We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for nature lovers and animal lovers”

Wayanad Wildlife Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$252.00*
and up
Private Wildlife Safari in Wayanad
Ranked #11 of 30 things to do in Kalpetta
Attraction details
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for nature lovers and animal lovers”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you plan properly u can have a good trip. Please note that Muthanga forest safari starts in the mroning 7 to 9 or so. But u should stand in the queue before 7am itself as they wont allow more than 40 people in the morning. We were disappointed as all of us could not get pass. But we were delighted to see lot of animals including wild elephants on the way through the national highway itself. It was one of the best road travel that we had in our life, as every animal that we saw was unexpected and a real treat.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    135
    120
    67
    53
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Satun, Thailand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Forget Tholpetty, just drive and walk through Wayanad”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Remote Wayanad Wildlife Sanctuary, in the Western Ghats of Kerala, borders Tamil Nadu and Karnataka, and is part of the UNESCO trans-state Nilgiri Biosphere Reserve. Tholpetty has one of two entrances into the sanctuary area (the other is in Muthanga). The ride in a closed Jeep allows for little visibility and is bumpy and uncomfortable. A breakneck tour of the forest along beaten tracks took just over an hour. We screeched to a halt to admire some langur monkeys, watched the colourful flash of exotic birds (but didn't stop to identify them) and gazed through the low, narrow windows at munching spotted deer as we sped past. Much better, were the treks and leisurely drives in our hired car through public roads in this area, from where we saw wild elephant and, on Christmas Day, a tiger.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LizCleere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Simply terrible.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I cannot in good faith recommend taking a trip here; the staff tried to scam me, we queued for two hours to get tickets and we ended up seeing deer and a squirrel.

We arrived at 6.30am, joined a queue and waited. After one hour we had not moved two feet and no one had spoken to us to inform us of the situation. Any time we asked a member of staff a question, such as, are we in the right queue?, we were dismissed without reply.

Eventually we made it to from the buy our tickets, this process took no less than two hours. Keep in mind that the tour itself last around one hour.

The staff tried their best to scam me out of 500 rupees* and it was only our tour guide from the resort who stopped them when he saw what was happening.

As for the tour itself, it lasts around one hour and take you on a linear route through the reserve. Maybe we were particularly unlucky but we saw two deer and a squirrel on the whole trip. I can see that better wildlife just a few miles from my house in the UK and I don't have to be treated like an idiot to do so.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinB1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tuskermark a.k.a Wildlife Resorts”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Before you chose a vacation destination you ve got to ask yourself what type of a traveller are you going to be for this trip? A luxury traveller, a mid budget traveller or a shoe string traveller? Your choice of hotel/resort or accommodation should be accordingly,lest you face an expectation mismatch.

So this review is from a mid budget traveller standpoint. To give you a reference range, upper limit would be the likes of Orange County Resorts and lower range could be any regular home stay with food only options.This would be somewhere in the lower mid range. Above mid would be windflower for example.

With that let me walk you through my vacation :

Overview : A good budget weekend getaway.

Highlights : Warm and friendly hosts and staff.
Lowlights: Not much of a view from the property.

Travel :

Bangalore to Tuskermark distance : 242kms ( includes 21kms of horrible road from Srirangapatna ) My suggestion : go through Mysore if you have delicate low ground clearance vehicle.
Time taken : 6 am start 11:20AM inside property, with one break.

Accommodation :

Cottage / one room with attached bath. Hot water available (need to leave hot water tap open for a few mins) . Good for couples, one large queen size bed.Cable TV, intercom,storage sufficient.
Cottages have a small sit out which can be good for sunset tea breaks.

The property: :

There is a pool and pond which are covered, and as last seen, were unsused.A small play area for children and a nice bridge over a trickle waterfall ( am guessing monsoons would see more gush!) There is ample scope to have a bonfire or light a barbecue.

As is the case with most forest properties,the fresh aroma of eucalyptus trees and a pollution free enviroment add to the feel good factor.The Indial Oil gasoline station is adjacent to the property so re fuelling is easy ( they do not accept cards though).

There s a lot more that is under progress in this property,so in time this will have really cool things spa and conference center.

Food:

Must say food is quite good, made to taste ( we like less spicy food) the Coorgi Pork quality was quite enjoyable.The breakfast spread is heavy like Choley Bhatturey (Chickpeas curry),Upmas,and the usual south Indian items. Did not check about Muesli /Cornflakes so cannot comment.Tea coffee are good and the service is prompt.Lunch and dinner usually have two or three vegetarian dishes and two non vegetarian dishes.

Alcohol is a bit of a challenge : you need to get your own alcohol and that too before 6PM as the forest check posts will not allow you to carry alcohol after that. Additionally,buying from the border shops in Kutta , you will be charged about 20% above MRP ! I mean holy cow how illegal is that?!
A bottle of Bacardi Rum which costs INR 837,the shop was selling for INR 950! I mean for what joy! And not just alcohol even a 1ltr bottle of Pepsi they charged extra INR 30. So beware.


The hosts :

The young couple,Mr. & Mrs. Kariyappa are the ones Natgeo would love to hire - so totally blended with nature and animals.we liked their sensitivity towards the environment,animals in general and particularly the tuskers.Mr.Kariyappa perhaps knows their language.

They were polite,courteous and child friendly.Their personal touch was quite appreciated whether accompanying us for the safaris or giving us anecdotal information about the geography.
Being a moderate level traveller,I come across lot of people who forget once you pay the money, so it was refreshing to see that it mattered for them to see their guests have a good time in their property.

Safaris: The Safaris were well organised and it helped that the hosts knew where to look for wildlife in the dense forest.It is advisable though, that you time your safari towards 5PM so that you get the best chance of catching a rare glimpse of a tiger gently walking by...

So overall,I would rate this experience 4/5 - there are areas of improvement as mentioned above,but if you set your expectations right, then chances are you will have a nice getaway for a few days in this property.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aayanban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Jeeps Not Open-topped!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Whether you see an elephant or tiger simply comes down to luck. The 26km drive into the sanctuary is pleasant enough, and if you're lucky enough to see such an animal, great. My main issue with this trip is the jeep. It has a covered roof, for god's sake! What safari trip has a covered jeep??? I was fortunate to sit in the front, albeit squished in between the guide and the driver, but my three friends in the back were uncomfortable and couldn't see much. Even if you see nothing, at least offer the thrill of standing in the back of an open-topped jeep, like they do in every other decent safari like Kaziranga, Assam.
Add to that the bun-fight to get a ticket, it wasn't great.
Far better to take the Karnataka road towards Mysore and look for wildlife in that area for free.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank followtheboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wayanad Wildlife Sanctuary also viewed

Kalpetta, Wayanad District
Kalpetta, Wayanad District
 
Kalpetta, Wayanad District
 

Been to Wayanad Wildlife Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing