We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banasura Island Resort
Ranked #24 of 92 Kalpetta B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We've just returned from a wonderful holiday in Kerala and Banasura Island Retreat was one of our stops. The location is wonderful - amazing views, lovely walks. The accommodation is very comfortable. We were in the main building and benefitted from a wonderful balcony which was a superb spot to gaze out on the lake and birdwatch. The staff was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was very polite and friendly. The food was outstanding and there was plenty of it much to the delight of my 15 year old son! A thoroughly enjoyable experience which we would love to repeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richenda20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 138 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location itself wins 4 stars. The retreat has mountains on one side and a lake formed by a dam on the other three. Waterfalls, streams, misty peaks and mini islands popping out of the lake like magic, the retreat has it all. This is as close as you will get to extreme wilderness. The staff here are courteous and service is good. Do not expect luxurious rooms with soft, white sheets and bathrooms with chandeliers and a bathtub and you will be fine. The rooms we stayed in (luxury rooms) didn't have fridge, TV and tea coffee making facilities. There is a Table Tennis table, carrom board right outside the luxury rooms. Also tea/ coffee is served by 7am outside these rooms which is as good as room service. I recommend coming here in a group as otherwise the children might get bored. Do go out on treks up the waterfall and the peaks of the nearby hills. I promise you the view is worth itA visit to the Banasura dam is also good. You can walk to the dam from the gate without waiting for the jeep. The jeep service is a con job at Rupees 100 for a trip that is just 5 minutes away on foot. We visited the retreat in the last week of October and were blessed with the best of rain and sunshine. Do take enough plastic bags and carry pouches of salt when you trek to keep the leeches away.

Room Tip: Book luxury rooms if you are in a group. If you can get cottages for the whole group then even bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

stayed at this place with my family from oct 19 th to 21st oct 2012. excellent location. breathtaking view of the river and also the peaks from the balcony and windows of the rooms. very good rooms, and staff were very courtious. need to make a special mention about mr shahjahan and mr binod who went that extra mile to take care of us. very good food with a touch of kerala cuisine. for people wanting to get away from the fast paced city life , an excellent place to relax and get rejuvenated. overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Location of the resort is simply awesome. On the banks of the dam and surrounded by hills and a rain forest, it is a visual treat for the senses. The twin villa cottage and the single cottage have the best view. Food preparation is tasty yet not very oily. Staff is extremely courteous and warm, we had my 80 year old mom with us and the staff did all they can to make our stay comfortable. Dont expect 5 star standard rooms - they are just about ok. The balconies in the cottages are superb. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShabbirMerchant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Waynad is 1 of my fav destinations..Have been here 4times & have stayed at different places including Vythri resort but this place is the best 1 would say

Beautiful location, on top of a hill,you can see a river flowing.Rooms are very cozy & decent enough with very good views...If you are a nature lover, this is the ideal place to stay

Good food, hotel staff is very polite & helpful.Indeed a memorable stay. Would not mind visiting & staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishal111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The property is located in the midst of Flora & fauna which adds up the ambience.
Appreciate the entire team of the hospitality extended during our stay. We stayed in the 'Nalukettu' which is having a nice view. Clean & Spacious room with delicious food and service, I am happy to refer this property in Wayanad, good place for a break !
Thank you for gifting us a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

the location is very scenic, particularly in the monsoon.
The view from the rooms depends on the selection.
The resort is pricey.
The staff is excellent. Anyone will feel safe and welcome.
The food is ok. Anyway, this place is not for the food at all.
some nice trails and walks nearby.

Room Tip: choose one of the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prasantgongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalpetta hotels
2.2 mi away
Sharoy Resort
Sharoy Resort
#7 of 22 in Kalpetta
949 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wayanad Silverwoods
Wayanad Silverwoods
#1 of 22 in Kalpetta
878 reviews
3.2 mi away
Petals Resorts Wayanad
Petals Resorts Wayanad
#3 of 22 in Kalpetta
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Wayanad Wind Resort
Wayanad Wind Resort
#4 of 92 in Kalpetta
158 reviews
5.9 mi away
Grassroots Wayanad
Grassroots Wayanad
#12 of 92 in Kalpetta
215 reviews
15.9 mi away
Pepper Green Village
Pepper Green Village
#4 of 79 in Kalpetta
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banasura Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banasura Island Resort

Address: Kuttiyamvayal,Varambetta P.O | Padinharathara, Kalpetta 673575, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Kalpetta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Kalpetta
Price Range: $62 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Banasura Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banasura Island Resort Kalpetta, Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing