of there family.

My wife enjoyed a lot in the water streams, loved the place, food and the care taken for us. She said I would not have enjoyed so much if we had bein to Thailand.

I would visit to this place again .. Love this place and staff here.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senvaishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've just returned from a wonderful holiday in Kerala and Banasura Island Retreat was one of our stops. The location is wonderful - amazing views, lovely walks. The accommodation is very comfortable. We were in the main building and benefitted from a wonderful balcony which was a superb spot to gaze out on the lake and birdwatch. The staff was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was very polite and friendly. The food was outstanding and there was plenty of it much to the delight of my 15 year old son! A thoroughly enjoyable experience which we would love to repeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richenda20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location itself wins 4 stars. The retreat has mountains on one side and a lake formed by a dam on the other three. Waterfalls, streams, misty peaks and mini islands popping out of the lake like magic, the retreat has it all. This is as close as you will get to extreme wilderness. The staff here are courteous and service is good. Do not expect luxurious rooms with soft, white sheets and bathrooms with chandeliers and a bathtub and you will be fine. The rooms we stayed in (luxury rooms) didn't have fridge, TV and tea coffee making facilities. There is a Table Tennis table, carrom board right outside the luxury rooms. Also tea/ coffee is served by 7am outside these rooms which is as good as room service. I recommend coming here in a group as otherwise the children might get bored. Do go out on treks up the waterfall and the peaks of the nearby hills. I promise you the view is worth itA visit to the Banasura dam is also good. You can walk to the dam from the gate without waiting for the jeep. The jeep service is a con job at Rupees 100 for a trip that is just 5 minutes away on foot. We visited the retreat in the last week of October and were blessed with the best of rain and sunshine. Do take enough plastic bags and carry pouches of salt when you trek to keep the leeches away.

Room Tip: Book luxury rooms if you are in a group. If you can get cottages for the whole group then even better as the they face the lake. The main building is a Kerala style building with two rooms but they are not as spacious as the luxury rooms. You can book these if you are a couple.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

stayed at this place with my family from oct 19 th to 21st oct 2012. excellent location. breathtaking view of the river and also the peaks from the balcony and windows of the rooms. very good rooms, and staff were very courtious. need to make a special mention about mr shahjahan and mr binod who went that extra mile to take care of us. very good food with a touch of kerala cuisine. for people wanting to get away from the fast paced city life , an excellent place to relax and get rejuvenated. overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews